Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mosquitoes are pricks

• 22-07-2009 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭

Ok, so I can deal with them needing to feed on blood to survive, the malaria thing is a bit dickish. Their saliva has been pretty useful from a medical standpoint (not allowing the blood to clot and such) but why the sh*t do they feel the need to inject us with a little bit of poison that kicks in 20 minutes later and serves to annoy the sh*t out of us!? That just makes me far more likely to smash the **** out of one of them on sight.
    Bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Ted The Thread

Kold wrote: »
    Ok, so I can deal with them needing to feed on blood to survive, the malaria thing is a bit dickish. Their saliva has been pretty useful from a medical standpoint (not allowing the blood to clot and such) but why the sh*t do they feel the need to inject us with a little bit of poison that kicks in 20 minutes later and serves to annoy the sh*t out of us!? That just makes me far more likely to smash the **** out of one of them on sight.
    Bastards.

Sucked your blood and probably thought you were a

Can happen to the best of us, but not me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

What use have they actually got in nature? I'm in the worst place in Italy for them and usually have to kill 5 of the ***** every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

The worst is when they bite your eyelid, or penis.

Seriously mosquitos, why would you do that?

It's one benefit to being back in Ireland though - the absence of the little f**kers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Title made me lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

MikeC101 wrote: »

It's one benefit to being back in Ireland though - the absence of the little f**kers.

two things.

1. Penis????? :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:. ouch!

2. There are mosquito's in ireland. My house was invaded by them 2 years ago, maybe it had gotten too cold outside or something. You're just about to drift off to sleep when you hear this really high-pitched whine going by your ear and you turn on the lights. But coz you can only hear them when they're right up to you you have can't hear where it went and have to spend ages looking for it :mad:.

Normally i'm against killing insects, but mosquitos are different. My bedroom roof still contains many a squashed mosquito carcass.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    two things.

1. Penis????? :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:. ouch!

2. There are mosquito's in ireland. My house was invaded by them 2 years ago, maybe it had gotten too cold outside or something. You're just about to drift off to sleep when you hear this really high-pitched whine going by your ear and you turn on the lights. But coz you can only hear them when they're right up to you you have can't hear where it went and have to spend ages looking for it :mad:.

Normally i'm against killing insects, but mosquitos are different. My bedroom roof still contains many a squashed mosquito carcass.

The penis bite is horrible.

Or when they "trail" across you and leave a line of bites.

I didn't realise the feckers were here too. Thankfully I've never encountered them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Wagon wrote: »
    What use have they actually got in nature? I'm in the worst place in Italy for them and usually have to kill 5 of the ***** every night.

Let me introduce you to the forest preserves of Cook couty Illiinois, Wisconisn, the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and Minnesota.

All of the above could get away with using the mosquito as their State Bird.

Five in a night ??? LMFAO

it's only the female mosquitos that poison ya apparently.

So there.

edit: I just wiki'd this and I think I'm wrong, the females are the blood suckers though.

it's only the female mosquitos that poison ya apparently.

So there.

I remember someone saying it's only pregnant females that bite, as they need the blood for some reason. Reproductive reasons perhaps.

But I'm convinced they all bite. Just because they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

They give ya an excuse to have a gin and tonic if that's your bag though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

They always seem to go for certain people too. Whenever myself and my brother are at my Dad's place in France I get covered in bites, he never does. I still have bites on my legs and arse that I got 2 weeks ago in Denmark. Hate them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Just watched a 2 inch hornet try to get in my window, Mosquitos are small fry compared to those bad boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Nah, i hang around with some of em and theyre grand once you get to know them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Yep, I hate the bastards

here's why

link to a photo, don't click if you are easily offended

The biggest bastarding mozzies in Australia did that to me in the bush.

Fúcking arseholes

A hundred of these --> :mad: doesn't describe it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Stick a bit of Tiger balm on the sting, stops it itching.

Learnt that in thailand where the stuff is about a quid a pot. The white one is better.

Apparently a small pot of the stuff is over 12 quid here though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Dr_H_Lecter

MikeC101 wrote: »

hence the pubis

ball bag protection

whatever about the tallywhacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

Des wrote: »
    Yep, I hate the bastards

here's why

The biggest bastarding mozzies in Australia did that to me in the bush.

