Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a day in cabelas

• 17-07-2009 3:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭

just thought id share my days activities with ye ,
    went to the the cabela store in pennsylvannia yesterday and spent the day walking around
    this place is absolutely huge and the stuff in there ,i was was walking around with my mouth open catching flies
    they have a 3 storey mountain in the middle of it with all kinds of animals surrounding it ,grizzly bears ,polar bears ,moose,whitetail deer fecking lions
    was looking at a bushmaster .50 cal ,the thing was so heavy i couldn even lift it out straight
    and the rounds costing 6 or seven dollars a shot
    anyway i ended up buying some camo gear ,accessories for the rifle and shotgun
    ill post a few pics when get home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

endasmail wrote: »
    just thought id share my days activities with ye ,
    went to the the cabela store in pennsylvannia yesterday and spent the day walking around
    this place is absolutely huge and the stuff in there ,i was was walking around with my mouth open catching flies
    they have a 3 storey mountain in the middle of it with all kinds of animals surrounding it ,grizzly bears ,polar bears ,moose,whitetail deer fecking lions
    was looking at a bushmaster .50 cal ,the thing was so heavy i couldn even lift it out straight
    and the rounds costing 6 or seven dollars a shot
    anyway i ended up buying some camo gear ,accessories for the rifle and shotgun
    ill post a few pics when get home

Definitely my idea of a day out - would love to visit one of their stores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭clivej

Fair play Enda sounds like you had a good day to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Nice one Enda, dont forget some sudocreme for the rash on your chin from draging it on the floor;)

FS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Have not been to cabelas but have been to Big Bass Pro Shop in Las Vegas and like yourself I was like a little kid at christmas. They had everything for fishing hooks to boats to 4 wheel drives, every make of rifle,shotgun and bow. Glad you enjoyed it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

bought stuff from them online from them a few years ago, they deliver to ireland. Paid a bit of duty but things still worked out cheaper that buying in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭endasmail

Nice one Enda, dont forget some sudocreme for the rash on your chin from draging it on the floor;)

FS

ha ha FS ,rash on my chin and blisters on my feet
    jesus lad ya be only in there,next thing ya no, 4 hours gone by
    and ya still have only seen the half of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭crowsnightmare

endasmail wrote: »
    ha ha FS ,rash on my chin and blisters on my feet
    jesus lad ya be only in there,next thing ya no, 4 hours gone by
    and ya still have only seen the half of it

I was in that store when it opened a few years back & if you have seen half of it properly in 4 hrs then you are doing well. it took me all of 2 days to look properly & then 4 hrs the next day to get what I wanted. I brought the wife with me on day 2 & she has never dragged me shopping with her since that day. I think that she realized what it was like for me shopping with her! great result!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭medicman

great stuff, was just there myself in the outlet in Maine 2 weeks ago, i did find the store a bit expensive, so i headed to a town called Kittery and a shop called The Trading Post, what a shop!!!!, I found it to be much better and cheaper that Cabela's, if anyone is heading that way, check it out and do a price check between both places, spent $750.00 on full cammo gortex MossyOak outfit, 3 waterproof cammo and mossyoak gortex hats, 2 pairs boots, 1 ankle and 1 knee length fully waterproof and cammo and mossyoak gloves waterproof gortex, i priced these in the cabelas store the day before and was over $1000.00. I cannot compare the 2 places, Just my opinion for me the Trading Post beats it hands down on everything. And to top it all off, came home thru london, so no tax paid, ha ha ha, me 1 taxman 0.
    P.S. Shopping for the wife as there are loads of shops there for her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭daveob007

Stop it lads ye are makin me drool.
    I went into my local gun? store a few days ago and he did'nt even have any 9mm ammo.
    Nothing even remotely like that here,,I suppose its something to do with that GUN CULTURE that our minister is worried about ha ha
    I would really love to browse a real gun store sometime,,even in th u.k the shops there are full of goodies/mainly selling airguns and accessories but even so great to have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

medicman wrote: »
    great stuff, was just there myself in the outlet in Maine 2 weeks ago, i did find the store a bit expensive, so i headed to a town called Kittery and a shop called The Trading Post, what a shop!!!!, I found it to be much better and cheaper that Cabela's, if anyone is heading that way, check it out and do a price check between both places, spent $750.00 on full cammo gortex MossyOak outfit, 3 waterproof cammo and mossyoak gortex hats, 2 pairs boots, 1 ankle and 1 knee length fully waterproof and cammo and mossyoak gloves waterproof gortex, i priced these in the cabelas store the day before and was over $1000.00. I cannot compare the 2 places, Just my opinion for me the Trading Post beats it hands down on everything. And to top it all off, came home thru london, so no tax paid, ha ha ha, me 1 taxman 0.
    P.S. Shopping for the wife as there are loads of shops there for her..

