Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Companies REALLY want to make money?

• 16-07-2009 12:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭

Sorry folks if wrong forum but need a wee rant so forgive me....

I'm getting sick to the teeth of people behind a counter that are employed to do a job not doing it effectivly when there are 20 others to take their place. No smile, no service and no appreciation of my hard earned buck and no appreciation of the fact that IF I were their boss (or I assume IF their boss knew how lazy, non interested, and basically how non customer orientated they were) how quick they would be gone....

If I could cite an example-I encourage my young lad of 7 to use his mind, initiative etc... and this morning the chain on his bike broke so I put it up to him to search and find a "company" that could fix it. Within 2 minutes he had not only found but called Halfords who told him yes they could fix/attach a new chain. Bike was loaded and in he went-my wife dropped him off with the bike at Halfords and in he went to be told at 12.30 on wednesday (in an empty shop with two attendants) that it would be Monday before the a new chain could be attached and that they were backlogged. (I'm in the wrong game obviously :mad:)

Now what I want to know is do some of these companies really want to make a few quid or not or are they employing the laziest people on the planet (that want a wage only) because I'm sick to me b*****x of hearing about how every company/shop etc.. is struggling and yet when you go to get a simple boyscout task done and are willing to pay its a dead end.

I'd love to hear from other like minded "grumps" that are sick of sitting back and taking service they wouldn't give a dog, when all around them people are crying out for jobs, a chance to prove themselves and show genuine interest in their work. The same applies across the board IMO, restaurants, shops, hotels-service is DEAD....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Did you consider that they quite possibly do not employ someone full time to do jobs like this as there is not enough work to jusitfy it?

Or that they do employ someone and that this person is busy with other work that was booked in before you.

Did the lad ask Halfords if they were going to fix it on the spot or did he ask them "if they fit bike chains".

I find your 'rant' a bit juvenile tbh, because someone couldn't do something for you immediately you lose the head and throw the toys out of the pram?

And before you reply that anyone can fit a bike chain and the 2 staff should have done it, in order to stand over the work halfords have to ensure that someone qualified did it. This is good business practice, if God forbid your child had been involved in an accident due to someone fitted something wrongly, you'd be beating a door to your solicitors as fast as your legs could carry you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭greener&leaner

Businesses do want to make money.
    For a shop like Halfords, which is a multi-shop chain with associated overheads and admin, fixing bicycle chains is not the way to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

For a shop like Halfords, which is a multi-shop chain with associated overheads and admin, fixing bicycle chains is not the way to make money.

It is a way to generate a massive amount of good will and get people coming back again and again...

Its all about getting people into your store... I know someone who bought 2 bikes from halfords recently, the reason he did was that he brought his sons bike in with a similar problem to that mentioned below. They fixed it for free! The next day he went in and bought 2 bikes from them.

You know why ? Because they exceeded the expectations of the customer. It's the number 1 way to get repeat customers and good word of mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭D.W

Hammertime wrote: »
    Did you consider that they quite possibly do not employ someone full time to do jobs like this as there is not enough work to jusitfy it?

Or that they do employ someone and that this person is busy with other work that was booked in before you.

Did the lad ask Halfords if they were going to fix it on the spot or did he ask them "if they fit bike chains".

I find your 'rant' a bit juvenile tbh, because someone couldn't do something for you immediately you lose the head and throw the toys out of the pram?

And before you reply that anyone can fit a bike chain and the 2 staff should have done it, in order to stand over the work halfords have to ensure that someone qualified did it. This is good business practice, if God forbid your child had been involved in an accident due to someone fitted something wrongly, you'd be beating a door to your solicitors as fast as your legs could carry you.

The sell bikes and promote their in house assembly/repairs. What do I need to do-ask for an appointment and check that they have a suitably qualified person to put a chain on a bike?

If I am willing to pay for something that is a simple task yes of course I expect it done-who doesnt so I'm not throwing any toys out of prams as you suggest. Would you go to a restaurant and wait 5 hours for your meal?

I also resent your comment that if something happened I'd be beating a path to my solicitors door-bit of a generalisation don't you think?

The core of my "rant" is that the likes of this type of "customer service" is commonplace and too easily accepted. Would any business owner like to think his staff were losing him business because they couldn't really be bothered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Would you go to a restaurant and wait 5 hours for your meal?

No. But you would reserve a table first which means you wouldn't have to wait 5 hours.
    Would you turn up at restaurant with your family without making a reservation?

