Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your car is '88 - why are you upset..?

• 25-07-2009 5:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

Just a small rant here lads ..! and a word to the wise...!

Had to go to Joyces Knocknacarra Galway for a few bits for tea yesterday. Parked in a deserted part of the carpark. Nobody was near me at all. Just driving out of the carpark when this stoopid blind idiot reverses her battered '01 Almera out of her space right into the front of my 944.

I cant believe this has happened - I am frozen with dread. I get out and look. My bumper is cracked and my LH foglight is broken. Lucky for me she seemed to aim the towing eye right for the foglight. My car is covered in red paint.

She says to me "Did you not see me reversing out?" I am brave and cross at this statement. Followed by " Your car is '88 - why are you upset?"
    I totally lose it and tell her just to forget about it.
    I only have the car 9 years and this is the first damage that it has sustained in that time.

I now have to try and source a LH foglight for a US spec 944 and this will not be an easy task. I let her off as she was getting all verbal and a crowd of rubberneckers were gathering. I'll take my loss - I dont care, fate will sort her out for me.

In fairness it could have been a lot, lot worse. I am a bit upset but worse things happened at sea...!

A word to the wise - Dont make the same mistake of taking your pride and joy to a carpark...!

Sorry for the rant.. and relax..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I've said this before, women are stupid and are completely ignorant when it comes to cars. You should have demanded money of her, or at least taken her details. That sort of behaviour is not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

You let her away with it...man ,thats lame...she reversed into YOU..:eek:..theres no way you would have been out of pocket on this one...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I was in the wrong because

1. I was driving a Porsche in a carpark
    2. She was pregnant
    3. I "didnt see her reverse" into my path
    4. I was surrounded by people rubbernecking and saying stuff like "serves you right you p***k"
    5. She was out shouting the odds

Look lads I just have to take my oil here and get over myself.

Ive just found out that Porsche cant get me a new one so I will have to scour eBay US or sommit. I seen one for $175 so I will try and get that. The crack I will have to live with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

F**k sake,im sorry to hear that.You shouldnt have let her get away with it though."Your car is 88",what a statement..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

Isn't the party reversing ALWAYS in the wrong??

I know according to Dutch traffic rules, that is most definitely the case. No matter what circumstances, when you reverse, it's up to you to always give way to ALL traffic.

If you took down her license number I would go the guards, tell them you felt threatened by the situation/crowd at the time and left the scene, and that you now want to make a statement. They must follow it up, and it will become a matter of the insurance companies.

Oh, and by the way, there is a Porsche specialist here around the corner with stacks of 2nd hand 924/944's that he's breaking. I can make a few enquiries if you have partnumbers. Sending from Holland is always going to be cheaper than from the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

I was in the wrong because
    4. I was surrounded by people rubbernecking and saying stuff like "serves you right you p***k"
    5. She was out shouting the odds

Was she seriously shouting?

And there were really other people saying that?

It's sickening to hear people behaving like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

I wouldnt care how much she was shouting if someone crashed into my porsche(if i was lucky enough to have one:P)i would never let them hear the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

That is not nice at all! The fact that yours is an 88 and in fine condition speaks volumes for you and the car!

I kind of know where you are coming from on this - kind of walk away before you do something you might regret as she winds you up! However, she has learned nothing from the incident!

It has now been confirmed in her eyes that she reversed into an "old" car but it is OK as it did not cost her anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭PinkTulips

:mad: women like that make me so bloody ashamed as they really do reinforce the 'women drivers' stereotype

i did something similar to that while pregnant, althgough the van i reversed into was double parked behind me giving me even less of a leg to stand on :o (in my meagre defense i hadn't been driving long and it was the first time i had to reverse out of a spot on my own in the car)

i was never so embaressed in my fookin life and apologised about 3000 times to the other driver...... the thought of blaming him for my idiocy never crossed my mind, i just prayed that getting his van fixed wasn't going to cost a fortune as i was broke! (in the end it was fine as we each had a minor dent that could be popped out so he refused to take my details)

i really think you should report it to the cops, you were intimidated and that's not right.... she was in the wrong 100% and to try and claim otherwise is bizarre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

No offence intended VanhireBoys......... but you are a fool. I wouldn't have accepted any of her sh1te. You should have called the guards and let them come out and take the details of the incident. I would have then gone to my solicitor. All of this of course if she refused to cough up for the damage which my the sounds of it she wasn't interested in entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

No offence intended VanhireBoys......... but you are a fool. I wouldn't have accepted any of her sh1te. You should have called the guards and let them come out and take the details of the incident. I would have then gone to my solicitor. All of this of course if she refused to cough up for the damage which my the sounds of it she wasn't interested in entertaining.

I agree, by the sounds of it you were definitely in the right, so why should you have to pay for the damage? You should've just taken a few photos on your phone and, if you didn't want to discuss it in front of the onlookers, you could have swapped details to sort it out over the phone later (when she'd calmed down a bit!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

I was in a similar situation in a last-legs '90 something Fiesta, I stll asked for the number of the other driver to cover the cost of the headlight.

I got one from the scrappy for pint money in the end and never rang them but it's the principal - it wasn't my fault.

She was'nt a "pikey" was she....:eek:

I know we were all thinking it.......:p

BTW...just read this......i take back everything i said above about the poor woman...:p

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=61098235#post61098235

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I totally lose it and tell her just to forget about it.

I certainly wouldnt have let her away regardless.

If she was hysterical (pregnancy = hormones all over the shop) just take her reg, insurance details from disc etc. call guards and report it.
    Wait til she calms down/crowd disperses and talk then.

