Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 nights in Cork city?

• 21-07-2009 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I'm heading down to Cork city with the girlfriend on Friday for two nights and was wondering where are the best places to go?

For a meal we don't mind the cuisine just middle of the road prices would be good and then afterwords could anyone recommend a good bar, does'nt have to be packed to the rafters. Is An Brog any use?
    Also whats the best nightclub in the city.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to visiting Cork.
    PCros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

What ages are you and what type of music? If ye are 21/studenty and like loud music then the Bróg is a good choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

It's not a suitable place to speak however. You cannot hear yourself think usually and the drink is horrible in my opinion. Then again I've only drank in there latish in the evening. Maybe when crowds arn't there it's ok.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Webmonkey wrote: »
    It's not a suitable place to speak however. You cannot hear yourself think usually and the drink is horrible in my opinion. Then again I've only drank in there latish in the evening. Maybe when crowds arn't there it's ok.

Pints are rotten alrite,the old oak a few seconds down the same street from the brog is a nice bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭gccorcaigh

PCros wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I'm heading down to Cork city with the girlfriend on Friday for two nights and was wondering where are the best places to go?

For a meal we don't mind the cuisine just middle of the road prices would be good and then afterwords could anyone recommend a good bar, does'nt have to be packed to the rafters. Is An Brog any use?
    Also whats the best nightclub in the city.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to visiting Cork.
    PCros

Places to eat:
    Cafe Mexicana is a great place, the prices are good, great atmosphere.:D
    Soho has lovely food aswell, think the bar menu is cheaper than the restaurant.

Places to drink:
    The Classic is a great spot, really good atmosphere, and they have a cocktail bar inside the door. Nicer cocktails than the Long Island, without the big queue. The nightclub upstairs is brilliant, much better than the other Cork nightclubs (well in my opinion anyway)

Other good pubs:
    An Bodhran, Suas, Tom Barrys (for the beer-garden), The Castle Inn, Preachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Illkillya wrote: »
    What ages are you and what type of music? If ye are 21/studenty and like loud music then the Bróg is a good choice.

25 and into indie/rock but don't mind a mix of pop just as its not 100% teenie bop dance crap. I think I'll stay away from An Brog so if the scoops are rotten.

Thanks gccorcaigh I'll keep an eye out for those places, what streets are they on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

25 and into indie/rock but don't mind a mix of pop just as its not 100% teenie bop dance crap. I think I'll stay away from An Brog so if the scoops are rotten.

Thanks gccorcaigh I'll keep an eye out for those places, what streets are they on?

the scoops arent THAT bad.... there's always bottles or spirits or minerals and i think for craic it can be unparalelled..... but thats just me.... also near by is Il padrinos which is a lovely romantic but reasonably priced restaurant....

Oh I agree about Il Padrino, think thats on Cook Street, its a lovely restaurant.
    Cafe Mexicana is on Carey's Lane, which is off Patrick Street. Think they have a website. *I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant*
    Soho is on the Grand Parade, just by the corner at the start of Washington Street.
    The Classic is on South Main Street, which is the first right hand turn if you walk up Washington Street (if you're coming from Patrick St or Grand Parade). *again, I HIGHLY recommend this bar/nightclub*
    Suas is also on South Main Street, its above Captain Americas and Wagamama, right next to the Classic.
    The Castle Inn is right across from the Classic, there is a pub next door to it called the Raven, thats also a good spot (that whole street is good, as there are so many good bars right by eachother).
    Preachers is on Washington Street, on the left hand side as you walk up from Patrick Street or Grand Parade.
    An Bodhran is on Oliver Plunkett Street.
    Tom Barrys is on Barrick Street.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

all_smilz wrote: »
    the scoops arent THAT bad.... there's always bottles or spirits or minerals and i think for craic it can be unparalelled.

They're bloody awful, the pipes aren't cleaned in the place anywhere near often enough. Nobody who's ever been daft enough to have a pint of Murphy's in the Brog would make that mistake twice, for example. The "tastes like horse piss" lagers may not taste any different than usual, but that's more down to them being awful muck to begin with.

You could do a lot worse than the Bodega on Cornmarket street, it's been done up recently and is really nice. Suas is nice in the afternoon or early evening on fine days, the balcony is nice for sitting out. Tends to get a bit crowded later on though. The same goes for the Mutton Lane Inn - a great place (if a little cosy for space) and generally pretty good music too, but gets busy fairly fast so head in early if at all. The Crane Lane is another good one, it's a big place but popular enough that it'll still feel jammers. The Hi-B is a nice smaller bar for getting away from crowds if you want a quieter couple of drinks and a chance to chat. If you're looking for a great micro-brewery with a beer garden, get yourself along to the Franciscan Well. It's a bit of a walk to get there, but you can stop in at the Bierhaus along the way.

