Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

boxing novices

• 17-07-2009 6:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

im 26 interested in competing in boxing. No experience. Firstly looking for a good club in the tallaght area? Secondly is there a scene/competion for novices, i know there is the intermediates but i believe this of high standards? IF there is such as novices competition when is it and did I miss the boat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Yeah the novices are usually held around the end of October early November...........all clubs around the tallaght.........Golden Cobra & Westside are the ones of the top of me head........check the stickies for contact numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Rodgrigez

Thanks man might give the golden cobra a go. Cant imagine many enter the Novices these days with so many people doing MMA, its on the increase bit sytle. Would my asumsion be correct + can anyone give me an idea of the standard of the Novices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

havent a clue about the standard, theres a club called st marys at the shops beside st dominics shops, just off the old bawn road, in at milbrook lawns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Standard? A novice is someone with 5 fights or less. There isnt really a standard. I know boys boxing for years who just started entering the ring, rare though imo. In my experience (boxin for a year befor entering the ring), i found it grand. I had good bit of experience. But it is more way energy drainin than sparring. By all means go for it and join. The level of fitness and health you'l feel is incredible. The feeling of jumping on the ropes and screaming wit joy after your first win is a bonus. Enjoy it, iv lost controversial fights and funnily enough stil enjoyed a chat wit opponent. Go for it lad and have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

the novices can sometimes have lads who have more than 5 fights all they have to do is produce a fight card with less than five fights, so be prepared. Also you can always get an eastern european who has more than 5 fights but has less than 5 on his irsh card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

c1979 wrote: »
    the novices can sometimes have lads who have more than 5 fights all they have to do is produce a fight card with less than five fights, so be prepared. Also you can always get an eastern european who has more than 5 fights but has less than 5 on his irsh card.

That is not the norm and no club i know would allow this assuming they where aware of it..

ps, the difference between novice and pro is massive, absolutely massive so dont compare the 2..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

cowzerp wrote: »
    That is not the norm and no club i know would allow this assuming they where aware of it..

I know a number of people fomm different clubs who have done this over the last 10 years. Maybe the clubs weren't aware though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭pjbrady1

The more experienced boxers on here might know this. Isn't there an unwritten rule in the novices that the different clubs don't match guys in fights where they'd be way out of their depth due to fitness or skills.
    So a gangly guy with average reflexes is not dropped in against an Irish Tyson who just took up the sport?
    Personally I have good stamina, reasonable power and a good chin (never been dazed by numerous strong blows from different incidents, cycled jaw first into a car once and got straight up, got punched to the ground in GAA and got straight up). Considering joining a club and going for the novices but part o me conscious that I don't want to get owned in sparring or first fight. Think maybe a visit to the next night in the national stadium will make up my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Boxerguy000

Mediocre boxer due, 53, 6', roughly 175lbs, average build. I enjoy gloving up and exchanging punches, full contact, prefer dudes my weight and height, age open to anyone interested in boxing me. Milwaukee, Wisconsin.;)

A good bit of info on the novices, thanks lads.

In my quest to find a club in rang a couple of numbers on the contact list, think some may need to be updated anyway I wont say which club but they didn't seem keen on talking someone such as myself. His attitude was pony. when i told him my age he was
    like your too old, kinda making laugh outta of it I felt. He said come down when we start
    back in september. Yeah right. What a dick...

The club I gave a go, again I wont mention but siad when I told him my age, said doesn't matter we take people on merit. Plus they train during the summer.

I realise a lot of clubs wanna focus on kids but in fairness how kids that walk through the door are gonna win world titles or gold medals even nationals titles percentage wise not many. My points is take everyone equal regardless of age and your man from this club was a dick....

Rodgrigez wrote: »
    A good bit of info on the novices, thanks lads.

In my quest to find a club in rang a couple of numbers on the contact list, think some may need to be updated anyway I wont say which club but they didn't seem keen on talking someone such as myself. His attitude was pony. when i told him my age he was
    like your too old, kinda making laugh outta of it I felt. He said come down when we start
    back in september. Yeah right. What a dick...

The club I gave a go, again I wont mention but siad when I told him my age, said doesn't matter we take people on merit. Plus they train during the summer.

I realise a lot of clubs wanna focus on kids but in fairness how kids that walk through the door are gonna win world titles or gold medals even nationals titles percentage wise not many. My points is take everyone equal regardless of age and your man from this club was a dick....

