Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What A GAME

• 25-07-2009 7:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Just watching the wicklow kildare game there wow one of the best games ive seen this year, come wicklow:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,135 ✭✭✭lukin

Did anyone hear what Liam Hayes said at the end? He was extremely critical of Mick O Dwyer and I could have sworn he called him "a silly old goat". I could be wrong but that's what it sounded like to me.
    If that's what he did say he is an absolute tosser (but we knew that already).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

lukin wrote: »
    Did anyone hear what Liam Hayes said at the end? He was extremely critical of Mick O Dwyer and I could have sworn he called him "a silly old goat". I could be wrong but that's what it sounded like to me.

Wannabe Dunphy, no one with any sense takes anything he says seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

yes a very good game and definitely a big improvement on Galway Donegal game which just never took off. Unless i was Dublin would not want to be playing Kildare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Great game and Wicklow looked very good. Kildare's experience won it for them but they were pushed right up till the very end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Yep he said exactly that, and that ''Mick O'Dwyer lost it for Wicklow". He really comes out with some pearls of wisdom, i've already been critical about his comments on Limerick before the Munster final. He's got a big mouth and really should think before he speaks.

As for the game, i thought Wicklow committed far too many silly fouls to win the game, Walsh and Stafford at midfield continually fouled throughout the game. Earley was magnificent for Kildare, along with Morgan O'Flaherty and Alan Smyth. Dean Odlum was a real handful for Wicklow up front, himself and Leighton Glynn really impressed me. There's defo potential there for a decent crack at Leinster next year. Playing the fourth week in a row caught up with them evetually though. Nobody will want to draw Kildare though, although some of their shooting tonight was poor at times. Johnny Doyle wasn't his usual self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

A few years ago they were giving out about football in Leinster, well I think that this match the Leinster final showed that the teams are playing a bit better.

Heard Liam's comments and I am not sure if it was a time issue but Matt tried to talk him down. I believe in free speech but I don't agree with that comment. Did he by any chance say that Micko won it in the other games? Micko had his tactics, and you can hardly say that was the only reason why Wicklow lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Scallion 'ater

He said Dywer is a "stubborn old goat" rather than a "silly old goat". It could be seen as a term of endearment but I don't think that was his intention.

Hayes has strong Carlow connections and like many is bitter about Micko's carry on in relation to the Thomas Walshe affair. Like Hayes, Luke Dempsey is another who never misses an opportunity to have a pop at Micko for the same reason.

The main point however was that Micko, by being stubborn, lost the game by not making any changes to his tiring team. Personally I think that is because he knows that his bench is very weak and just doesn't have the subs to bring in.

Talk of a Leinster for this Wicklow team is fanciful. As seen tonight Kildare simply have too many better footballers as do Dublin and Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

yes a very good game and definitely a big improvement on Galway Donegal game which just never took off. Unless i was Dublin would not want to be playing Kildare.
    HE HE HE the lily white are gunning for the dubs!

should be interesting though, god i love this game:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I would says Hayes has a point and someone with a bit of kop on may have worded it differently.

It was stated earlier that Wicklow gave away to many free's. I agree. Their passing became more erratic as the game went on.................... Fatigue! Wicklow didnt need to bring on a top drawer footballer but someone who could run and link up the play a little, pick up the passes that were going astray.

Kildare deserved their win. They were the better side on the day. But thanks to Wicklow, they have been a breath of freshair over the past few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

HE HE HE the lily white are gunning for the dubs!

should be interesting though, god i love this game:)

Whats with your obsession with the Dubs ?