Have a look at the map here, it's got all the pubs marked so you can plan your way around the place.

In terms of food, there's a gourmet burger place after opening on Bridge street that's good as well, pretty much the polar opposite of what you get in Burger King or McD's. If Banna Thai is still on Maylor St. it's worth bearing in mind, decent and affordable Thai grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Fysh wrote: »
    They're bloody awful, the pipes aren't cleaned in the place anywhere near often enough. Nobody who's ever been daft enough to have a pint of Murphy's in the Brog would make that mistake twice, for example. The "tastes like horse piss" lagers may not taste any different than usual, but that's more down to them being awful muck to begin with.

You could do a lot worse than the Bodega on Cornmarket street, it's been done up recently and is really nice. Suas is nice in the afternoon or early evening on fine days, the balcony is nice for sitting out. Tends to get a bit crowded later on though. The same goes for the Mutton Lane Inn - a great place (if a little cosy for space) and generally pretty good music too, but gets busy fairly fast so head in early if at all. The Crane Lane is another good one, it's a big place but popular enough that it'll still feel jammers. The Hi-B is a nice smaller bar for getting away from crowds if you want a quieter couple of drinks and a chance to chat. If you're looking for a great micro-brewery with a beer garden, get yourself along to the Franciscan Well. It's a bit of a walk to get there, but you can stop in at the Bierhaus along the way.

Have a look at the map here, it's got all the pubs marked so you can plan your way around the place.

In terms of food, there's a gourmet burger place after opening on Bridge street that's good as well, pretty much the polar opposite of what you get in Burger King or McD's. If Banna Thai is still on Maylor St. it's worth bearing in mind, decent and affordable Thai grub.

Good summary here, I'll second most of that. Another decent pub along those lines I would say is The Oval. Food wise, you have a few choices but it depends on what you mean by middle of the road prices... I'd say Market Lane is a good bet if you're in the Oliver Plunk area, you can get a beer there too. On the side of Patrick St., there is a Cafe Bar Deli similar to the ones in Dublin, which does the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭shnaek

If you're into indie/rock then pop in to the Crane lane on Friday. It's usually pretty packed alright, but there tends to be a DJ there playing decent tunes in the back.
    Mutton Lane is always a good spot for pints and tunes. As is the Oval. Tom Barry's is a great spot too. Check out The Franciscan Well if you like brew-houses. They have a nice beer garden too, and usually a good crowd.
    As for food - Amicus is a good spot for choice, and inexpensive too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

The Bodega I would say.
    Cornmarket next door for dinner.
    Have a pint outside the Raven and The Roundy if it's sunny.

Stay away from the Brog. Smelly pints and smelly in general.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

kcb wrote: »
    Stay away from the Brog. Smelly pints and smelly in general.

I'd forgotten about the smell, but it was the most distinctive impact I noticed when the smoking ban came into effect - the stench in the Brog (like mouldy piss-soaked carpets or something) was something unreal. Can't imagine it's much better now, but it doesn't seem to stop people from flocking there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

Fysh wrote: »
    it doesn't seem to stop people from flocking there...

At the risk of opening up a can of worms (!) a lot of the people that go there wouldn't worry about smells anyway I'd say!

Have to say fair play to you all for the advice on where to go and where not to go. :)

I shall enjoy it, hopefully the sun will make an appearance......

Thanks again!

Have a good one, come back and let us know how you get on :)

Well got back last night, had a great time. We stayed in the Clarion so it was handy to be in walking distance of everywhere.
    On Friday night we went to Milanos, don't know why we did coz theres aload of them in Dublin and I'm not a fan, this was no different, great pizza but the service is rubbish. So after that we headed to Soho and had one or two, pretty good place then went on to The Classic, we had a good time here, we got a booth and ended up buying a cocktail off the cocktail girl. Love that picture of Paul McCartney in Cork Airport in the booth we were sitting in.

On the Saturday we went out to Foto Island to try get rid of the hangover. For the evening we ate at the Boardwalk beside the Clarion, we got the fillet steak and I have to say its the nicest steak I have EVER tasted, a bit stingy on the veg though. We had a few there around the back in RSVP I think.
    After that we ended up in Long Island and it was jammers so we left after a bit and we were going to find another bar around town but the weather was dreadful so we went back to Kudos in the hotel and finished out the night there, lovely bar for a quiet one.

Would love to go down again prob in September or so, we flew with Ryanair which cost us €90 return and the flight was 30 mins, don't know why people bother with the train when its about €120 with a 3 hour journey.

Thanks all for your replies!:)

So after that we headed to Soho and had one or two, pretty good place then went on to The Classic, we had a good time here, we got a booth and ended up buying a cocktail off the cocktail girl. Love that picture of Paul McCartney in Cork Airport in the booth we were sitting in.

Delighted you liked the Classic!! :)