Age shouldn't matter as long as both fighters agree to the terms and rules previous to the bout. I have fought dudes 30 years younger than myself and held my own.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Thanks man might give the golden cobra a go. Cant imagine many enter the Novices these days... Would my asumsion be correct + can anyone give me an idea of the standard of the Novices?

About 4 - 6 seniors going for the novices from my club going for novices this year, don't know about other clubs. Standard wise, id train for a year before entering, you don't have to but thats roughly about the standard.
    pjbrady1 wrote: »
    Isn't there an unwritten rule in the novices that the different clubs don't match guys in fights where they'd be way out of their depth due to fitness or skills.

For off the card fights yes, not for the novices, its just like a competition but you'll have roughly the same experience as the other fighters and you will weigh the same, you may be a little better or worse but you fight who your drawn against.
    Considering joining a club and going for the novices but part o me conscious that I don't want to get owned in sparring or first fight.

You will be sparring someone of similar experience and these people won't be going out to hurt you. Before I joined a club I felt it would probably be full of scum and I could get a slap afterwards if I hit someone a bit too hard, it's not like that at all, the lads ye spar all have respect for one another and i've never got the impression anyone was out to get me. You'll be grand.
    By the time your first fight comes around you'll be ready and fighting someone in a similar situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭itouchmyself

colly10 wrote: »
    About 4 - 6 seniors going for the novices from my club going for novices this year, don't know about other clubs.

Not been smart but 4-6 Seniors are NOT going to the novices in your club...

Abviously you mean older lads and not Seniors?????????

Thats like saying 4-6 Premiership players are playing for a Conference team next year.

Senior Boxing is a HELL off a difference to novices :pac:

OP get into a club and train first then worry about entering a competition, Golden Cobra would be the more successful off the Tallaght clubs that I can think off and first into my head when mention Tallaght..
    And Dont mind the whole ul be sparring people equal to you, maybe abit off the time yes but rest off the time you maybe thrown in with people a hell off a lot better than you... but dont worry there there to bring you on and wont hurt you as know the story :D

Just join a club first anyway before, talking about competitions!!!!!!!!!!

The more experienced boxers on here might know this. Isn't there an unwritten rule in the novices that the different clubs don't match guys in fights where they'd be way out of their depth due to fitness or skills.
    So a gangly guy with average reflexes is not dropped in against an Irish Tyson who just took up the sport?

Never heard of this unwritten rule, once both are Boxing novices its fair game, anytime i've been to watch they where all genuine novices..

The coaches who teach Boxing dont get payed and there satisfaction is trying to make champions, Adults offer nothing to a boxing club unless there been charged proper money, most clubs fee's are so low that you would literally be in the way as there not even making money out of you, most clubs are full and the last thing they need is adults who offer nothing but fighting in the novices.

Im not having a go about beginner adults Boxing but just explaining why you should not have a go at the coaches when they have different priorities, if you find a club who can accomadate you then great, go for it, the club i boxed for would be too full for you and it would be nothing personal.

Age shouldn't matter as long as both fighters agree to the terms and rules previous to the bout. I have fought dudes 30 years younger than myself and held my own.:rolleyes:
    Anyone who talks crap probably can't back up his words. If someone talked crap to me I would probably ignore him or tell him to glove up and back up his words. Why wait for the chicken to show up on an agreed date and then end up turning around and going home because he didn't have the courage to stand behind his words.:rolleyes:

so when you where 40 you held your own with 10 year olds! well done, otherwise you did not fight but sparred as you would of been too old to fight.

Very funny, you should not be so vindictive, what's wrong with fighting someone younger?, I fight dudes over 21 and up to my age, I box and do pretty well for a dude my age.A 54 can box just as well as some 20 year old's if they are in shape and keep physically fit.:mad:

well your not allowed to box at that age so i think your telling porkies

your obviously talking about sparring

well your not allowed to box at that age so i think your telling porkies

your obviously talking about sparring
    Well obviously I am wrong then, I guess when I box in bar competitions and at the gyms I frequent then I am only imagining that I am boxing. I must just be putting on the gloves and hitting some punch mitts and not my opponents. There are no rules here in my state saying that I cannot box!:confused:

your doing toughman comps then, there not boxing comps and not in ireland anyway.
    Age shouldn't matter as long as both fighters agree to the terms and rules previous to the bout. I have fought dudes 30 years younger than myself and held my own.

