Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BrucePoker.com Live Tour: 23rd August, The Voodoo Casino, Dublin 7. €5K Gtd

• 21-07-2009 7:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

3479zwm.jpg

€5,000 Guaranteed
    100 + 20 reg
    Fully Dealer Dealt
    15k starting stack
    20 minute Blinds
    The Voodoo Casino, 39 Arran Quay,
    Dublin 7.
    Sunday 23rd August
    Reg @ 2:00pm, Start @ 3:00pm sharp
    Cash Games & S.T.T's provided

**New**
    Play heads up for free on BrucePoker.com at
    this event.
    Win 4 in a row
    and we will put $50 into
    your BrucePoker account
    1. Who is running the event: Bruce Poker.com

2. The purpose of the event: Commercial

3. Date and Location of event:
    The Voodoo Casino, 39 arran Quay, Dublin 7. Sunday 23rd August 2009

4. Registration and Start time of event:
    Reg @ 2:00pm, Start @ 3:00pm sharp

5. Any prerequisites: No

6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number: On the night or bought through any of the BruceBetting Shops nationwide, capped @ 200

7. Type of Tournament: Texas Holdem Freezeout

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc: Entry is €100 + €20

9. Cost of registration: €20

10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 100% entry fee payout, reg fee to cover dealers and costs

10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments: Optional entry to other events may be offered

11. Any guaranteed prize pool: 5K Guaranteed

12. Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels: 0

13. Starting Chips: 15,000

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts: 0

15. Blind levels:
    20 Minute Levels:
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400
    --Break-- Change up '25' chips300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    600-1200-100
    800-1600-100
    1000-2000-200
    1200-2400-300
    1500-3000-300
    --Break--Change up '100' chips
    2000-4000-500
    3000-6000-500
    4000-8000-500
    5000-10000-1000
    etc. as required and at the discretion of the tournament director and average stack kept within reason for as long as possible

16. Blind timeframes: 20 minutes throughout

17. Places being paid: Decided on the night, approx. 10 - 15% of field

18. Are there going to be dealers? Professional dealers on all tables

19. Will there be a documented list of rules: Yes

20. Is there a tournament director? Yes – Paul Smallwood

21. How are disputes handled - who has final say? TD

22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered:
    • Cash games available throughout tournament.
    • All levels catered for from €1/€2 upwards
    • Rake @ 5 % to a max of €20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭JamieCarra

€5,000 Guaranteed

11. Any guaranteed prize pool: No

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 mummy06

JamieCarra wrote: »
    ?

obviously 5k guaranteed
    stop been such a @kn nit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

JamieCarra wrote: »
    ?

Good input.... back in your box!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭BRUCEPOKER.COM

Changed accordingly.

Hope you haven't forgot about this game in the citys newest card club this weekend. Results are up for last weeks in Dunboyne, they can be found here. We got 50 runners and are hoping for a lot more this Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭VoodooCC

Looking forward to seeing as many people this Sunday for this €5k guaranteed event as possible. The club can be contacted on 01872918 with all details on www.voodoocardclub.com

We are bringing in some new bonus's for our live tour as from this sunday:
    **New**
    Play heads up for free on BrucePoker.com at this event.
    Win 2 in a row and we will put $10 into your BrucePoker account
    Win 3 in a row and we will put $50 into your BrucePoker account

**New**

Live Tour Events now have a scalp system
    For every player you knock out you get a scalp card.
    At the end of the night, for every scalp card you hand in,
    we will put $5 on your BrucePoker account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ferdyfish

are ye going to let your dealers play again if there is an overlay?
    a dealer won an event that i played in and i was told by another dealer playing that they both started after the 2nd level and no money was added for his entry obviously because of an overlay.
    So he played for free and told me the dealers were in for only 30% of possible winnings and are to give bruce 70%. so ye made back overlay with the dealers win in portlaoise.
    i thought this was a disgrace that ye let dealers play and anyone on the team because of the overlay, they dont add any money to the pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

ferdyfish wrote: »
    a dealer won an event that i played in and i was told by another dealer playing that they both started after the 2nd level and no money was added for his entry obviously because of an overlay.
    So he played for free and told me the dealers were in for only 30% of possible winnings and are to give bruce 70%. so ye made back overlay with the dealers win in portlaoise.
    i thought this was a disgrace that ye let dealers play and anyone on the team because of the overlay, they dont add any money to the pool.