Your son asked them if they could fix a chain and they said yes.
    They didn't say bring your bike up here and we will fix it on the spot.

Your argument is totally flawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

so YOU let a 7 year old ring a shop and ask them could they fix a bike.

Does a 7 year old think to ask WHEN they could fix it. No but I, you, as an adult would.

Then you, on the word of a 7 year old decided that they had nothing better to do but to fix it immediately.

This is not bad "customer service". It's a bad customer who instead of enquiring what their service was let a 7 year old ring the shop in his stead and has the gall to come in here and rant.

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    No. But you would reserve a table first which means you wouldn't have to wait 5 hours.
    Would you turn up at restaurant with your family without making a reservation?

Your son asked them if they could fix a chain and they said yes.
    They didn't say bring your bike up here and we will fix it on the spot.

Your argument is totally flawed.

Funny but did actually walk into a restaurant without a reservation with family tonight and they were glad to accommodate us in the middle of a seafood festival :)

Mr Incognito-I am a paying customer or a potential one so don't see how that makes me a "bad customer".

Anyway everyone has their own opinions on service which they are entitled to-I never realised foolishly how much it took for a bike shop to put on a chain or what a backlog they had.:confused: Anyway did the job myself today so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Spent my formative business years in the US and find the Irish level of customer service as a whole to be poor. Areas that I find particularly bad are trades,any sort of technical support provided by telecoms/energy companies , the revenue and solicitors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

Looks like a bit of high horse rant alright DW. You reserve things if you dont want to wait around with the common folk.

Unless you own Halfords, deal with it. Stop bad mouthing them. Or buy the chain and do it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭smartaform

I think getting your boy to find the right chain then show him how to attach it himself, these things happen countless times to kids bikes so if he can fix his bike in the years to come - happy days....
    He'd also turn out to be so skilled at it other kids would come to him to fix their bikes!! lol

My Brother in law actually works at Halfords and he informs me that they are meant to fit chains on the spot as it is only a 5 minute job...
    I think you came across a few dopes there!!

smartaform wrote: »
    My Brother in law actually works at Halfords and he informs me that they are meant to fit chains on the spot as it is only a 5 minute job...
    I think you came across a few dopes there!!

I personally can understand the frustrations of the OP. It's dire customer service, you shouldn't be working in Halfords if you can't put a chain on a bike. In other words, Halfords shouldn't be specialising in so many different areas if they can't do those areas expertly. If you went in looking to buy some camping equipment or a GPS for your car, I guarantee you the same idiot who sent your boy away would try talking total and utter sh*t telling you about how x and y are great items to get you to buy it (even if he knows nothing about them).

Forget Halfords in the future and go to the local bike shop up the road, if they send you away, I'll eat my hat.*

*If i'm wearing a hat at the time :)

Edit: If you feel passionate about it, and have 3/4 spare minutes, type up a letter emphasising the above point and see what they say.

Dabko wrote: »
    Looks like a bit of high horse rant alright DW. You reserve things if you dont want to wait around with the common folk.

Unless you own Halfords, deal with it. Stop bad mouthing them. Or buy the chain and do it yourself.

everyone else is on their high horses on this thread imo. Op wants a service in a failing economy and I see where he's coming from completely. If businesses are dying, they need to fight for customers.

This brings me back 12-15 years ago when me and my dad went into a bike store and asked to get a chain on my bike fixed. They laughed, said they don't fix chains and that was it. They went bust so quick aswell. It was the place on the north road in monaghan before the bus station.. Vivid memory of it and even then as a 5-10 year old, the made me feel embaressed walking in there.

anyways, my only time looking in this shíte forum.. attitudes are terrible and ye all sound like the type of shop owners that Op is criticizing and rightly so. and no one books an appointment ina shop like halfords. if it's open, it's open.

everyone else is on their high horses on this thread imo. Op wants a service in a failing economy and I see where he's coming from completely. If businesses are dying, they need to fight for customers.

This brings me back 12-15 years ago when me and my dad went into a bike store and asked to get a chain on my bike fixed. They laughed, said they don't fix chains and that was it. They went bust so quick aswell. It was the place on the north road in monaghan before the bus station.. Vivid memory of it and even then as a 5-10 year old, the made me feel embaressed walking in there.

anyways, my only time looking in this shíte forum.. attitudes are terrible and ye all sound like the type of shop owners that Op is criticizing and rightly so. and no one books an appointment ina shop like halfords. if it's open, it's open.

