Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry and Shaper go the seperate ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

No surprise really. One thing a player being a novice on tour, it's another when your caddy has a huge learning curve too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

is it a sponsorship thing i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Ye i did think they would at least finish the season together. I'm sure his management had something to do with it, seen as it says Shaper got the call from Shanes management company and not from Shane. I don't know why he wouldn't have been told by Shane either :confused:

Hopefully he'll get a good caddie on the bag and go from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

lowry will never win another even i think!
    he wins one and then thinks he can win everything by himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

mink_man wrote: »

Deary deary me.

If he ditches his caddy for a seasoned professional he hardly thinks he can do it all on his own does he!

true - its obviously a tactical move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

he wins one and then thinks he can win everything by himself![/quote

You sad sad person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

Difficult to let his friend go but he's now competing in the professional ranks.

This is a good move for Shane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

he would be better if he would let that belly of his go first, then get rid of the caddy

the john daly approach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

eric miller the ex ireland rugby guy is his conditioning guy for the last while he knows he needs to tone up and he has lost some weight
    everything is moving in the right direction at the moment......small steps required to move forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

soundsham wrote: »
    eric miller the ex ireland rugby guy is his conditioning guy for the last while he knows he needs to tone up and he has lost some weight
    everything is moving in the right direction at the moment......small steps required to move forward

He would do with firing him too because it does not seem to be working
    I think letting sharper go was bull ****e If you look at Padraig he has Rona flood on the bag his brother in law and has had him years and has 3 majors, players like too blame there caddies instead of themselves

I think Lowery is a "one hit wonder"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

why would he sack miller now
    what part of he has lost weight dont you understand !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

D.R cowboy wrote: »
    He would do with firing him too because it does not seem to be working
    I think letting sharper go was bull ****e If you look at Padraig he has Rona flood on the bag his brother in law and has had him years and has 3 majors, players like too blame there caddies instead of themselves

I think Lowery is a "one hit wonder"

You'd want to sack your grammer teacher.

Had either Shaper or Lowry experience on the Tour it may have worked out. Harrington was an established player on tour before Ronan Flood took the bag, which was initially for either a trial period or only a few events until a new bag man could be found. It was clear to Padraig that Ronan Flood could work out as a long term fixture and as a result he became his Caddie and we all know the rest.

I agree that players do like to find any excuse for not performing well however in this case I think that a review took place within Shane's management team and it was felt that an experienced caddy was required. I wouldn't be surprised if Dave McNeilly got the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tom francy

Blunder wrote: »

I wouldn't be surprised if Dave McNeilly got the bag.

i see Dave McNeilly is carrying chris woods bag now the young english lad 3rd in the open yesterday

or maybe that bloke that works with camillo
    altho i suspect he might be slow to leave a big golf prospect like camillo

conno16 wrote: »
    or maybe that bloke that works with camillo
    altho i suspect he might be slow to leave a big golf prospect like camillo

Why in God's name would Colin Byrne leave the bag of a player ranked 13th in the world to caddy for Shane Lowry?

thats my point
    altho he is irish tho?
    so pride might come into it
    maybe he feels he can improve lowry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

f22 wrote: »
    Why in God's name would Colin Byrne leave the bag of a player ranked 13th in the world to caddy for Shane Lowry?

I didn't think the Villegas job was full time?

Hobart wrote: »
    I didn't think the Villegas job was full time?

Not sure to be honest

conno16 wrote: »
    thats my point
    altho he is irish tho?
    so pride might come into it
    maybe he feels he can improve lowry?

If that was your point, you had no point to make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Byrne ang Villegas' bag for the Scottish and the Open. I think he's still tied long-term to Noren though, who is out injured just now.

I'd imagine if Camillo wants to keep him on he'll be seriously tempted...

Good read here...http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0714/1224250638069.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Good article there. It would be a sweet number to land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Byrne ang Villegas' bag for the Scottish and the Open. I think he's still tied long-term to Noren though, who is out injured just now.

I'd imagine if Camillo wants to keep him on he'll be seriously tempted...

Good read here...http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0714/1224250638069.html

Great article.. It shows the kind of preperation the pro's go through and how badly we all prepare compared to that arriving at the club with minutes to tee time..

It's official - Shane is going with an experienced caddy who is already on the tour and has a few wins under his belt. I expect he will start in the next week or two.

It's not any of the names that have been mentioned on this post to date but all will be revealed soon. Sorry I can't be more specific at this point lads.....

P.S. He's Irish too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tom francy

golfbgud wrote: »

P.S. He's Irish too!

paul mcginleys old caddy?? cant think of his name rite now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Darren reynolds. Yeah I'd say it's him or one of the million Byrnes!