Why is this a disgrace????? green joker put a load of people into there 6 max game a few months ago! one came second so they covered there gar.

If a game has a gar, they have effectly put that number of players into that tourny before it starts! therefore if they want to stake players in, and the game is run above board there should be no problem!

Edit: please put me down for this Philip Godkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

If Bruce put up a gaurantee and dont get the numbers to cover it then it is their right to put who they like into the tourney on whatever terms that they want . It shouldnt really concern you unless that the gauranteed amount of money wasnt paid out, Well was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

I Think this is fairly common practice I have heard about it recently on lots of occassions.

As has been said as long as its above board and the prizepool is 100% or the gaurantee which ever is higher organiser will stake players.

Its the summer, the ecomony is terrible and guarantees are a big risk so its a way for an organiser to cover themselves.

In saying that we havn't done it at the poker room as we dont usually offer large guarantees because we cant take big overlay hits, If we are doing something special like the main event we ran in July, We prefer to add prizes to create value but its a very competitive market and organisers do what they think best to bring in the most players.

I have played in 4 Bruce games and we hold their tour in our club once a month and as far as I have seen its above board and I know they have taken some overlay hits but in general its a good game that people like.

ah ya we all know it happens, the texts go out for pecentage buy ins, fair enough;
    but my point is that the dealers had already been dealing in the tournament and then taken off rotation to play. i didnt like that as the lad who won was the best dealer there and good dealers were taken off left the crap dealers.
    they shouldnt be allowed play after already dealing to players, it would be fine if they started playing at first level of tournie before they started the job of dealer at the event

Chris here. Our head of poker is away on business this week and will be back late next week. I'm guessing the game mentioned above is the game in the heritage hotel , Portlaoise on the 5th of July this year. In this tournament one of our dealers, Kenneth Ralph, came joint first. The winners list can be found here:
    http://www.brucepoker.com/?eventresults/heritage_hotel_portlaoise_5th_july

The amount of runners is not on the list but the 10k guarantee was not made and we obviously had more dealers then needed. I suspect that the dealers were asked if they would like to play or go home. As we were paying out the guaranteed prizepool we weren't going to pay the dealers for any hours that they weren't needed for too. Any dealers who played in the event made the decision themselves and were not taken off the tables.

Like I said Paul, who was TD on the night, is away this week but I will make sure I get confirmation of the details above in the next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭tensevensuited

ah ya we all know it happens, the texts go out for pecentage buy ins, fair enough;
    but my point is that the dealers had already been dealing in the tournament and then taken off rotation to play. i didnt like that as the lad who won was the best dealer there and good dealers were taken off left the crap dealers.
    they shouldnt be allowed play after already dealing to players, it would be fine if they started playing at first level of tournie before they started the job of dealer at the event
    you need to get ur facts right on this one.i played this game and ken was there2 work,ken did not start work on the day[he did not deal any cards].ken is a regular bruce player,if he is not working on the day.no problem with any company putting players into a game 2 cover costs as costs are so high.any decent player will always have a chance to cash in bruce games as they offer good structure games.u would have no problem with ken playing if he didnt cash.anyway no more problems like this as bruce have taken most guarantees away.

keith.

Live tour Freeroll tonight on BrucePoker.com at 8p.m. Just login and register

you need to get ur facts right on this one.i played this game and ken was there2 work,ken did not start work on the day[he did not deal any cards].ken is a regular bruce player,if he is not working on the day.no problem with any company putting players into a game 2 cover costs as costs are so high.any decent player will always have a chance to cash in bruce games as they offer good structure games.u would have no problem with ken playing if he didnt cash.anyway no more problems like this as bruce have taken most guarantees away.

keith.

tenseven, i have my facts right, sure i played and cashed myself.
    i thought kenneth was dealing before playing, you put doubt in my head now so not sure.
    but the other dealer that told me was in for 30% chop had dealt to me earlier i remember, they were working rotation that dealers changed at end of every level so i thought kenneth dealt one level too.
    you saying id have no problem if he hadnt cashed is untrue, i posted here to find out if dealers would be allowed play in next event, because i thought it is unfair had they already been working dealing at the event.