Taken directly from their very helpful and well laid out website. I guess its Halfords fault that the OP didn't read this either is it?

They even have a very helpful click through that lists the phone numbers of all thier Irish branches so you can ring and check if you need to book. But lets not let facts get in the way of things.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15553_productId_722312_langId_-1_categoryId_210891

*Your local Halfords store can offer the following fixed price repairs on your bike gears:

* Gear adjustment (with existing cables) - €8.99
    * Gear service (including replacement inner cables) - €27.99
    * Gear cable (single) replacement and adjustment - €11.99
    * Chain fitting - €11.99
    * Front mech – seat tube fit - €11.99
    * Front mech – bottom bracket fit - €22.99
    * Rear mech fit - €14.99
    * Bottom bracket service or replacement - €22.99
    * Crank set replacement – from €19.99

All work is quoted in advance and carries a 6 month guarantee on labour and a 12 month guarantee on parts (excluding wear and tear and misuse). You will receive a free bike check–over and estimate before any work is carried out. All prices exclude bike parts, except where stated. Pre-booking may be required - contact your local store. Repairs subject to bike inspection.

What an absolutely terrible outlook. Is this how you run your business ? i.e. "That won't make me that much money so I'll turn it away". The fact of the matter is this is a service Halfords offer - if you're going to sell bikes, you need to know how to fix them. End of story. If not, get a new job.

It's not all about "take take take", it's about creating a relationship with the consumer so they know they can rely on you(Halfords) and the services they are meant to provide. As DublinDilbert said, it's about return business. Turning away a customer in a service that you specialise in is like jumping off a cliff. It's idiotic regardless of whether we are in a "Recession" or not.

Halfords.com claim to have a "Bike Parts & Workshop" as it says in their title tag. This is not the way to go about creating positive word of mouth or repeat customers.

Edit: I see that "Pre-Booking" may be required. However, the OP described it as being empty and two lads just standing around - they should have fixed the bike. IT'S a 5 minute job. They weren't asked to rebuild a bike.

What an absolutely terrible outlook. Is this how you run your business ? i.e. "That won't make me that much money so I'll turn it away". The fact of the matter is this is a service Halfords offer - if you're going to sell bikes, you need to know how to fix them. End of story. If not, get a new job.

It's not all about "take take take", it's about creating a relationship with the consumer so they know they can rely on you(Halfords) and the services they are meant to provide. As DublinDilbert said, it's about return business. Turning away a customer in a service that you specialise in is like jumping off a cliff. It's idiotic regardless of whether we are in a "Recession" or not.

Halfords.com claim to have a "Bike Parts & Workshop" as it says in their title tag. This is not the way to go about creating positive word of mouth or repeat customers.

They do have a "Bikes Parts & Workshop" and they plainly state you should ring in advance to make sure you don't need to book. Just because people feel they should 'fix it now' does not actually mean that they should fix it now. Insurance issues, wages costs, not to mention the old nightmare that is Demarcation makes providing these services at the drop of a hat quite often on impossible/impractical. It is a business they are running, and their terms are made very clear.

I fail to see the issue here, you try to walk into a garage and ask them to do work on your car, no matter how minor, they are going to tell you to come back/book in. You go to any electrical shop like currys etc and ask them to look at something you bought their and you have to book it in etc etc etc

People need to understand that there are reasons why people cannot drop everything and fix your problem there and then just because you want them too. Yes of course customer service is a priority but procedures are there for a reason.

Taken directly from their very helpful and well laid out website. I guess its Halfords fault that the OP didn't read this either is it?

They even have a very helpful click through that lists the phone numbers of all thier Irish branches so you can ring and check if you need to book. But lets not let facts get in the way of things.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15553_productId_722312_langId_-1_categoryId_210891

*Your local Halfords store can offer the following fixed price repairs on your bike gears:

* Gear adjustment (with existing cables) - €8.99
    * Gear service (including replacement inner cables) - €27.99
    * Gear cable (single) replacement and adjustment - €11.99
    * Chain fitting - €11.99
    * Front mech – seat tube fit - €11.99
    * Front mech – bottom bracket fit - €22.99
    * Rear mech fit - €14.99
    * Bottom bracket service or replacement - €22.99
    * Crank set replacement – from €19.99

All work is quoted in advance and carries a 6 month guarantee on labour and a 12 month guarantee on parts (excluding wear and tear and misuse). You will receive a free bike check–over and estimate before any work is carried out. All prices exclude bike parts, except where stated. Pre-booking may be required - contact your local store. Repairs subject to bike inspection.

how fuking condescending can you be? grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I can see where the OP is coming from, but one thing I do have to ask....would it not have been better to fix it yourself? Unless your 7 year old has a Shimano race bike, fixing a chain ain't that difficult, even a snapped one.

