Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow Performance

• 18-07-2009 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭

Awesome stuff by Wicklow

Grabbed it at the death.

Congrats to all those involved with Wicklow GAA and fair play to Micko:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Great Stuff ... days like that stay with you forever, well done to all in Wicklow....enjoy the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

One game away from a quarter final place. They have had some high quality players through the years but have always fallen down due to internal fighting etc. Well done to Wicklow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Massive massive win for Wiclow in the most dramatic way possible. Absolutely delighted for them. Mick O' Dwyer what an absolute legend. There can be no doubt that that man is the greatest football bainisteoir of all time.

You just KNOW they're going to get his home county Kerry in the next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

no work in wicklow tomorrow! :D

neutral venues next round, be interesting to see who they get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 YOUNGGUN

Congrats to the Wicklow team, great victory. Thought the ref was a wee bit unfair to the Down players with some of the frees he gave against them. The 45 at the end should'nt really have been allowed. Having said that, great to see wicklow and micko winning a tight hard fought game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

have to admit i didnt see the whole game, but down had 3 kicks with the wind at their backs to take it

well done anyway. great for leinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

YOUNGGUN wrote: »
    Congrats to the Wicklow team, great victory. Thought the ref was a wee bit unfair to the Down players with some of the frees he gave against them. The 45 at the end should'nt really have been allowed. Having said that, great to see wicklow and micko winning a tight hard fought game.

I thought one of Down's scores in the second half was very questionable - the one that curled over the top left post (can't remember who kicked it)
    Didnt think it was a point initally and from the TV replay (admittedly not from a great angle) still thought it looked more wide than over.

Combined with the Wicklow player going for goal instead of tapping over for the point at the end :eek: I think Down had enough chances to win it and overall the better side on the day did.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

great win for Wicklow, best championship ever for them, anything from today on was a bonus for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭tennessee time

what a game,had everything, underdog winning, the micko factor, seemed like the crowd were really up for it too... very enjoyable match and great spectacle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

draffodx wrote: »
    no work in wicklow tomorrow! :D

neutral venues next round, be interesting to see who they get
    Well its Sunday so i'd say most people aren't working tbh.

G'wan Wicklow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

copacetic wrote: »
    great win for Wicklow, best championship ever for them, anything from today on was a bonus for them.

I think that long-term probably the best thing for Wicklow is the number of competitive Championship games they have got under their belt already this year.

Games like this are invalvuable for side a like Wicklow especially in the context of moving up the pecking order and getting out of Division 4.

CHD wrote: »

G'wan Wicklow!

Even the parish priests will be locked bai!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Congratz Wicklow, great win. Had the last 45 missed, the guy who went for goal instead of the easy point would have been shot id say but he was saved :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

Drinks tonight anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Well done to Wicklow. They are great GAA supporters and deserve their current run of success. No reason that they can't reach the quarter finals with their current form. Enjoy the night Wicklow fans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

G'wan Wicklow!

haha I thought today was sunday when i was posting! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

That was a good win but Down should have won IMO. Dan Gordon was great in midfield and Glynn was in good form too.

It was a great thing to see the ground erupt after the final whistle. Fair play but ye will be the team I would want in the 3rd round.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

flahavaj wrote: »
    Even the parish priests will be locked bai!
    We don't speak like we are from Kerry :)

Waterford actually.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

F*cking hell! what a finish to a game

am in the UK , just back from the pub - myself and one other WW punter the only two Wicklow lads in the place - was quiet enough in there but we were going mental!

I've been to plenty of league losses and Tommmy Murphy games in past years, not to mention the long years without any championship victory - sometimes even scoring a point in the championship felt like a mini-victory - things were that bad - but we always had good players and always felt the potential was there - so again fair play to Micko for bringing it out - the man really is unbelievable

am delighted for the lads - I agree, Down deserved to win it - missed some costly wides towards the end - thought it was a soft free to give them the chance to win it with 90 seconds left in injury time and can't believe it didn't go over

also I can't believe he went for goal down the other end :eek: - I was so pissed off - I forgot there was even going to be a 45 - I was going ballistic in the pub

and then for Tony Hannon to step up, especially after all he missed against Westmeath - I was so depressed after that I still haven't even read a match report of it - well fair play to him :)

I think anything after beating Longford in the first round would have been a bonus for Wicklow - and now (ok, the draws have been kind to us for once) we're in the last 12 - unbelievable :) there'll be a pint or two had later on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Great win and performance today. Im both hoarse and deaf after that. Should be a good night tonight:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Great result for sport. Just shows what can be done when you get 30 lads who really want to win. Down I think would beat Wicklow 8 out of 10 times but they were outfought and outplayed for long periods. Wicklow deserve this. What a kick to win a match.

Great reward for people who run the game in Wicklow. Hugh Kenny should have plenty of offers to help with coaching kids now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Maybe that Vodafone add will come through in the next round

15 seconds in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Scallion 'ater

The fact that Micko has recruited an outsider from Carlow who is not from Wicklow, doesn't live there, has never lived there, doesn't work there, has never worked there, and has no connection whatsoever with the county takes a lot of the gloss off their success.

If Fermanagh, who have a serious shortage of scoring forwards, had enticed a quality forward from say Derry or Tyrone to boost their firepower they may well have beaten Wicklow in round one of the qualifiers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

The fact that Micko has recruited an outsider from Carlow who is not from Wicklow, doesn't live there, has never lived there, doesn't work there, has never worked there, and has no connection whatsoever with the county takes a lot of the gloss off their success.

If Fermanagh, who have a serious shortage of scoring forwards, had enticed a quality forward from say Derry or Tyrone to boost their firepower they may well have beaten Wicklow in round one of the qualifiers?

i sense some sour grapes!!...in fairness he's hardly there best player!...and you wudnt forgive him not wanting to play with carlow i mean there the 31st best team in ireland(just ahead of the cats football wise)