34 is the max age for boxing set out by the world boxing association-same in all countries, your funny though!!!!!

i dont make the rules, age does matter unfortunately

your doing toughman comps then, there not boxing comps and not in ireland anyway.

34 is the max age for boxing set out by the world boxing association-same in all countries, your funny though!!!!!

i dont make the rules, age does matter unfortunately
    Toughman or not, it's still boxing! Have a great week, no more arguments here.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭gmkgreaney

i boxed for 2 yrs had 2 fights and gave it up in 2004 aged 18 after i found women and drink and put on about 3 stone:D seriously thinkin bout going back in the next few weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Stones85

gmkgreaney wrote: »
    i boxed for 2 yrs had 2 fights and gave it up in 2004 aged 18 after i found women and drink and put on about 3 stone:D seriously thinkin bout going back in the next few weeks

Same as except only 1 fight.

Still carrying weight but been back a good few weeks now(only doing conditioning work), found a good club, I've no doubt in my mind I'll be total ****e for ages, just hope I'll get to fight again, the thought of getting beaten badly is terrifying, but I will do it if the club thinks I'm up for it, won't be ready for novices this year.

But hey, gotta start somewhere.

The hardest part of the whole thing was actually gettin off my ass and having the stones to go along by myself and ask, took me ages. But glad I did, just go man!! just go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭gmkgreaney

Stones85 wrote: »
    Same as except only 1 fight.

Still carrying weight but been back a good few weeks now(only doing conditioning work), found a good club, I've no doubt in my mind I'll be total ****e for ages, just hope I'll get to fight again, the thought of getting beaten badly is terrifying, but I will do it if the club thinks I'm up for it, won't be ready for novices this year.

But hey, gotta start somewhere.

The hardest part of the whole thing was actually gettin off my ass and having the stones to go along by myself and ask, took me ages. But glad I did, just go man!! just go!!

ya the ahrdest part is just getin up and doin it, what weight were you fighting at i was fighting at 85 kg now im 96kg:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

how much are they goin for in ireland at the moment? im over in the states and i think i can get a pair of leather ones for 30 dollars which il defo do, just curious as to how much a standard pair costs at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭MCMT

im 26 interested in competing in boxing. No experience. Firstly looking for a good club in the tallaght area? Secondly is there a scene/competion for novices, i know there is the intermediates but i believe this of high standards? IF there is such as novices competition when is it and did I miss the boat?

Hi Rodgrigez, I saw your post and was interested in finding out how you've gotten along. I'm in much the same boat - 25, no experience (but I was competitive in karate at international level for about 8 years until age 15 or so), hoping to get involved with a club not just for fitness/interest but to compete as well.

Have you managed to start training yet and if so how are you finding it? What are the costs like etc?

I'm in the US at the moment but am hoping to get into a club when I get back to Dublin in September. I'll be living on the NCR so was thinking of approaching Phibsboro BC or Smithfield. Anyone have any feedback on these clubs? I've read on other posts that Phibsboro is open to "adults" - that still the case?

Anyone else have any tips for an adult starting out?

MCMT wrote: »
    Hi Rodgrigez, I saw your post and was interested in finding out how you've gotten along. I'm in much the same boat - 25, no experience (but I was competitive in karate at international level for about 8 years until age 15 or so), hoping to get involved with a club not just for fitness/interest but to compete as well.

Have you managed to start training yet and if so how are you finding it? What are the costs like etc?

I'm in the US at the moment but am hoping to get into a club when I get back to Dublin in September. I'll be living on the NCR so was thinking of approaching Phibsboro BC or Smithfield. Anyone have any feedback on these clubs? I've read on other posts that Phibsboro is open to "adults" - that still the case?

Anyone else have any tips for an adult starting out?

I didn't do too much pre-training before going, I thought i was in average shape..... LOL HAHA what a fool, I'd be the type to push myself as far as I can go, so towards the end of conditioning sessions I tend to get a bit sick, puke the odd time.

So run your bollix off for a few weeks before hand, throw a load of sit-ups and push-ups in too, like I said I thought I'd be ok as I'd run abit and used to box, but oh my God, how our bodies regress!!!

I've lost 6 kilo's but have about 10 or more to go. All in good time.

Cost is minimal.

I've only just realised what total bollix commercial gyms are and how you get zero value for money compared to a boxing club.

Some clubs have issues with age, just ask though, what can they say? no? so what, go somewhere else.

