Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

todays burning question?

• 25-07-2009 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭

as it seems to be a current query on here,why not run a poll?,
    for a person beginning golf who regards themselves as above average.

1 stick to hurling grip it
    2 change to correct/orthodox grip
    3 start with hurley grip and maybe change later
    4 neither makes a difference to how you play in the long run
    5 see on the day

left out the above average part(as this was how maynooth rules described himself) as i think its relative to all beginners

for a beginner golfer,which grip do you recommend ? 34 votes

use the hurley grip
    0% 0 votes
    use the orthodox/normal grip
    5% 2 votes
    start with hurley grip(if its natural to you) and maybe change later
    91% 31 votes
    neither will make a difference in the long term
    2% 1 vote
    decide on the day
    0% 0 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Kill this thread - Hurling Grip NOT ON

Don't do it lads if yo want to improve .you will get to a certain level but no further.
    #
    99,99 successful professionals use orthodox grips...need I say more...NEED I SAY MORE !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

People who insist on using the "hurley grip" are simply stuburn people unwilling to change. Even when experienced experts who have been around the game of golf all there live's and have seen just about every crack-pot method out ther advise them not to use the "hurley grip", they still question this. All I say is of with ye and call me when ye head out to play so I can point and laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Even though I voted for the orthodox grip I'm going to try the hurling grip (I did play hurling!) on the practice ground.

Maybe it will shock my current swing into normality or make me realise I could actually swing even worse.