Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A girls opinion on a guys hairstyle

• 19-07-2009 8:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭

I'm a guy aged 23 and I've always had the same look, hair, short back and sides etc! Anyways over the last few weeks I've been going for a new look, new clothes and all that. I have let my hair grow because I want a new hairstyle, something stylish but conservative! Maybe something like this http://evilbeetgossip.film.com/wp-co...e_crawford.jpg but I'd like other ideas aswell, just nothing OTT! I posting this in the ladies lounge as I would like a female opinion on guys hairstyles.

(pics or links of hairstyles would be great aswell!)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Just one female opinion, or would you like a few of them?

Seriously, we're not a hivemind. We all like different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

If you want to look like Chace Crawford, that's fine with me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

That kind of hairstyle is 10 a penny nowadays OP.Seriously,I was out for a few beers last night and every second bloke from late teens to mid 20s looked the same.

Go to a hairdresser/barber and just tell them you want something different and let the chips fall where they may.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

nedtheshed wrote: »
    That kind of hairstyle is 10 a penny nowadays OP.Seriously,I was out for a few beers last night and every second bloke from late teens to mid 20s looked the same.

Go to a hairdresser/barber and just tell them you want something different and let the chips fall where they may.

See, you could probably do that in a barbers.

If I went to a hairdressers and asked for something different, I'd end up like Sinead O'Connor or something.

Anyway, from what I've learned, if you're a bloke and walk into a hairdresser's with a pic, they go 'Ah right so' and give you a short back and sides and a 3 on top regardless.

Feckers :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Fat 9 Inch Cock

juma wrote: »
    I'm a guy aged 23 and I've always had the same look, hair, short back and sides etc! Anyways over the last few weeks I've been going for a new look, new clothes and all that. I have let my hair grow because I want a new hairstyle, something stylish but conservative! Maybe something like this http://evilbeetgossip.film.com/wp-co...e_crawford.jpg but I'd like other ideas aswell, just nothing OTT! I posting this in the ladies lounge as I would like a female opinion on guys hairstyles.

(pics or links of hairstyles would be great aswell!)

Check the shape of your face and then your nose and eyes before you use just a picture of someone you would want to look like. Find a structure similar to yours and use that. If the picture you used is very like you then any hairdresser worth his salt should be ok doing that style. it is getting a bit dated though.

L.

J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Check the shape of your face and then your nose and eyes before you use just a picture of someone you would want to look like. Find a structure similar to yours and use that. If the picture you used is very like you then any hairdresser worth his salt should be ok doing that style. it is getting a bit dated though.

L.

J.

What a username!:eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Silverfish wrote: »

If I went to a hairdressers and asked for something different, I'd end up like Sinead O'Connor or something.

Anyway, from what I've learned, if you're a bloke and walk into a hairdresser's with a pic, they go 'Ah right so' and give you a short back and sides and a 3 on top regardless.

Nah for my last haircut the ex missus wanted my hair to look like some guy from greys anatomy so we brought in a pic to Peter Mark, and to be fair they copied it exactly. But it was expensive business! Just gotta pick where you go, it's so rare to get a good haircut as a man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Nah for my last haircut the ex missus wanted my hair to look like some guy from greys anatomy so we brought in a pic to Peter Mark, and to be fair they copied it exactly. But it was expensive business! Just gotta pick where you go, it's so rare to get a good haircut as a man...
    Which is why the razors easier.And suits more fellas a lot more then fringe attacks and mohawk thingys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

If my girlfriend ever told me to get my haircut like some celebrity i wouldn't be too happy.

I certainly wouldn't do it!

But i'm also considering changing my hair, i just have no ideas as to how i want it to look!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Silverfish wrote: »

Lol.

Ive never haev nor would I ever bring a picture into a hair dressers and say I want to look like that.It just seems,wrong.

I guess thats a big advantage of being a bloke.Even if they make an absolute haims of it we can just shave it off and get away with it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Which is why the razors easier.And suits more fellas a lot more then fringe attacks and mohawk thingys

Might be grand for you, but I like longish hair. Looked like a knack when I used to go for razors. :p

Which is why the original poster has to be honest with himself. No point in wreaking a hairdressers head asking someone to make a prince out of a pigs ear. Best to be honest with himself and take it from there?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    What a username!:eek:

sorry :o:o:o:o

MrStuffins wrote: »
    If my girlfriend ever told me to get my haircut like some celebrity i wouldn't be too happy.

I certainly wouldn't do it!

But i'm also considering changing my hair, i just have no ideas as to how i want it to look!

Well I have no problem if I like the haircut and it made her happy or w/e.

I wouldn't suggest doing it if you didn't like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Might be grand for you, but I like longish hair. Looked like a knack when I used to go for razors. :p
    Apparently I look like a nazi but I dont care :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I'm sure plenty of girls out there like the styled metrosexual look ... personally I prefer the "short back and sides, couldn't give a crap, rugged manly type" look ... everyone's different! No harm trying that kind of thing out, and you can always get it cut again. Go for what you like, not what girls will like, coz we all like different styles!