Full gortex mossy oak outfit + barb wire = :(

I prefer army surplus goretex. I don't feel so heart broken if it rips!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭ironsight

daveob007 wrote: »
    I went into my local gun? store a few days ago and he did'nt even have any 9mm ammo.

Dont feel to bad, 9mm is becoming scarce even here in the USA, my nearest supplier is 60 miles away and he is charging $19.99 per box of 50 Federal American Eagle 115 gr FMJ.

Even Wolf brand is hard to come by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭medicman

Jonty wrote: »
    Full gortex mossy oak outfit + barb wire = :(

I prefer army surplus goretex. I don't feel so heart broken if it rips!!

dosnt matter, still cheap, and not worn by others, also, will be able to get more from family in states, not that many surples gortex around and what is there is still too expensive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

I was in Pro Bass in Calgary Canada. That took two half days to have a quick look around. Great store.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭sharky0922

I was in Pro Bass took two half days to have a quick look

you people make me wanna cry..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

ironsight wrote: »
    Dont feel to bad, 9mm is becoming scarce even here in the USA, my nearest supplier is 60 miles away and he is charging $19.99 per box of 50 Federal American Eagle 115 gr FMJ.

Even Wolf brand is hard to come by.

.45 acp is currently 25 euro a box here !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I was in one of their stores in MN a few years back. Their shops are massive, my friend said it was the biggest one in America, not sure about that one though. I didn't have enough time in it, which was about 3 hours. The things that they sell in there is unreal. We bought a lot of stock from them over the years on their web site, but it is completely differant being in one of their shops. They had a resturaunt in it which sold things like wild boar, bison and other types of animals you would never seen on the shelves in ireland. Absolutely beautiful. In the centre of the shop they had a set, a rather large piece which represented a mountain, on it they had stuffed bears, mountain lions and lots of other animals.

The amount of guns they had, from air rifles, to .50 cal revolvers, automatic assault rifles and .50 barett sniper rifles. I never in my whole life, ever seen so many weapons, TV included. The archery corner was massive, the arrow heads were pretty dangerous looking. Composite bows, long bows, cross bows, everything.

It has the most amount of tackle, rods and reels I had seen. Every type of fishing you could think of.

When it comes to hunting and fishing, these guys know what they are at.

The man behind the gun counter was a bit reluctant when I asked him to hold the .50 cal DE. He asked me where I had come from, when he found out I was Irish, he let me hold a few guns for the camera. :)

I was a bit excited to say the least, don't laugh :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I did that in Florida, not sure if it was a Cabelas store though. And yes, I was catching flies most of the time as well. The equipment & low prices had me in awe.... I remember muttering to one of the buddies.... We are living in the wrong country..... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Trojan911 wrote: »
    I did that in Florida, not sure if it was a Cabelas store though. And yes, I was catching flies most of the time as well. The equipment & low prices had me in awe.... I remember muttering to one of the buddies.... We are living in the wrong country..... :D

Theres a sports superstore in Brandon in Florida-massive-its much the same as Cabelas-spent a day in that about ten years ago.
    I spent some time working in K entucky and there were three quite good gunshops in the town i stayed in, I introduced myself to the owners of these shops and told them that I was from Ireland and would be calling in to gawk at the guns quite frequently:D-They couldnt be nicer and one of the owners would let me take pistols to a small range at the back of his store to try , even though he knew I couldnt purchase.
    The company I worked for had a part time policeman working for them as well and he gave me a 357 magnum revolver and arranged with the local cops that i could shoot on a piece of ground just outside the town, I was told that when i needed mor ammo just to call into the police station and they would supply me:eek:-it was a surreal experience walking into a police station to get ammo for a pistolI can tell you:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭harmoniums

Was this the cabelas in Hamburg PA of I78?
    I used to live in Allentown and that was my old stomping ground
    They had no idea how to price the military surplus rifles
    I once got an SKS-D for $200, but at the same time saw a crappy 2 groove savage no4mk1 enfield for 800!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭endasmail

yea it was ,hamburg PA