Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IKEA is here, people were there at 5am this morning

• 27-07-2009 5:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭

Going to grab somthing to eat and head over. Anybody been there yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    people were there at 5am this morning

Each and every one of them retards

It's only a shop ffs, it'll still be there tomorrow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Ikea is in Dublin. Wrong forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

People were there at 5am this morning

Why, was it first 50 customers get everything half price or something? If not I second the sentiments of 'My Name is URL'.

Delighted IKEA is finally here though, could have done with it 3 years ago when I bought my now negative equity home:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Couple of people got some €500 vouchers I think .. according to breakingnews.ie anyway. I don't get the big fuss to be honest. How can this opening be related to Garda Traffic Management, M50 construction and what not?

What the hell is so special about this shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Random wrote: »
    What the hell is so special about this shop?

It's the hotdogs!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

JimiTime wrote: »
    Why, was it first 50 customers get everything half price or something? If not I second the sentiments of 'My Name is URL'.

Delighted IKEA is finally here though, could have done with it 3 years ago when I bought my now negative equity home:(

I think they were giving out free goody bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭joes girls

Hates all that flatpack sh1t it always falls apart on me!!!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

There were complaints that not many local people got jobs in IKEA, but from what I hear, the interviews were fair and practical. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Oooooooo I want to go to IKEA to buy something I do not need, and before today I didn't even want!

I dunno, how about one of these these? It would be nice when your mates come over :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

All those who were first in queue looked like those who'd only be there to get something free, not cause they could afford it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Jumpy wrote: »
    Wrong forum.

No it't not. People from all over the country will be visiting Ikea :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

kmart6 wrote: »
    All those who were first in queue looked like those who'd only be there to get something free, not cause they could afford it!

Where you there? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

just seen that on the news what kind of retards would Queue up to see the poxy place open from 5am ud think they were queing for U2 tickets or something :p

SIX PACK wrote: »
    just seen that on the news what kind of retards would Queue up to see the poxy place open from 5am ud think they were queing for U2 tickets or something :p

Its a sad day and a poor reflection on folk when you see people queuing up at 5am to see lumps of furniture!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

OMFG FURNITURE!!!!!!!111!!. Hurry and get in the queue B4 there are no more coffee tablesssssss left 4eva.

WindSock wrote: »
    OMFG FURNITURE!!!!!!!111!!. Hurry and get in the queue B4 there are no more coffee tablesssssss left, eva.

...Next week .. the Ikea reality show! Just wait till you see the legs on on those tables move! :pac:
    RTE is sure to air it. They sure are filling the news with the crap already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The Fuss is that a Typical IKEA opening is usually tied in with unprecedented amounts of free givaways.

There was an opening in Orlando or somewheres a few years ago where they were just giving away whole sets of furniture to the first 100 people in line or something else insane like that.

So yeah, the **** got crazy.

Sure for $150, Id probably kill an hour or two myself.

gotta be ****ing madness down there though. *shudder*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I think they were giving out free goody bags.

Too soon man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Each and every one of them retards

It's only a shop ffs, it'll still be there tomorrow

i wish i could thank this post 5 times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

He says in a scottish accent

"Ikea not friggin 5am!!! What the fcuk!"

marcsignal wrote: »
    I dunno, how about one of these these? It would be nice when your mates come over :D

There is no way that could be flatpacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

and the maintenance would be a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Welcome back, you've made me laugh already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Having listened to the manager of Ikea harp on today about how ikea doesnt charge for parking and its something they may appeal about down the line. (Part of them being approved planning permission have to charge for parking during certain hours) How would I go about formally asking them seeing as how its "such an incovience" to them to donate all the money to charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

2 pieces, she sits in the back of the car and holds her bit of glass while you drive. Bruno says furniture people are the new black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

marcsignal wrote: »
    I could never figure out how those yokes were put together at all

I believe this IKEA ad was censored due to the new blasphemy law :pac:

or check this one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

My IKEA moement asisisted by a cordless drill, was to assemble 3 seperate flat pack wardrobes ,chest of drawers and bedside units .

Only one thing wobbling in the bedroom and it aint them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Sorry OP, wrong forum.

This is where it should be.