Fúcking arseholes

A hundred of these --> :mad: doesn't describe it
    Man that is terrible!! Bad out! Damn Mozzies...
    I wonder are they more evil in Australia because mozzies ryhme with aussies. I wouldnt like my name to rhyme with them :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 pelacho

The mosquitos we have in ireland are idiots. the only trick they have learned is the flying past your ear to let you know they are there one. But after that they dont have a clue what to do. i couldn't picture an irish one having the cop on if they were faced with trying to find a tiny hole in a mosqito net. i have shared space with some serious hard core trained devious ******* ***** of mosquitos. it'll be the future scumbag kids of the ones in ireland that will be a problem. probably around my retirement age :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Des wrote: »
    :eek: You're right...dodgy toenails!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Fugly

It is only the females of {reproducing age} that bite, the males never do. Annoying little feckers, but considering the risks, a bite on its own isn't that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Wagon wrote: »

You wouldn't happen to be in Pavia by any chance or in that general area? I lived there last year and they were fcuking rampant. There was nothing worse than coming home at night to find that I'd left the window open and hundreds of the little bastards buzzing around my room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

We have 20 breeds of mosquito in Ireland but haven't had malaria since 1600.

Apparently, Oliver Cromwell is the last person to have died of contracting malaria in Ireland. Probably a "good enough for the fecker" myth but he did die of malaria and malaria was wiped out around that time so it is possible that the myth is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭serjical_strike

these little bastards, im in chad at the moment and this country is unbelievable for mosquitos and its the bad maleria kind, they are everywhere im on duty now and they are annoying the ball bag off me and its not just them over here there are huge things flying around, a big dragonfly or whatever it is hit me in the head yesterday and it felt like someone threw a rock at my forhead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Have to say for the title alone this should be thread of the day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭myk

these little bastards, im in chad at the moment and this country is unbelievable for mosquitos and its the bad maleria kind, they are everywhere im on duty now and they are annoying the ball bag off me and its not just them over here there are huge things flying around, a big dragonfly or whatever it is hit me in the head yesterday and it felt like someone threw a rock at my forhead..

I'm next door in Sudan. They are here too. Levels of malaria risk differs in different parts of the country. Rainy season now, so there are quite a few of them around, but I found them worst in January/February.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Oh I've posted on this manys a time! I love all living things but if someone could wipe out the entire population of mosquitos I would sell my soul. Little bitey ****ers!!!!

The French mosquitos are cleverer than the Irish ones too...if I hear one buzzing near my ear then I know they've already gotten me.

Also it's a pain in the bum when you are living in a country that's hot, so you want to wear less clothes but you have so many mosquito bites that people nearly expect you to have an "unclean" sign around your neck!

Mosquito nets are great but of course that doesn't work when you are outside having a barbeque!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

carlop wrote: »
    You wouldn't happen to be in Pavia by any chance or in that general area? I lived there last year and they were fcuking rampant. There was nothing worse than coming home at night to find that I'd left the window open and hundreds of the little bastards buzzing around my room

Or The Veneto? The feckers used regularly carry me away and have their wicked way with me when I lived there.
    Best thing I have found for the bites is vinegar, ended up carrying a little bottle of it around with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭anti chris-t

I never knew that we had them in ireland. Is it only in certain parts of the country we get them as id imagine i would have heard about them from somebody by now if they were around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

We get them down the South East but I haven't seen any so far this year, I'm keeping a look out because oh gets destroyed, old bites he got in Africa come back to life if he gets a new one :eek:. Nice pic of the foot Des uugh

Last year around Aug/Sept they were swarming at my window at dusk, I actually remember seeing a few of them in November last year in the house thought that was strange. Smartarse in work said "oh they are only midges" so I got a few that managed to get into the house and brought them into work - they were exactly like the ones on wiki granted they were a bit smaller than the aussie monsters. I don't think I've ever been bitten by one though (thats it I'm fcuked now!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

I never knew that we had them in ireland. Is it only in certain parts of the country we get them as id imagine i would have heard about them from somebody by now if they were around?
    Seen plenty of the feckers in Clare last time I lived there for a few months 7 years ago, but that was the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

pelacho wrote: »
    The mosquitos we have in ireland are idiots. the only trick they have learned is the flying past your ear to let you know they are there one. But after that they dont have a clue what to do. i couldn't picture an irish one having the cop on if they were faced with trying to find a tiny hole in a mosqito net. i have shared space with some serious hard core trained devious ******* ***** of mosquitos. it'll be the future scumbag kids of the ones in ireland that will be a problem. probably around my retirement age :mad:
    The bees and wasps I've seen in British Colombia are retarded. They aren't the intimidating scumbags we have back home, the amount of times I've seen them flying in these weird patterns looking drunk and then dive-bombing into the pavement... and I laugh out loud every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Fugly wrote: »
    It is only the females of {reproducing age} that bite, the males never do. Annoying little feckers, but considering the risks, a bite on its own isn't that bad.

I wish human females were as attracted to me as these bastards are :D

****ers are eating me alive here.