They beat Kildare by three, it could have been 6, only had 14 men on the park, and spent 17 Mins of the game in total disarray. The Lillywhites had a prime chance to beat the Dubs two weeks ago, and didnt take it. I was not the kind of game that you think it was (i.e Kildare came close to beating Dublin under normal circumstances). You can be "gunning" all you want, but I stand by my convictions that the Dubs would beat Kildare again. Just put Sherlock or Alan Brogan back on Emmett Bolton, and we shall see who is "gunning for who"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

He is 100% right. Nice to see an analyst calling it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

NufcNavan wrote: »
    He is 100% right. Nice to see an analyst calling it as it is.

lol, yeah maybe Micko should ask Liam 'the mouth' Hayes for advice about inter-county management :rolleyes:

Het-Field wrote: »
    Whats with your obsession with the Dubs ?

They beat Kildare by three, it could have been 6, only had 14 men on the park, and spent 17 Mins of the game in total disarray. The Lillywhites had a prime chance to beat the Dubs two weeks ago, and didnt take it. I was not the kind of game that you think it was (i.e Kildare came close to beating Dublin under normal circumstances). You can be "gunning" all you want, but I stand by my convictions that the Dubs would beat Kildare again. Just put Sherlock or Alan Brogan back on Emmett Bolton, and we shall see who is "gunning for who"
    il say no more but when we meet again kildare will rise to the top! best of luck in quarter finals! :D

ps sherlock was getting hopped off apart from the soft goal he got!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Johnny Drama.

Typical Ex carlow Manager, Pure Begrudger:mad:

lol, yeah maybe Micko should ask Liam 'the mouth' Hayes for advice about inter-county management :rolleyes:
    Or maybe everyone could realise is that Micko has only changed Wicklow from being a very poor side to a poor side. Record books will state that Wicklow yet again were knocked out in the qualifiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Johnny Drama.

Wicklow Proved today that they are the 3rd Best team in leinster

1 Dublin
    2 Kildare
    3 Wicklow
    4 meath (Living in the past)
    5 Longford
    6 Wmeath
    7 Wexford
    8 Offaly
    9 Louth
    10 ................ enough said

1 Dublin
    2 Kildare
    3 Wicklow
    5 Longford
    6 Wmeath
    7 Wexford
    8 Offaly
    9 Louth
    are you seriously suggesting that laois should not be in the number 4 slot? meath football is terrible in my opinion! 6 westmeath? surely offaly are better at the minute than them?

just wondering did you forget laois?

was just thinking maybe you just threw this out without thinking?

btw agree about wicklow im very impressed with them!

il say no more but when we meet again kildare will rise to the top! best of luck in quarter finals! :D

ps sherlock was getting hopped off apart from the soft goal he got!

Ah come on, Bolton was being slaughtered. In fact, the entire Kildare backline was not up to much

Say what you like. I have no idea what the hell you are basing it on ? Dublin won the last game, and Kildare never had more then a 1 point lead, even though Dublin had 14 men, and spent the guts of 20 mins in disarray. I was impressed today, but Wicklow are not all that. The Dubs are a far sterner proposition, and beat Kildare, with 14 men.

1 Dublin
    2 Kildare
    3 Wicklow
    5 Longford
    6 Wmeath
    7 Wexford
    8 Offaly
    9 Louth
    Meath are poor but they would still beat Wicklow with relative ease. Kildare and Meath are on a par it seems.

Would still put Laois ahead of Wicklow.

Meath are poor but they would still beat Wicklow with relative ease. Kildare and Meath are on a par it seems.

Would still put Laois ahead of Wicklow.

Not at all. Meath could and should have lost by 10 to Dublin. Wins over Roscommon,Westmeath, and Waterford count for little or nothing. Kildare have a true chance of doing something this year. The first big test for Meath will see them finished

My Rankings

1.Dublin
    2.Kildare
    3.Wicklow
    4.Meath
    5.Wexford
    6.Offaly
    7.Westmeath
    8.Longfrod
    9.Laois
    10.Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Hayes usually has a point, but goes completely over board. I know criticism of Micko is now illegal, but Micko only brought a talented Laois so far. Everybody blames the players in Laois, but times had changed. He was an admirer of Armaghs direct style too, which gets forgotten!

