Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Job or Green Masters?

Options
  • 23-07-2009 10:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

I am a Mechanical Eng Grad fresh out of college. I have interest in Renewables and I have been offered a graduate position in a Biomass CHP company.

I have also been offered a one year taught Masters in Renewable energy.

I don't know which one to pick. The Biomass company is small(15 people) and the engineering department is currently just one other grad engineer who just started 2 months ago. The job would be based on site monitoring a new Biomass machine they have developed. I would have to live near the new machine(in the middle of nowhere) for a year and be on call 24/7. I don't know what the money is like be I doubt it will be fantastic, they know they can get a grad engineer cheap these days.

I'm working for an energy company at the mo. Wind turbines(max 25kW) and PV(max 100kW) I'm doing it part-time and mostly from home , writing reports and doing some CAD modeling, I set up the monitoring systems on site for them too.The moneys not very good but I can keep my job with this company while I do my masters.

Most people are telling me to take the job. It wasn't easy getting it more than 20 people got interviewed and there 3 interview stages they made us jump through hoops.