Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DJs and producers who have passed away...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Nice idea for a thread
    The two of my most influential departed artists would be these two;

RR Fierce/John Newell - 1965(?)-2001
    http://www.discogs.com/artist/RR+Fierce

Tony de Vit - 1976–1998
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_De_Vit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Tony De Vit was amazing.

Marc Spoon from Jam & Spoon was also amazing.

RIP Both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Have to say TDV is way over rated, fair enough some decent original production but DJ wise what was that special ablout him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭franklyshocked

jonny68 wrote: »
    Tony De Vit was amazing.

RIP Both.

I can remember when I heard Tony De Vit died. I had just bought one of his legendary mix CD's, which has since been stolen from a party :(

As for Spoon, he was a serious nutter for the parties so I was almost surprised he made it as long as he did. Love their album tripomatic fairytails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

Tony De Vit was amazing.

RIP Both.

He was a bummer. Got what he deserved. As for all those knackers goin "the dawn is bleedin animal tune" - i'd love to see there faces if i told them that

utter sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

FLYNN-DOG wrote: »
    He was a bummer. Got what he deserved. As for all those knackers goin "the dawn is bleedin animal tune" - i'd love to see there faces if i told them that

utter sh1te

So gay people all deserve to die now? Welcome to 2009 buddy.
    The dawn is still one of my all time favourite tunes, and judging by your post I'm a ****load less knackerish than you!!

Ha - knew that'd get a reaction! Just joking though mate.....!

utter sh1te

you should be ****ing ashamed of yourself slating someone who is dead and for your homophobic remarks :mad:, who gives a fcuk if he was gay, he was a brilliant DJ, in fact if i was a moderator id ban you for good for these disgusting remarks, go an crawl back under whatever rock you came from:mad:

Jay D wrote: »
    Have to say TDV is way over rated, fair enough some decent original production but DJ wise what was that special ablout him?

gotta disagree with you there, seen TDV 3 times and each time he absolutely rocked the place, he is renowned for his 8+ hours sets in the legendary Trade, he was IMO a fantastic DJ and is sadly missed in the dance scene.

you should be ****ing ashamed of yourself slating someone who is dead and for your homophobic remarks :mad:, who gives a fcuk if he was gay, he was a brilliant DJ, in fact if i was a moderator id ban you for good for these disgusting remarks, go an crawl back under whatever rock you came from:mad:

I take it back man!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

James Marcel Stinson, one half of Drexciya and involved in several other projects on his own such as 'The Other People Place'.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/James+Stinson

Drexciya...

The Other People Place...

utter sh1te

Jaysus, totally uncalled for! One of the most sickening comments I've read on boards. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ha - knew that'd get a reaction! Just joking though mate.....!
    Bit of a sick joke

Felixdhc wrote: »
    James Marcel Stinson, one half of Drexciya

Jesus, didn't realise that.

Had forgotten about Tony de Vit. Wouldn't have been a big fan myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

Anyone one remember C.M.,Dream Universe, Hooj choons (98?), they had a few hits on Fog Area Records too.
    Anyway,one half of them, Marino Stephano, was killed in a car crash in 1999, just as they were tipped for big things.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mx9gPzVq-rI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

Not forgetting Ron Hardy of course. Closer to home Derek Purple of Elevator and the Horny Organ tribe who died in a car crash NYE 2000

Yeah but Ron was gay too :rolleyes:

Also another more recent and probably less known was one half of Telefon Tel Aviv, Charlie Cooper who died in January this year - within about two weeks of their latest album release 'Immolate Yourself' on BPitch Control.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Telefon+Tel+Aviv

Klim wrote: »
    Anyway,one half of them, Marino Stephano, was killed in a car crash in 1999, just as they were tipped for big things.

Would that be the same Marino Stephano mentioned in the very first post on this thread and who was the inspiration for it? :P

Actually, hadn't heard that track tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

Caspar Pound
    http://www.discogs.com/artist/Caspar+Pound

Kemistry (from Kemistry & Storm)
    http://www.discogs.com/artist/Kemistry+%26+Storm

and most recently Ian Loveday
    http://www.discogs.com/artist/Eon

RIP!!!

harsea8 wrote: »
    Caspar Pound

RIP!!!

Jaysus yeah, forgot about Caspar Pound...

harsea8 wrote: »
    Caspar Pound

RIP!!!

Sh*t, just looked up Ian Loveday as the name didn't ring a bell - he was part of Minimal Man with the track 'Treatment Feel' a big favourite of mine.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

Would that be the same Marino Stephano mentioned in the very first post on this thread and who was the inspiration for it? :P

Actually, hadn't heard that track tbh.

Whoops!!!! [gets coat]

Klim wrote: »
    Whoops!!!! [gets coat]

One yellow card anyway...;)

Did anyone mention the member of the Shamen who drowned when they were making the video for Move Any Mountain? He was on the cusp of a big career.