I wouldnt mind if they hadnt already been dealing to everyone already

tenseven, i have my facts right, sure i played and cashed myself.
    i thought kenneth was dealing before playing, you put doubt in my head now so not sure.
    but the other dealer that told me was in for 30% chop had dealt to me earlier i remember, they were working rotation that dealers changed at end of every level so i thought kenneth dealt one level too.
    you saying id have no problem if he hadnt cashed is untrue, i posted here to find out if dealers would be allowed play in next event, because i thought it is unfair had they already been working dealing at the event.

I wouldnt mind if they hadnt already been dealing to everyone already
    Would you mind if say the girl taking registrations was playing ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Live tour Freeroll tonight on BrucePoker.com at 8p.m. Just login and register

Just regged to play this but I can't log in, says invalid login name or password, but it ain't.

DAMO72 wrote: »
    Would you mind if say the girl taking registrations was playing ??
    no i wouldnt mind. i just said that if dealers were working as dealers, they shouldnt then stop dealing and join the tounament. thats what i said.
    tenseven said kenneth hadnt been dealing that day,i think he was for 1 or 2 levels but cant remember now.no problem with him cashing as tenseven said, good dealer, good player and a someone that i could have craic at the table with.
    all was good,good game nice, all friendly people on the bruceteam, just thought that as explained above would be unfair is all.

no i wouldnt mind. i just said that if dealers were working as dealers, they shouldnt then stop dealing and join the tounament. thats what i said.
    tenseven said kenneth hadnt been dealing that day,i think he was for 1 or 2 levels but cant remember now.no problem with him cashing as tenseven said, good dealer, good player and a someone that i could have craic at the table with.
    all was good,good game nice, all friendly people on the bruceteam, just thought that as explained above would be unfair is all.
    Such is life

Bump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

Think i will play this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Anyone up for this... Last longest maybe

Jayminator wrote: »
    Anyone up for this... Last longest maybe
    About to head in Jay,hope to see u there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭VoodooCC

The structure of today’s tournament has been changed from advertised, we have tweak the Bruce Tour's structure a little. The new structure introduces ante’s a little earlier to allow for smoother play. The adjusted structure was posted on the registration desk for all players to see before they bought in.

SB BB Ante
    25 50 0
    50 100 0
    100 200 0
    100 200 25 - 10 min break
    150 300 25
    200 400 50
    300 600 50
    400 800 75
    500 1000 100 - 15 min chip race break
    600 1200 100
    800 1600 200
    1000 2000 200 - 30 min Dinner Break
    1500 3000 300
    2000 4000 500
    3000 6000 500
    4000 8000 1000 - 15 min chip race break
    5000 10000 1000
    6000 12000 2000
    8000 16000 2000
    10000 20000 3000
    15000 30000 3000
    20000 40000 4000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Nick V

Whoopsey - looks like there's an overlay. 35 players at the moment with another 15 min of buy-ins permitted.

this was pure bingo. no play at all. It was my first time playing a Bruce event and unfortunately wont rush back due to silly bingo structure. Ya i know I knew the structure before hand bla bla bla but this was basically whoever ran good was the winner....

On a positive note, nice club and good luck to Willo and Eamonn and all involved.

Couldnt agree more Jay.Changing the structure than what was advertised is bad form so late on and i for one didnt see or was shown any notice. 15000 stack sounds great but a 7000 game with all levels and a 25/30 min blinds would play alot deeper than that. Dont think there was a need for antes that early if at all.
    On the other hand it was my first time in voodoo and wont be my last. Nice set up.Free internet,lovely tables,food was very nice and cheap. Just an all round nice atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

Jayminator wrote: »
    .... basically whoever ran good was the winner....

LOL. This is the way for me.

But can i ask. I know it was advertised as 20 minute blinds & not being there last night, were the blinds not progressive?

big_iain wrote: »
    LOL. This is the way for me.

But can i ask. I know it was advertised as 20 minute blinds & not being there last night, were the blinds not progressive?

No Iain the blinds were 20 minutes all the way. They extended the blinds with 14 players left to 25 minutes at the request of the players themselves. I really cant see what the rush was in trying to get this tourny over with. A smaller stack with better structure would have played just as well.

Who was responsible for the change , Bruce or the VDC??

