Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Italy tips - Sardinia, Sorrento, Sicily, Lake Garda or Tuscany?

• 21-07-2009 8:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭

Looking for tips on Italy. I am looking to bring my girlfriend on a trip to Italy for a week in either the second or third week of August. I hear fantastic things about Tuscany, Lake Garda and Sorrento from people who have been to these places and come back raving about them. Plus I figure places like Sicily and Sardinia are pretty amazing to visit too!

Just looking to see which your no. 1 destination among the following is:

Sardinia
    Tuscany
    Sicily
    Sorrento
    Lake Garda

Any tips/guidance would be really appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I haven't been to any of those but I've been to Positano which is up the road from Sorrento (also my parents have been to Sorrento and said it's lovely). However they said Positano is nicer.

I've also been to Amalfi further up the coast (about 40 mins from Positano car journey) and it's beautiful there. I would definitely recommend Positano or Amalfi, I don't think any of the others could be nicer than the Amalfi coast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

tinkerbell wrote: »
    I haven't been to any of those but I've been to Positano which is up the road from Sorrento (also my parents have been to Sorrento and said it's lovely). However they said Positano is nicer.

I've also been to Amalfi further up the coast (about 40 mins from Positano car journey) and it's beautiful there. I would definitely recommend Positano or Amalfi, I don't think any of the others could be nicer than the Amalfi coast!

Cheers Tinkerbell, that would sound like just the ticket so will look at that too, seems like a beautiful town.

What time of the year did you visit there? Guess the one thing to think about is the head - could be a shade too hot mid Aug in Italy - I reckon it would be around 35C+...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭steamjetjoe

Sardinia gets my vote. Im just back, had a fantastic time. Perfect for couples and families. Ryanair fly there and its only a 15 min drive from the airport near Alghero. Go to the Sardinia forum on tripadvisor for some great local info:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

Hi Folks.

I'm hoping to honeymoon in Tuscany, then Amalfi then down to Sicily for a few days. :pac:

Just a quick query?

What parts of southern Itlay are dangerous?!? :eek:

I'm hearing a few ropey stories, mainly about Naples being thug central!!

But any other parts around the Almalfi kinda bogey?

Also Tinkerbell, you mentioned driving. I friend of mine drove around Tuscany no problem, but what about the Almafi coast, I heard its hair pin turns and steep cliffs the whole way :eek:

Thanks in advance Folks!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

Sorrento is beautiful but very expensive and a little too full of Irish and English tourists for me (you'll hear more English then Italian). That being said it's a lovely town with some great restaurants and super views. If you go try and stay up the hill on the South of town so you have a view back over the town and the bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background, stunning.

I have only been through Naples, but it is reputed to be a bit dangerous. However, it's also supposed to be great, you just have to watch yourself.

If you are in the Sorrento / Capri / Naples area and you've never been to Rome then you have to go. Rome is one of the most beautiful / romantic / historic / bowl you over placed in the world. Sounds a bit dramatic but you haven't really lived till you've been to Rome (actually way dramatic :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Board-in-work

There's 1 Irish bar in Sorrento - and it's very expensive!

I went Ryanair into Rome, then got the train down to Naples and then transferred to Sorrento. Direction is not my strong point - and I managed fine - easy trip to do! Once in Sorrento you can hire a car, and drive along the Almalfi coast. Sorrento is beautiful - and from there you can easilly arrange trips to Pompeii (short train journey) and Vesovious (cant spell that...). There is no beach in Sorrento tho.. (there is a small volcanic muddy beach and a man-made pier).....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

There's 1 Irish bar in Sorrento - and it's very expensive!

I went Ryanair into Rome, then got the train down to Naples and then transferred to Sorrento. Direction is not my strong point - and I managed fine - easy trip to do! Once in Sorrento you can hire a car, and drive along the Almalfi coast. Sorrento is beautiful - and from there you can easilly arrange trips to Pompeii (short train journey) and Vesovious (cant spell that...). There is no beach in Sorrento tho.. (there is a small volcanic muddy beach and a man-made pier).....

Sounds good. I am really leaning towards Sorrento now as it does seem pretty amazing. I guess the only thing is a lack of a beach but a hotel would have a pool so it's grand really.

The only real thing is the heat - it will be 35 - 40 degrees around the time we plan to go there (mid August). Do you think the heat would be a bit much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Sicily for me, one of my favourite places in Europe, great beaches, amazing food, cheap, feck all tourists once leave the main resort towns, rent a car and tour around, or jsut rent a villa near the beach somewhere.

Can be a bit quiet nightlife wise (ie none) but to chill out, its a great spot. I go around Syracusa and fly into Catania.