Will Sinnott/Will Sin, 1960 - 1991
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-o15Xmaz2A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

Jees, how could I forget this guy...one of the acid house pioneers!
    http://www.discogs.com/artist/Armando

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Hesho

Paul Oakenfold...

Not really deceased per se but I reckon he's been dead on the inside for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

What about Kemistry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

Not forgetting Mark Wilson of the Disco brothers(Nulkeuz?) who passed away about a week after yer man from jam and spoon back in 2006.

Another hugely important figure from the past in dance music is also dead - Fabio Paras. Not mentioned on discogs but several comments around youtube about the fact that he has passed. :( I heard this a few months back but didn't see anything really to confirm but some youtube members seem pretty sure.

I spent many a night in the Temple Of Sound dancing with Fabio behind the decks (when he did turn up!), also met my now wife one night when he playing in 1996.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Fabio+Paras

Some truly amazing music and a superb DJ too.

RIP and thank you for the music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭c_o_ck p_i_ss chillage

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Sh*t, just looked up Ian Loveday as the name didn't ring a bell - he was part of Minimal Man with the track 'Treatment Feel' a big favourite of mine.

RIP

Ian Loveday worked on this classic aswell, as you probably know.

Eon - The Spice

Also, Andy Hughes of the Orb died in June:

http://www.trashmenagerie.com/blog/2009/06/23/the-orbs-andy-hughes-passes-at-the-age-of-44/

Couldn't embed any of the Orb so here's a little known LP he engineered which was written by Alex Patterson, Robert Fripp and Thomas Fehlmann.

Stunning work.

Yeah thats a great track by Eon - didn't actually know he was involved in that either.

I had heard Andy Hughes had died too, was he involved more so in their early work? I still haven't bought a copy of the FFWD album, must do - I always loved 'Lucky Saddle' which was on I think the 2nd of the Trance Europe Express CDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Didn't know Fabio was part of Outrage. Used to love that Piano track

Didn't know one of Empirion had died a few years ago - I was just reading that they had got back together last year having had a few years break since Bob Glennie died of cancer in 2005.

Taken from their myspace...
    Empirion began life in 1993 at the pinnacle of the acid house scene in the UK.

Having met while out and about on the party scene, Oz Morsely, Jamie Smart and Bob Glennie decided to release their first track upon the unsuspecting public.

Jamie was already touring the world as a tour support DJ with fellow Essex boys The Prodigy and was inspired to release the track on their newly created label Wanted Records.

The track ‘Narcotic Influence’ went on to be voted in to the top 100 dance tracks of all time as according to dance music bible Mixmag. They followed this up with 3 more superb slices of techno with ‘Quark’ and the double a side ‘Ciao & Advanced Technology.’

The trio were now hot property and it wasn’t long before bigger labels came knocking.

Empirion signed with XL Recordings in 1995 and released their debut album ‘Advanced Technology’ in 1996. They were fast gaining a reputation not only for the strength of their own material but also for their remixes for other bands.

Remixes for bands like Front 242, Fluke, Praga Kahn, China Drum, Cubanate and the immense remix of The Prodigys ‘Firestarter’ put the band on the front foot towards the late 1990’s.

They supported the Prodigy throughout Europe as well as racking up many live appearances across the continent before touring America in 1997 as a part of Megadogs Big Top Tour alongside acts like Moby, 808 State, Eat static, System 7and DJ’s Grooverider, Derrick May and BT.

Touring America was a bittersweet moment for the band as member Bob Glennie was diagnosed with cancer shortly before the tour. Unable to join the band on the road and in the studio had its effect on the band as a whole and as a result Empirion was in a state of limbo.

Bob’s battle with cancer ended in 2005. He is sadly missed by all.

This seemed to be the final straw for the band with Oz starting a new band ‘Kloq’ and Jamie stepping away from the music scene for a while before coming back alongside Victory Pill’s Pete Crossman in their joint project ‘Controlled Change’ in 2001.

But it couldn’t end like that……….

Fast-forward 5 years to November 2010 and a phone call that was to bring Empirion out of hiatus. Jamie was asked to DJ at a megadog reunion party in Manchester and wheels began to turn. The time just seemed right to move forward and he contacted Oz about turning the DJ set in to an Empirion live show. Oz jumped at the chance and so it began.

With renewed vigour Empirion have reformed and are now setting themselves up to record new material and already have live shows lined up across Europe in the next year.

The duo have now pooled their creative talents with Victory Pill and other artists to create a collective all working from the Carbon Room studios in Essex. This production collective is going to be very busy in the coming year with lots of releases planned.

It seems only fitting that the first new Empirion material to be released for 13 years is a remix for Victory Pill and long time friend of Empirion Pete Crossman.
    And how they have delivered!

Once again the trademark squawks of analogue madness are on show along side pulsating beats and awesome breakdowns.

Empirion are back…and it’s a great feeling.
    http://www.myspace.com/empirion