Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Curses, feck, sh!t, etc

• 18-07-2009 3:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭

For the males of AH; do curse words bother you?

Personally if I meet a girl and she "F's" and blinds out of her I am immediately turned off. Do you feel the same?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It's not an attractive trait in either sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

id be very surprised if any of the girls i seem to end up unvolved with know the word feck!

but cursing.. nah wouldnt bother me unless they do it too much, or are using it to sound 'cool'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I find ridiculous gender stereotypes more offensive than swearwords tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

my lack is always cursing. I find it hilarious cos she is only 5 foot feck. Really funny seeing little angry people.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

orestes wrote: »
    I find ridiculous gender stereotypes more offensive than swearwords tbh

Stereotypes aren't offensive, dangerous minorities are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Feck isn't a curse tbh.

On the other hand, fuck is......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

Lads, every second word out of my mouth is like f**k,.....makes sense....wouldn#t be normal if i didn't YAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭khmk

Don't like any woman speaking with her mouth full tbh.

renraw wrote: »
    Lads, every second word out of my mouth is like f**k,.....makes sense....wouldn#t be normal if i didn't YAY
    Do you finish every post with 'YAY'? I suppose it's quite uplifting.
    khmk wrote:
    Don't like any woman speaking with her mouth full tbh. Don't like any woman speaking with her mouth full tbh.
    I wouldn't worry about it happening to you mate. :pac:

Oh I notice my post above this one was my 28, 000th, and it is getting sweet precious thanks, elixor of life. Haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

YAY

I think you'll find she's non-refundable foo,

I can inflate her ego at the drop of a hat.

Oh I notice my post above this one was my 28, 000th, and it is getting sweet precious thanks, elixor of life. Haha[/quote]

how about being pro-life and replying to a post Mr Mod or do you not do overtime?

the g/friend is scratching to go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Ivicia

I try to curb it tis not nice to hear.

My mate worked in London and at a very frustrating meeting he said "feck sake lads we need to....".

Everyone looked on in shock and the manager said "John there's no need for that type of language". He considered himself as someone who didn't swear ... and he doesn't, feck is the size of it.

Ever watch the Wire OMG every second word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

....makes notes.....
    cuntenprick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Seraphicblue

I thought this was a list of curses and insults we use
    *is dissapointed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I think cursing is awesome. When I hear a person curse it makes me think they're independent and angry, which are very sexy traits.

Depends on how the cursing is pulled off though, and it can sometimes be bad, especially with girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

TheZohan wrote: »

Personally if I meet a girl and she "F's" and blinds out of her I am immediately turned off. Do you feel the same?

i'll have to throw a +1 to that sentiment, it stems from the strict upbringing and it stands that now i just can't stand the use of such expletives (although i'm prone to the odd outburst during the heat of battle on the pitch - hypocritical point no.1)

missusTeal is very susceptible to a vivid exclamation when provoked. . .but she is in a very stressful line of work and she assures me that it's never intentionally directed at me. . .poor patients :o . . .but she's really hot so i have to let her away with it (you can take the girl out of Blanch and all that. . .)

(hypocritical point no.2) now lads, you know very well, when certain expletives are announced in certain intimate situations. . .do i really need to finish? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

TheZohan wrote: »

no i dont find it offensive,if shes going to be that lose with her mouth think what she'll be like with her *****.Its all about the *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

It depends on who's saying it - accent, etc.

Sometimes it's just rough, other times I don't mind at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

JIZZUM

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i hate the aul cursing, but cant stop myself from doing it either :(

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Fajitas! wrote: »
    It depends on who's saying it - accent, etc.

Sometimes it's just rough, other times I don't mind at all.

Younger kids cursing can be sometimes funny but at other times mildly disturbing.

While not strictly a curse in the general sense of it I was once called a "huirs abortion" by a 5 year old nephew. Way too young for that - not that there's a right age for that either mind you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

JIZZUM

That made me laugh, a lot. Thank you for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

there just words, who cares, only snobby posh c*nts think theres a problem with it