Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who do you prefer: Week 7 - Randy Orton vs Randy Savage

• 30-07-2009 4:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭

Week One - Stone Cold (49) b Ric Flair (5)
    Week Two - The Rock (44) b Shawn Michaels (40)
    Week Three - The Undertaker (36) drew with Bret Hart (36)
    Week Four - Chris Jericho (58) b Rey Mysterio (7)
    Week Five - Hulk Hogan (37) drew with Chris Benoit (37)
    Week Six - Triple H (32) b John Cena (25)

Don't have the world of time to do a write up here. Macho Man vs Legend Killer, who floats your boat? For me its Orton, I find him to be very very entertaining and he has more potential than any superstar has had since Austin or Rock IMO.

Orton or Savage 23 votes

Orton
    0% 0 votes
    Savage
    100% 23 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I quite like Orton but Macho Man all the way for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭HorseRadish

savage. in his later wcw run he was so unpredictable,mustve been the Madness ooohhh yeahhh! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I'm a big big mark for Randy Savage, so this is an easy one for me. Watching 80's WWF can be pretty hard at the best of times. Workrate-wise a lot of the stuff they were doing was pretty horrid and even the biggest cards had a good proportion of DUD matches. Savage, however was something altogether different. He stood out as being an outstanding worker during that era and more often than not would save an otherwise *****y card from being a total write off. His speed, agility and sheer fire in the ring were years ahead of his time. Put in in with a lug like Warrior and he would still drag an great match out of him, or give him someone like Steamboat and he'd have an all-time classic.The deathvalleydriver lads did a Top 100 poll of WWF matches from the 80's and I've watched the discs and almost all of the matches I rated as top end featured Savage. Even before he went to WWF he was having unreal matches. In particular in Memphis he was something else and the earliest footage of someone being put through a table involved the man himself!

As a character as well, Savage was pretty great. He was a larger than life character and his partnership with Elizabeth was legendary and one of the great memories we all have of the 80's. He was HUGELY over back in the day. Its a pity that Hogan hogged his limelight just when he was absolutely molten hot in the mid-80's: if given the chance to be the main man he would have been an even bigger star.

Orton on the other hand is a guy I really really want to like, but just can't seem to warm to. He has all the tools to be an absolutely top guy, but the whole package still hasnt clicked for me. In-ring hes actually pretty dull. I can't really think of an absolute blow away in ring performance from him in the last few years, perhaps the one that stands out is the Foley match and that was LONG time ago. A lot of the time hes downright bland and STILL resorts to pointless chinlocks during his matches, which simply sucks the heat out of matches that should in reality be red hot.

Hes definitely improved on the mic. About 12-18 months ago he was absolutely terrible, awkward and downright boring, (I remember HBK and him going at it live on the mic once on RAW and Michaels made him look like a total amateur, kit was embarrassing)but he has gotten better and I give him credit for that. He does carry himself like a star as well and he definitely has the aura of a major superstar about him. Its just that I know he can be so much better in every department and I suppose at his age he still can be in the future.

But in a straight choice between him and Savage, its absolutely no contest.,

Im 16 so I didn't get to see much of Macho Man but have watched some of his feuds and matches. I'm picking Orton just because of exposure and nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Savage popped stephanies cherry (allegedly) so that has to win him this poll :p

in all seriousness, i really like orton but macho man just engrossed me totally, from cool persona to macho madness randy savage was/is the man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Orton bores me so far beyond tears it's not even funny. Savage by a mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Savage was better at everything. More charisma, better talker and incomperable wrestler and even if Orton was better at all of them. Macho's gimmick would still steal the vote away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Perrin

SAY WHAT!!!!!!!!!

Perrin wrote: »
    SAY WHAT!!!!!!!!!

Urban myth, almost certainly not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

This Man

Randy-Orton-profile.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭smilerf

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Savage was better at everything. More charisma, better talker and incomperable wrestler and even if Orton was better at all of them. Macho's gimmick would still steal the vote away
    savage all the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Has to be the Macho Man, I loved him as a heel against Hogan as much as I loved him as Hogan's best friend. Plus, who could forget his bout with the Warrior, and Miss Elizabeth kicking Sherri's skanky ass? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

As good as Orton is, and he's good, he hasn't done anything in comparison to Randy Savage. The man is a legit legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Not even close in my eyes. Savage all the way.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

... I voted for Randy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

... I voted for Randy

Or Savage choice Ger.........

This should be a three-way vote with Randy The Ram added.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Perrin wrote: »
    SAY WHAT!!!!!!!!!
    flahavaj wrote: »
    This should be a three-way vote with Randy The Ram added.:pac:

Tee hee hee :D

Yes it's immature, but it made me chuckle so what the hell :P

no smoke without fire! ;) why do you think vince completely cut off all contact with him! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

close thread now.

savage by a country mile plus a landslide.

as flahavaj mentioned, orton carries himself like a star. he has unbelievable potential, of which we've seen glimpses.

savage is a bona fide legend. if not for hogan, he'd be recognised as one of the top 3 stars ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

This is a simple decision of, are you an old school mark, or a newbie mark?

CMpunked wrote: »
    This is a simple decision of, are you an old school mark, or a newbie mark?

im afraid i disagree.

if you're a newbie mark, just do a very quick search on the internet. find pretty much any single televised match from the 80s, PPV if you can, and a page of info on Savage. that should be enough.

even the biggest Orton mark would struggle to justify that he deserves to win this, or even come close to winning this.

