Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Courses: Online and Classroom

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭anbrutog

I'm interested in doing a web design course. I have some quite limited experience with Dreamweaver, HTML and CSS but I am a print designer who wants to make the transition into web design. Therefore the course should not be too advanced. I also want to concentrate on design and layout rather than programming. Has anyone done any of these courses below?

http://www.dbs.ie/diploma-web-design/tabid/449/
    http://www.ibat.ie/
    http://www.ecollege.ie/site/pages/ca...WebDesign.html

Also as some are through the internet and not in a classroom would it be just as good (and much cheaper!) to subscribe to some online tutorial site like this?http://www.lynda.com/home/DisplayCourse.aspx?lpk2=502

I know this is probably a common query but any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Stay away from the DBS course , I made the mistake of doing both the introductory and advanced courses, complete and utter rubbish, waste of the guts of 3k. The intro was nothing more than a glorified ECDL and the advanced well... this was supposed to have consisted of hardcore ( in the words of a tutor ) web programming ( PHP , javascript ) but in reality all it was was maybe a couple of classes of very very basic PHP , the rest of the time was spent with Joomla and altering templates. I've since done a fair of learning on my own and some of the nonsense we were taught was shocking , eg being taught to build sites using tables as opposed to standards based css layouts.