Chat of a Leinster title is far fetched. Dublin are a step ahead of everybody else, ala Tyrone in Ulster. It's scrapping for an also ran place in all honesty, though a major achievement for Wicklow to be even considered 2nd, 3rd or 4th place.

The problem with Leinster is consistency. Meath fell away last year and Wexford this year. Longford threatened and fell away too. If Micko goes, what will happen?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

are you seriously suggesting that laois should not be in the number 4 slot? meath football is terrible in my opinion!
    On the contrary I think it is Laois football that is terrible at the moment. They really are apalling right now, they're at their worst for a good few years. I saw them against Kildare and to say they were poor was an understatement, they then lost to a very mediocre Down team.
    Meath have done nothing in Leinster for a good few years now, and have been poor in both the provincial championships and back door since their 'mini-run' in 2007. That said, Meath are motoring along nicely in the back door this year and on current form would almost certainly beat Laois.

grenache wrote: »
    On the contrary I think it is Laois football that is terrible at the moment. They really are apalling right now, they're at their worst for a good few years. I saw them against Kildare and to say they were poor was an understatement, they then lost to a very mediocre Down team.
    Meath have done nothing in Leinster for a good few years now, and have been poor in both the provincial championships and back door since their 'mini-run' in 2007. That said, Meath are motoring along nicely in the back door this year and on current form would almost certainly beat Laois.
    ok maybe meath should be fourth but i mean laois are still dangerous in local derbies kildare beat them well ok but they were wary of the team believe me that!

Not at all. Meath could and should have lost by 10 to Dublin. Wins over Roscommon,Westmeath, and Waterford count for little or nothing. Kildare have a true chance of doing something this year. The first big test for Meath will see them finished

My Rankings

1.Dublin
    2.Kildare
    3.Wicklow
    4.Meath
    5.Wexford
    6.Offaly
    7.Westmeath
    8.Longfrod
    9.Laois
    10.Carlow
    So when Wicklow beat 3 sh*t teams like Meath did it makes them better than them??? My arse. Westmeath V Wicklow was so low in skill that it should have been abandoned. Yet still, Wicklow lost. Meath bet Westmeath comfortably without having to pass 2nd gear.

Fermanagh, Cavan and Down are argubly the 3 worst teams in Ulster football. Yet all we hear is "Good ol' Micko doing a great job". Yes, he's done ok, but nothing spectacular or out of proportion. Wicklow have defeated some very poor teams in the qualifiers, but still have not progressed that much.

Meath were crap against Dublin, but since then have improved. I saw enough tonight against Roscommon to suggest that they can beat Limerick. Granted Roscommon were poor, but I don't see how anyone can put Wicklow ahead of Meath IMO.

So when Wicklow beat 3 sh*t teams like Meath did it makes them better than them??? My arse. Westmeath V Wicklow was so low in skill that it should have been abandoned. Yet still, Wicklow lost. Meath bet Westmeath comfortably without having to pass 2nd gear.

Fermanagh, Cavan and Down are argubly the 3 worst teams in Ulster football. Yet all we hear is "Good ol' Micko doing a great job". Yes, he's done ok, but nothing spectacular or out of proportion. Wicklow have defeated some very poor teams in the qualifiers, but still have not progressed that much.

Meath were crap against Dublin, but since then have improved. I saw enough tonight against Roscommon to suggest that they can beat Limerick. Granted Roscommon were poor, but I don't see how anyone can put Wicklow ahead of Meath IMO.

Wicklow have absolutly no pedigree. Equally, I feel they have a fairly ordinary team of players. However, Fremanagh, Cavan and Down would all beat Westmeath, Roscommon, and Waterford.

I cant believe im arguing over this. The seven teams I have just mentioned in my post are not going anywhere. They are non runners in football at the moment, and beating any of them is no accolade. Arguing who comes third or fourth in Leinster is a waste of time.

Wicklow have absolutly no pedigree. Equally, I feel they have a fairly ordinary team of players. However, Fremanagh, Cavan and Down would all beat Westmeath, Roscommon, and Waterford.