PS Cut all the **** out of your diet STOP drinking

Thanks for the advise, Stones.

Aye, I realise I'm going to be in crap shape, even though I have no fat or chub on me. To be honest, I think I'll try to run/sit ups/press ups etc a good month or two before I get in a club. I mean, I haven't really exercised in about a decade or thereabouts, so I think your use of the word regression is probably an apt one.

The one thing is that my diet is/has always been very good. However, I think drinking probably negates a lot of that. I'll just have to ween myself off the stuff these next few months. God help us all...

Cheers, and good luck with those 10 kilos.

scruff321 wrote: »
    how much are they goin for in ireland at the moment? im over in the states and i think i can get a pair of leather ones for 30 dollars which il defo do, just curious as to how much a standard pair costs at home?

It depends what your buying, what you might class as a standard set of gloves could be completely different than what I would. Most gloves would be a good bit cheaper over there though. I have a pair of leather addidas ultima compitition in 16oz and they cost me 95, they feel great and are shaped like a pro glove but I don't think there very well made. Ye'd probably pick up a set of Cleto Reyes in the states for that kind of money. Buy over there, it makes more sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Very funny, you should not be so vindictive, what's wrong with fighting someone younger?, I fight dudes over 21 and up to my age, I box and do pretty well for a dude my age.A 54 can box just as well as some 20 year old's if they are in shape and keep physically fit.:mad:

Yeah, if the 20 year olds aren't up to much. But, generally there is no real substitute for youth and 54 is getting on a bit for boxing!

I didn't do too much pre-training before going, I thought i was in average shape..... LOL HAHA what a fool, I'd be the type to push myself as far as I can go, so towards the end of conditioning sessions I tend to get a bit sick, puke the odd time.

So run your bollix off for a few weeks before hand, throw a load of sit-ups and push-ups in too, like I said I thought I'd be ok as I'd run abit and used to box, but oh my God, how our bodies regress!!!

I've lost 6 kilo's but have about 10 or more to go. All in good time.

Cost is minimal.

I've only just realised what total bollix commercial gyms are and how you get zero value for money compared to a boxing club.

Some clubs have issues with age, just ask though, what can they say? no? so what, go somewhere else.

PS Cut all the **** out of your diet STOP drinking

One more question Stones (or anyone else that can answer this): as I said in my original post, I haven't had any exercise in a few years so I don't even own a pair of decent runners. What sort of runners should you use for training? I want to buy a decent enough pair for roadwork but I was wondering if it was necessary to get a different pair for training. Any ideas?

And any other equipment for the beginner that would be advisable to pick up?

Finally, this is off the thread topic, but anyone have any ideas about this Thai lad Dunne is up against in September?

One more question Stones (or anyone else that can answer this): as I said in my original post, I haven't had any exercise in a few years so I don't even own a pair of decent runners. What sort of runners should you use for training? I want to buy a decent enough pair for roadwork but I was wondering if it was necessary to get a different pair for training. Any ideas?

And any other equipment for the beginner that would be advisable to pick up?

Spend a lot on a very good pair of road runners, you'll be doing serious mileage in them, and if you've a bit of weight on you'll want to protect your legs from the shock and shin splints.

Skipping rope, you hopefully already have 1

I've only 1 pair, IMO reebok do the best road running shoe, buy 2 if you want to, no biggy.

After a few months and if you're getting serious about it, buy you're own gear, mits, sparring gloves, heavey bag.

Work them everyday....... but thats well down the line, running and conditioning classes if you can find them is all I'd interested in right now, not interested in a fight until I get below 91kg.

PS, when running; if you have to stop, stop. Walk for 30 seconds/ 1 minute and go again, don't kill yourself, build it up. I tried to go hell for leather with running at the start, it's stupid and can't be sustained, built up a good foundation, it'll take weeks but it'll be sustainable and more importantly: much more enjoyable!

MCMT the hardest part is I think going to a club for the first time it can be intimidating but like someone said in a previous post "just go for it". The training is tough at first but doesnt get any easier unfortunately. Haven't done any sparring as yet. Wanna competing in the Novices dont know if ill be ready but sure I might give it ago for the experience and maybe next year have a proper go at it and ill have the experience behind me. We'll see...

My coach thinks I should box at 81kg Light-heavy says there's nothing else too come off me but I think maybe I could get down too 75kg Middleweight. Ideally if there was a weight inbetween but theres not so... Does anyone have any advice on this????