In fairness..its too late for "you should have done" ....If he has her details (reg no.) he could go to the Guards and report it anyway, explain what went on and maybe they'll pay her a visit and get the details for him.......or just forget about it..:o

I have had time to simmer down now and think logically..!

I have her reg and reported the incident to the Salthill Garda and said that I felt threatened by the crowd of onlookers. They are going to look into the CCTV etc and give her a "little visit"

In the meantime Ive got a brand new LH foglight from the States from eBay for €145 delivered. Funny there was only a left one on offer. Good job the c**t didnt zap my Right one...! If I get the price of the light off her I'll be happy..! If not no odds .. Fate will deal her a bad hand...!

As you all can see ive been a busy boy...!

Thanks for your support lads/lassies - made me feel a whole lot better. Reading all your replies made me smile and calm down a fare bit

Made me realise that the world is not full of sniping, arrogant, ignorant imbeciles - just that car park......!

OT but if any of yous are in Mountbellew tommorrow come over and say hello. Hopefully myself and a few others will get parked up together. I'll be in the 944 with the broken LH fog light BTW ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

Only an 88!

ONLY AN 88!!!!!

Jesus these classic car snobs really annoy me just cost it wasn't the full 30 years old, a porsche 944 is still a classic in my book! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The ignorance of some people really amazes me. It shouldn't matter if it was a 1988 Fiesta.
    Your dead right for calling into the Garda station. If she really wanted to be a cow, she could have called the Gardai on you and reported you for leaving the scene of an accident for which the Gardai would have a power of arrest if they needed it. By law, she has to give you her insurance details and vice-versa if they're wanted. Get them ASAP if you want payment for the foglight, cos she might tell you to get lost if you ask for cash.
    I love 944's and consider them a classic.
    Any pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭brosnadog

Sorry to hear what happend to you car and i have to say i admire how calm you kept, i dont think i would keep such a cool head.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    I've said this before, women are stupid and are completely ignorant when it comes to cars.
    What a statement :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

She says to me "Did you not see me reversing out?" I am brave and cross at this statement. Followed by " Your car is '88 - why are you upset?"

I would've taken her to the cleaners just for the fact that she said that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Glad to hear you got the part sourced anyway, sounds like you got lucky!

brosnadog wrote: »
    What a statement :mad:

Yep, and I stick by it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

That carpark is horrific for seeing near misses every time I'm in it, as an aside.... worst layout POSSIBLE.

Sure some wanker ran into my Micra a few years back and damaged the front driver's side wing. Never saw who done it, but it's disgraceful the behavior that goes on.

Thats the way things have gone now lads...There is nothing but ignorance and hatred in society now unfortunately...! Never heard anything yet from the Garda but heres hoping...

BTW Thanks for the offer of help PaulK_CCI ...! Hopefully Fleabay comes up trumps...!

Heres the damage - If I get a new lamp and get the bumper repaired and repainted over the winter It should be grand...!
    3761064237_28f80a446b_o.jpg

I love 944's and consider them a classic.

Any pics?

Knock youself out - They are all over the place but...!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/13752593@N08/sets/72157604978202290/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

Not the first time something like this happens in Galway... A mate of mine had a knacker (pardon my french) woman crash into the side of his car. She had no license, no tax, no insurance and no NCT. She threatened to kill him if he went to the gards. Luckily he did go to the gards. His insurance had to fork out though because she never showed up in court and wasn't seen since the incident.

About the statement "it's only a 1988"... If people in this country didn't have a habbit of sueing each other over a smelly fart, you should have clobbered her :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭xr2central

that is some statement 'its only 88' this is what happened during the celtic tiger people judge a car by the reg plate its the first thing they look at, with no respect for the car or its condition.
    i love classic cars and i would have respect for someone who drives (for example) a well kept 88 sierra whereas i might have a giggle at someone who went and spent there hard earned on (for example)a 09 kia

you can tell immediately if someone has pride in there car by the way it is kept,i have often seen 30 year old cars that look better than a three month old car, it should have nothing to do with the reg plate.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Why were the crowd angry at you OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

it seems to me reading this , that maybe the OP isnt so sure he was in the right...

maybe it was more like 50/50 and he was not observing a reversing vehicle in a situation where he should have given way to her...maybe..

Thats one explanation for him "leaving her off" isnt it? Its the only good one I can think of, if you are in the right CALL THE GARDS is my motto.

Tend to agree...when it happened to me i called the guards straight away...i knew it wouldnt be straightforward..and it was'nt...;)

Just got word back from the Garda... They said that they thought I was 100% in the right... They followed up with that woman who wasnt a bit nice to them to find she had niether insurance nor NCT.She called me for all the so-in so's of the day. .. I dont know how I'm fixed now....!

Jeez I was better just to let it off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

I can't believe i'm reading this..... It's because of an attitude like this that there are so many uninsured drivers out there!! Just do the right thing and sue the pants off her!! :mad:

Here's your chance to do something about this!! Imagine if tomorrow she runs over a child or something, uninsured!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

They followed up with that woman who wasnt a bit nice to them to find she had niether insurance nor NCT.
    Well at least you've now caused her some grief.

Might be the only payback you'll get, but better than nothing.

Same as me again.......if you have comp cover you just claim on YOUR insurance and THEY chase her for the money, you wont be out of pocket AND you'll get your money quickly....plus the bonus of her being in bother with the guards.........you probably did us all a favour ,in a way....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

No you weren't, twats like that shouldn't be driving.

...and I guess she won't be now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Here's hoping the "Shades" throw the book at her and of course you should sue her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

JustinOval wrote: »
    No you weren't, twats like that shouldn't be driving.

...and I guess she won't be now.

She was driving without insurance, you'd hardly think a trivial thing like loosing her license would put her off now, do you?