I cant believe im arguing over this. The seven teams I have just mentioned in my post are not going anywhere. They are non runners in football at the moment, and beating any of them is no accolade. Arguing who comes third or fourth in Leinster is a waste of time.
    They'd all beat Westmeath yet Wicklow couldn't?? :p

You're right, Leinster football is rubbish, but despite the improvements Wicklow have made, they're still not great and I just don't think that they're better than Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

They'd all beat Westmeath yet Wicklow couldn't?? :p

You're right, Leinster football is rubbish, but despite the improvements Wicklow have made, they're still not great and I just don't think that they're better than Meath.

Jaysus lads, Meath still have to beat Limerick!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Lads, lads and lassies, it was a good match but a bad game. Ulster will ate either of them teams. Simple as.

K-9 wrote: »
    Damn right they have! I so want to do them over again, just to wipe the smug smile off Liam Hayes face. Think Meath will take us though. Lightening rarely strikes twice. :(

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Lads, lads and lassies, it was a good match but a bad game. Ulster will ate either of them teams. Simple as.
    when you say ulster do you mean the province? since its inter county we are talking about and not provincial football!:cool:

Kildare says noo! lol

and i think only dead cert in ulster are the tyrone boys- very good team, strong the full squad are so strong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭ceoexec2

wtf is pedigree. is it dublin bottling it every year. does it mean down, meath, cavan, donegal etc living on previous all irelands. theres no such thing as pedigree , every 2-3yrs or so a panel completely changes. people talk about counties like its the same team playing every year

there is no point in using westmeath as a standard in comparing who is better than who.

the life and death struggle with wicklow knocked any bit of confidence they had left out of them after having a dreadful league campaign. they were like a beaten dog against dublin and just played out time against meath. that team is finished. the fact that meath beat them in the qualifiers doesnt mean anything. meath barely got over roscommon for feck sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

if i was to call Liam Hayes a <snip>, would i get banned?

i used to work with a Meath man and after his Kerry bashing in 2007, the quote from he was "he writes like he played football for Meath, very f*cking badly"

Fair play to Kildare and Wicklow, it was good, not quite great, but what may have lacked in quality in some sectors, was made up for in excitement, drama and sheer passion. great game to watch and fair play to wicklow, they are the team of the Summer.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

I was at the game and watched a recording afterwards lastnight.
    The wind that Kildare were playing into the 2nd half was really strong ,something tv just cant show,it definitely picked up for the second half as the clouds started rolling in.
    Thoroughly enjoyed the game,delighted with the result :)
    Wicklow are a dangerous team with decent forwards and strong midfield, Dermot Earley put in one of the best performances ive seen in years, he was everywhere and scored some great points one in particular from way out against the very strong wind.

ceoexec2 wrote: »
    meath barely got over roscommon for feck sake
    I take it you didn't go to the game then. Meath barely broke a sweat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

if i was to call Liam Hayes a <snip>, would i get banned?

i used to work with a Meath man and after his Kerry bashing in 2007, the quote from he was "he writes like he played football for Meath, very f*cking badly"

Fair play to Kildare and Wicklow, it was good, not quite great, but what may have lacked in quality in some sectors, was made up for in excitement, drama and sheer passion. great game to watch and fair play to wicklow, they are the team of the Summer.

It is obvious what you think of him, please do not try and get around the rules and slip in an insult like that again. Have an infraction, next time it will be a ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Dcully wrote: »
    I was at the game and watched a recording afterwards lastnight.
    The wind that Kildare were playing into the 2nd half was really strong ,something tv just cant show,it definitely picked up for the second half as the clouds started rolling in.
    Thoroughly enjoyed the game,delighted with the result :)
    Wicklow are a dangerous team with decent forwards and strong midfield, Dermot Earley put in one of the best performances ive seen in years, he was everywhere and scored some great points one in particular from way out against the very strong wind.
    tough draw for Kildare but think they will give Tyrone a good game. could be a cracker