Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do you do your job?

• 23-07-2009 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭

Always been an interest to me as to why you do the job you do. What made you decide your profession?

I work as a care assistant and have been in A&E a few times with patients and I just don't know how the nurses, doctors and paramedics do it! And then when I read about or see the hassle gardai have to put up with and the dangers firefighters have to face.

Fair play to ya! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Larianne wrote: »
    Always been an interest to me as to why you do the job you do. What made you decide your profession?

I work as a care assistant and have been in A&E a few times with patients and I just don't know how the nurses, doctors and paramedics do it! And then when I read about or see the hassle gardai have to put up with and the dangers firefighters have to face.

Fair play to ya! :)

Firsty thanks for the question and recognition!

We do the job not because of the good pension after 30yrs, not because the pay will make us millionaires:rolleyes:, nor for the glory of being in the paper every week........we do the job because we like it. Nearly every member joined to help people (as corny as it sounds its true). Why else do we do it.

If I didnt enjoy the job I couldnt go in everyday. Its not like most jobs, if you dont like, sure it struggle on. You cant when working in an Emergency Service. The greatest reward of anyday is knowing that you helped someone in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

We do the job not because of the good pension after 30yrs, not because the pay will make us millionaires
    Speak for yourself.

I'm i it for the moneys and the honeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Firsty thanks for the question and recognition!

Of course! You guys are great!

I, myself like helping people and I'm going to study Physio this September (a safer option). :)

Is it the adrenaline rush? Did you know what you were getting yourself into before you joined? Like, did you do any work experience beforehand or did you just want to wear a cool uniform? These are questions I sometimes wonder about when I see a Garda about or ambos bringing in an elderly patient on a trolley flashing her boobs to everyone in A&E. :eek:

deadwood wrote: »
    Speak for yourself.

I'm i it for the moneys and the honeys.

Im really in it for the leathers!!! And of course the custom Traffic shades:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

this is a wind up.....isn't it?

ivabiggon wrote: »

Who? Me or them? I was trying to get honest answers.

Mustn't get strangers 'round these parts often. ;)

So back OT please, yes?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

I dont really like criminals, and i love catching them doing things in their lifestyle that earns them alot and i mean alot of easy money.

I very rarely have dealings with decent people, by that i mean people who work, dont get arrested very often and generally have respect for the police.

But hey its just the area i work in. I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

I know larianne - no windup.

I love the adrenaline rush of someone really sick getting more stable or getting dramatically better really quickly - and its all down to speed and seat of your pants stuff.

I think i come into my own during a crisis - my mind actually clears of everything and I just focus. I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Of course! You guys are great!

....... an elderly patient on a trolley flashing her boobs to everyone in A&E. :eek:

That's all the reason one could ever need. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

I think DrIndy has captured it in a nutshell.

It is tough sometimes but the satisfaction that you get at that moment when you know you have saved somebody is just unbelievable.
    There is no better feeling in my opinion, and I suppose it's also the ability that some people have in being able to focus completely on what is happening as DrIndy says. I find this such an experience and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 loadngo

Hi O.P

I didnt do work experience i am from a fimily of FireFighter/ Paramedics
    i followed in Dads foots steps to annoy him as i am his 'little girl' : )

I joined because i saw how happy my family members where although stressful no two days are ever the same no two shouts/ calls are every the same so there is no chance of boredom setting in of course job stability comes in to play but for me it was wanting to do something that when i woke up before work i was happy to go in im very lucky in that i enjoy what i do and the people i work with i really like.

I like dealing with people and think if you treat people how you would like your family to be treated if they where ever in the situation the patient/ caller is in you wont go too wrong and the feeling of helping someone gives great satisfaction :)

Thanks for the replies. I'd be interested in hearing from gardai as well.
    loadngo wrote: »
    I like dealing with people and think if you treat people how you would like your family to be treated if they where ever in the situation the patient/ caller is in you wont go too wrong and the feeling of helping someone gives great satisfaction :)

That's how I treat every patient I work with!

Thanks for the replies. I'd be interested in hearing from gardai as well.