Couldnt agree more Jay.Changing the structure than what was advertised is bad form so late on and i for one didnt see or was shown any notice. 15000 stack sounds great but a 7000 game with all levels and a 25/30 min blinds would play alot deeper than that. Dont think there was a need for antes that early if at all.
    On the other hand it was my first time in voodoo and wont be my last. Nice set up.Free internet,lovely tables,food was very nice and cheap. Just an all round nice atmosphere.

I am sorry if I didn't highlight the notice to you, it was placed on the registration desk and in fact it's still there and I'm just taking it down now. I did not take the decision to alter the advertised structure lightly but I feel that a structure that an ante structure should introduce them as early as possible as omitting them till later only leads to a tournament with a feeling of even faster progression.

The blind levels were extended in the later stages and I will recommend that this happens a little earlier in future (perhaps after the dinner break?) but for a €100 buy-in I think the structure was fair with the tournament taking 8-9 hours to play out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

The lads that are posting these comments regarding the structure are experienced tourney players who play at these buyin levels & higher.

With a smaller field you should possibly have abandoned the antes completely or extended the blinds to 25 mins or even progressively. Also why were some levels dropped? Why the rush to have it all over?

Changing the advertised structure on the day by means of a notice in the club is bad form IMO and I would have been annoyed if I'd gone in to play only for the goalposts to have been moved.

Bruce should decide on a structure for these tourneys and stick to it; there has been too much chopping & changing since the tour began and it's being reflected in the numbers.

Nobody wants a game that goes on till 8am the next morning but nobody wants a €100 game that's a crapshoot either with so much choice and so many games of a similar buyin with better structures.

tm2204 wrote: »
    The lads that are posting these comments regarding the structure are experienced tourney players who play at these buyin levels & higher.

With a smaller field you should possibly have abandoned the antes completely or extended the blinds to 25 mins or even progressively. Also why were some levels dropped? Why the rush to have it all over?

Changing the advertised structure on the day by means of a notice in the club is bad form IMO and I would have been annoyed if I'd gone in to play only for the goalposts to have been moved.

Bruce should decide on a structure for these tourneys and stick to it; there has been too much chopping & changing since the tour began and it's being reflected in the numbers.

Nobody wants a game that goes on till 8am the next morning but nobody wants a €100 game that's a crapshoot either with so much choice and so many games of a similar buyin with better structures.

I agree that changing the blind structure on the day of the tournament was regrettable but I did not feel happy with the advertised structure as I said above. Levels were not removed - the lack of 1200/2400 in the above post was a typo and it was played in the comp.

In the tricky art of tournament structuring it is always about trying to find the balance balance of play and urgency. As much as it is undesirable to change published structures it is also dangerous to tamper with structures during play I don't want to be accused of changing a structure to suit a particular player.

Progressive/variable blind levels are an option but I think that perhaps the perfect solution is to have a complete structure that changes depending on the number of players entered (as payout structures do)?

It was my fault that I did not examine the structure in any great detail before I entered. It was only during play that I realised this was gonna be complete bingo. As a consequence of that I had to change my play to suit the structure which meant basically ''all in or all in''...........

The structure allowed for no play at all in the later stages of the tourny and with 14/15 players left the average stack was less than 15 BB's so you are basically commited to any raises you make etc etc. At one point on the final table about 6 of the players had around 9 BB's.

Dont understand the rush to get this tourny finished. Structure needs to be changed. The 75 150 level was left out and other levels later on.

Im sure BrucePoker will take this feedback on board and settle on a structure
    for their tour that suits.

Jay

Thanks for the feedback guys. From now on all brucepoker live events will have 24 minute blinds throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

Thanks for the feedback guys. From now on all brucepoker live events will have 24 minute blinds throughout.

Thats a positive change Paul. 24 min levels, 15k starting stack, all levels left in & antes left as per advertised structure should make for a much better game.

I have not played any of these games myself yet but I will do. Organisers like JP, Luke, Larry & now yourself who listen to reasonable & sensible requests from players will always get the support off players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I've deleted the 5 6 other threads you started or bumped in here today... please don't spam the forum.

Feel Free to post up the info for the other events into this thread, and if you want just PM me and I'll edit the title to say whatever you want.

Please don't have basically the whole first page full with your events.

Ste05