MCMT the hardest part is I think going to a club for the first time it can be intimidating but like someone said in a previous post "just go for it". The training is tough at first but doesnt get any easier unfortunately. Haven't done any sparring as yet. Wanna competing in the Novices dont know if ill be ready but sure I might give it ago for the experience and maybe next year have a proper go at it and ill have the experience behind me. We'll see...

My coach thinks I should box at 81kg Light-heavy says there's nothing else too come off me but I think maybe I could get down too 75kg Middleweight. Ideally if there was a weight inbetween but theres not so... Does anyone have any advice on this????

If you havn't started sparring yet you won't be up to the standard for the novices, I would go for it anyway if your fit though cause it will be a good experience and will give ye an idea what a fight is like.
    6 kilos is alot of weight to loose if you have little fat, you will be putting on muscle as well which will make dropping weight even harder, your coach is experienced and is probably right about the weight, stick with the weight and make yourself strong at it by working on your speed, stamina and strength

Spend a lot on a very good pair of road runners, you'll be doing serious mileage in them, and if you've a bit of weight on you'll want to protect your legs from the shock and shin splints.

Skipping rope, you hopefully already have 1

I've only 1 pair, IMO reebok do the best road running shoe, buy 2 if you want to, no biggy.

After a few months and if you're getting serious about it, buy you're own gear, mits, sparring gloves, heavey bag.

Work them everyday....... but thats well down the line, running and conditioning classes if you can find them is all I'd interested in right now, not interested in a fight until I get below 91kg.

PS, when running; if you have to stop, stop. Walk for 30 seconds/ 1 minute and go again, don't kill yourself, build it up. I tried to go hell for leather with running at the start, it's stupid and can't be sustained, built up a good foundation, it'll take weeks but it'll be sustainable and more importantly: much more enjoyable!

Thanks again for the tips Stones, I appreciate.

I'm in New York at the moment so I managed to get a very decent pair of runners for roadwork. Lots of cushioning etc so I can keep my ankles and knees fresh. And I intend to start really light - I always hated long runs as a kid and I suspect not much has changed.

As for conditioning, I feel like I'm in ok shape but I know once I get stuck into working out I'll think differently. I don't have any real weight to lose - just toughening up the soft spots.

Any particular type of rope I should get or is a regular child's one okay?

Cheers, Rodrigez. Thanks for your input.

Re weight - does anyone know how you can estimate a good weight? I always get the impression the lower (at a healthy level) the better. I'm about 5'10 and am probably walking about around 10 1/2 stone (145lbs/ 65kg) at the minute. I've been much lighter in the past - even below 9 stone - and I feel I could get down to 9 or so fairly comfortably. Does muscle add a lot more weight?

Thanks again for the tips Stones, I appreciate.

I'm in New York at the moment so I managed to get a very decent pair of runners for roadwork. Lots of cushioning etc so I can keep my ankles and knees fresh. And I intend to start really light - I always hated long runs as a kid and I suspect not much has changed.

As for conditioning, I feel like I'm in ok shape but I know once I get stuck into working out I'll think differently. I don't have any real weight to lose - just toughening up the soft spots.

Any particular type of rope I should get or is a regular child's one okay?[/quote]

Go into a sports shop, buy a speed rope, they're usually leather or plastic.

Go into a sports shop, buy a speed rope, they're usually leather or plastic.[/quote]

Thanks again, S. Sure I might try and pick one up here before I come home next week. Would there be other essentials you'd recommend I pick up? Might as well grab the stuff while it's on the cheap here.

Most clubs supply mits, sparing gloves and head gear. So don't buy them yet, check out what the club supplies and what condition their stuff is in, if it's useable and enough to go round don't bother buying your own, if it doesn't fall into those categories and you're deadly serious about fighting long term, buy your own.

I've just got bought my own bag mits and sparring gloves 'cause depending on the turnout you'd have to be quick or you get the old stuff. Headgear can wait until next paycheck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭itouchmyself

Will you's people ever just shut up and join a club :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭marcusluck

An attraction to someting and doing it are very different when it come's to boxing..
    Dont worry about any novices because you are yet to be come one,id just get in the ring to see if you like it,Questions come after that..
    Good luck

Will you's people ever just shut up and join a club :pac:

haha, fair point.

Does anyone know where the Novice Championships are held cuz I dont think its the National Stadium unless there on the same time as the Intermediates and they just dont mention it... Does anyone know???