You did.....myself and deadwood!!!!:D

Just wondering if that was directed at me, why would you think the question I was asking was a wind up?
    You did.....myself and deadwood!!!!:D
    Oh yeah, sorry! Got distracted by the leather pants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I joined the job because, i like to help people, and there's a rather large amount of satisfaction in catching someone in the act of doing something they shouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I joined the Gardai in the footsteps as my Dad and I wanted to help people as much as I can. Although some aspects of the job can be thankless, there are many aspects of the job where people are very thankful.

Some people might not realise that our job can cross over with that of other Emergency Services such as the time when I drove an ambulance to the nearest hospital while APs worked on a patient near death

or

when members from my station responded to a call of a 5yr girl who was suffering from severe breathing difficulties at home. The girl and her mother were bundled into the patrol car and taken to meet an ambulance halfway to the hospital

or

at a traffic collision two children had been taken to hospital by ambulance when Mum, who was 6 months pregnant, began to bleed out. There was no ambulance immediately available so the collision scene was abandoned and she was taken to hosipital by my colleagues.

I was fortunate enough to speak with the parents of the little girl and the pregnant woman shortly after each incident and to listen to their thanks and theirs tears makes my job deeply, deeply satisfying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

TheNog wrote: »
    Some people might not realise that our job can cross over with that of other Emergency Services such as the time when I drove an ambulance to the nearest hospital while APs worked on a patient near death
    It should be noted that this happens more often that you would think.
    Gardaí also will provide escorts when requested by Ambulance Service.

DrIndy wrote: »
    I know larianne - no windup.

I love the adrenaline rush of someone really sick getting more stable or getting dramatically better really quickly - and its all down to speed and seat of your pants stuff.

I think i come into my own during a crisis - my mind actually clears of everything and I just focus. I love it.

Tut tut, a doctor taking drugs...shame on you:p

I joined the gardai as I wanted a job that offers something different every day. I also want to help people, it sounds corny just reading that. And it feels good when you do help somebody and they say thanks because you don't expect it.

People in my district have time for the gardai which is good. When the fella's were arrested after the BOI tiger kidnapping / robbery I had people saying well done to me. (Saying well done to the force.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

We are all seeking the same thing i think - i just love that I can make a real and tangible difference to someone -whether it is allowing them to breathe, relieve their pain, pop their joint in or when the worst happens, talk to their family and try to give them solace.

I do have a lot of kudos to the AGS for lumping in when it comes to helping people (this may be going away from the original intention of the thread) who I have seen go the extra mile in helping people injured in an accident (indeed there was a story about a very sick baby who was probably only kept alive until reaching hospital by the constant bumbing of the garda car as it manoevured around traffic and stimulating it).

I love my job.

Why do you love yours?

DrIndy wrote: »
    We are all seeking the same thing i think - i just love that I can make a real and tangible difference to someone -whether it is allowing them to breathe, relieve their pain, pop their joint in or when the worst happens, talk to their family and try to give them solace.

Another drug reference. Are you sure you're a doctor?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I think a lot of us do it for the variety. EVERY day is different so its rarely boring. As for doing it to help people, I agree with that. It does sound corny but it either makes sense or not. Not everyone is cut out for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

or did you just want to wear a cool uniform?

LOL

donvito99 wrote: »
    LOL

What? I'm sure it got some of you interested in the service when you were young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭DFB BOY

What? I'm sure it got some of you interested in the service when you were young.

Well for me it was when i seen the lads respond to a house fire when i was 6,seeing them rescue two people from the fire did it for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

No, no. Its just reading what some Guards on Boards have to say about their current uniforms (and Paramedics), I doubt that they would be described as cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Being a copper so far is a great antidote to the boredom I've experienced in any other job I've done. The best part of it probably is that you have to think on your feet.

No two days are the same...last week I found myself giving a hand with clearing a fallen tree from a national road, interviewing someone for theft, collecting CCTV from a petrol station burglary, attending a suspected burglary in progress, assited with the aftermath of a collission ( fortunatly no injuries ), managing a traffic point at a public demo,.... . Not exactly the sort of stuff you do during a 9 to 5 day at the bank :).

On top of that the money isn't too bad and the boys and girls in work are sound as a pound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Rameses

definately not for the money. being able to help someone in a time of crisis is rewarding enough.........:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

donvito99 wrote: »
    No, no. Its just reading what some Guards on Boards have to say about their current uniforms (and Paramedics), I doubt that they would be described as cool.
    Coats that make ye sweat a couple of litres and nt even a pair ov practical combats......"an approachable service"