SlickRic wrote: »
    im afraid i disagree.

if you're a newbie mark, just do a very quick search on the internet. find pretty much any single televised match from the 80s, PPV if you can, and a page of info on Savage. that should be enough.

even the biggest Orton mark would struggle to justify that he deserves to win this, or even come close to winning this.

Possibly..
    Well...
    Im 16 so I didn't get to see much of Macho Man but have watched some of his feuds and matches. I'm picking Orton just because of exposure and nothing else.

not all the time ric. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Id give Orton the nod for stick work, mainly because Macho Man on commentary did my head in. However, Savage has to be miles ahead when it comes to ring work. Orton matches just dont excite me. I like his character and all, but I'd almost rather read the results of his matches on the internet than have to actually watch them.

Plus, Savage getting bitten by a cobra is THE defining wrestling moment of my formative years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Orton.

Only because i havent seen much of Savage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Ooooooooooooooh Yeaaaaaaaah!
    Savage it is. His work in the 80s and early 90s was, I think, as good as anyone in the WWE at the time. Also, he didn't insist on hogging the top spot: Randy made feuds mean something whether they were over the IC (Ricky Steamboat) the World Title (Hogan - Randy's surely the first guy to have a really good WM main event match in IV and V?) Miss Elizabeth (Dusty Rhodes, WM 6) or a nasty snake bite (Jake the Snake - who really should be included in this). I didn't catch much of his work after he jumped to WCW - apparently that's my loss. An all-round excellent wrestler with an excellent character.

Orton has been brimming with potential for as long as I can remember. However, I'm starting to wonder if that potential will ever be realised. He's 29 now, and is still either Jobbing to HHH or having his goons come in and save the day, making him look weak. He may turn out to have a great career (Savage only started in the WWF at 33) but lunatic booking and backstage politics is just as likely to kill his potential. If I were Orton, I'd be getting seriously ticked off at this stage and start looking for avenues outside wrestling.

Think this one may be a landslide, folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭Sunset V

I've seen very little of Macho but even at hat I gave him the vote. Blandy Orton is the most boring character i've witnessed in many a year.Really grinds my gears his monotone voice, that pathetic kick to the head, the list really could go on on and.

It's more of a vote against Orton rather than for Macho Man.

geeky wrote: »
    If I were Orton, I'd be getting seriously ticked off at this stage and start looking for avenues outside wrestling.

i know what you're saying. his booking has been ludicrous...but...

he is champion, so he has no need to go anywhere or do anything else for quite a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

SlickRic wrote: »
    i know what you're saying. his booking has been ludicrous...but...

he is champion, so he has no need to go anywhere or do anything else for quite a while.

True, though he may feel that waiting until he actively needs to jump ship wouldn't be a smart move. He's still got his health - barring the ol' hypermobile shoulders - and could do more than wrestle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Savage.

He was involved in some of my favourite matches and feuds over the past twenty five years.

Orton is good, but even with another ten to fifteen years in the business I don't think he'll come close to Savage.

Savage is legitimately one of the best American pro wrestlers of all time.

Can't see Orton ever being talked about like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Macho Man - Randy Savage for sure

Possibly my fave promo ever. :)

And this is a pretty good compilation of some of his best too:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ad2TelzD324

Big Savage fan. No matter what the guy did it was always entertaining.

Compare that to IMO one of the most boring wrestlers in wrestling today Randy Orton and its an absolute no contest.

DIG IT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Or Savage choice Ger.........

Randy Ger is Savage?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Randy Ger is Savage?

Well the title on the post I quoted was along the lines of somone was going to say it.

So I was suggesting somone was bound to say savage choice this week,

Didn't really work out the way it was meant to!

Randy v Randy, I can't really think of a reason to vote for Orton. I Can think of loads of reasons to vote for savage. So i can't explain why I voted Orton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Randy v Randy, I can't really think of a reason to vote for Orton. I Can think of loads of reasons to vote for savage. So i can't explain why I voted Orton.

Same here. I voted Orton as well but don't ask me to explain why. :pac:

30 - 19 to savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Trail_Blazer

Orton easily on this one. Randy Savage is a lunatic, and highly over-rated as a wrestler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Randy Savage. Savage was a great wrestler, had tons of charisma and could work the mic like a pro and is considered one of the greatest of all time.

Randy tbh is not all that great in the ring, he constantly uses headlocks and chinlocks and is just so boring to watch, his robot voice makes him sound horrible on the mic and as for charisma, well I'd say he has a bit of it, but whatever charisma he had when he returned from his injury, has been gone since WM25

guys this poll is closed, theres a new one: dudleyz vs road warriors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

I like Orton and I hope he becomes a megastar because he has it all except exposure.
    However Randy Savage is a legend,a true great.A unique character with a lot of classic matches.

30 - 19 to savage

It's now at 39-23 to Savage.

Lads, these polls are over when i reveal the result. Stop voting then! Chat away if ye want, but its not worth your while voting.....

It's now at 39-23 to Savage.

Lads, these polls are over when i reveal the result. Stop voting then! Chat away if ye want, but its not worth your while voting.....

I've locked the poll, edited the results back to the original scores of 19-30 and made the results public. If you want I can do this with all of them when the poll is over just say the word dude :)

orestes wrote: »
    I've locked the poll, edited the results back to the original scores of 19-30 and made the results public. If you want I can do this with all of them when the poll is over just say the word dude :)

Gwan orestes ya good thing!! That'd be deadly, sound

No worries at alll dude, I would have done it with the earlier ones too but I didn't even know I could till I had a look yesterday and just started poking things randomly with mod tools to see what happened :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 PodgeL5

savage over orton any day:D