But, in the present economic climate Halfords are fools for turning away the business. Any time I visit a branch they only seem interested in selling the sexy stuff (GPS, stereos etc).

I understand and agree with Hammertime, I just think it's dissapointing that Halfords could not have fixed it there and then considering they appeared to be doing nothing in the shop.

I also think that sending the boy away and to come back on Monday which is a full 5 days later (there open on weekends) is totally unnacceptable and a serious disadvantage to being a "jack of all trades" in their business.

Another alternative the two lads in Halfords could have done was ASK the boy if he wanted to make a pre-booking.

how fuking condescending can you be? grow up.

lol.

Thought you weren't "coming back to this sh*te forum?"

lol.

Thought you weren't "coming back to this sh*te forum?"

meh, it sounds more dramatic to say that.. one can never leave an argument like this early tho :rolleyes:

Good man thats the spirit.

en garde !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

fixing bicycle chains is not the way to make money.
    * Chain fitting - €11.99
    D.W wrote: »
    Anyway did the job myself today so...

€12 for a <5 minute job that can be done by anyone? That sounds like some classic low-hanging fruit to me - they should be jumping at the chance to do quick little jobs like that.

OP - I think you're lucky you did it yourself and saved yourself €12. I agree with the basic idea of your post, but I think the logic is flawed.
    If they had fitted the chain on the spot - that would have been good customer service.
    If they had fitted it for free, with a smile, and ruffled your sons hair on the way out - that would have been excellent customer service (and would have generated positive word-of-mouth).

Unfortunately, they didn't do either - they stuck to their procedures and policies that clearly say that work needs to be pre-booked and carried out by the relevant qualified person (because the work is guaranteed etc.). That's not bad customer service, IMHO. It may be a poor policy, and you should write a letter to that extent, but the lads in the shop did exactly what they were supposed to do.

There's a test in they cycling forum called the "bike pump test" where you go into a shop and ask for a lend of a pump because your bike's outside and you need to put a bit more pressure in your tyres. The shop that lends you the pump without quibble is invariably better at every other aspect of customer service too - that's the shop you should deal with.
    The same could apply to any good restaraunt or a hotel.

In a business downturn, I think it's more and more important for businesses to "lend their bike pumps", and for customers to reward that service with custom and loyalty.

I don't think you should get p*ssed off if they don't lend you the pump though - you don't have a right to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭VO

My son (who is 24 and knows how to use a phone and what people tell him) had a similar experience with Halfords . Rang them can you service a certian make? answr yes when can yu do it ? answer drop it in today? cycles 2.5 miles to the store only to be told Guy who serivces bikes is on holidays can you come back next week? Cycles home mightily pissed off with Halfords.

Outcome - No more business from his family for Halfords and more importantly has told many people about their pxxy customer care policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭tombull82

I fail to see the issue here, you try to walk into a garage and ask them to do work on your car, no matter how minor, they are going to tell you to come back/book in. You go to any electrical shop like currys etc and ask them to look at something you bought their and you have to book it in etc etc etc

QUOTE]

I am a qualified mechanic and work in a company 4 days a week and 2 days for myself. If someone drives around and asks for you to look at their car we are not allowed to even ask what's wrong but just send them straight to the main desk so they can have it booked in.. if at the main desk they think it is a small job they will then drive it around and ask us to have a look at it... they tell the customers this is for insurance but really it is purely so they can get your details and ensure that you get charged correctly...

On the other hand if someone drives up to me when I'm working for myself, I will gladly stop what I'm doing and help someone out by having a quick look for them, if its only a 10~15min job I will not charge for my time. This has brought me many repeat customers as they see you as a decent person who is not out to get them..

Its all down to strategy I suppose, personally I prefer the friendly approach..(I also now do work for some of the ex-customers from the other job. I did not poach them but they came to me due to likening me as a person and been unhappy with the ignorance of the customer service they received in the garage.

HT this is not an attack on your comment just an addition;)

VO wrote: »
    My son (who is 24 and knows how to use a phone and what people tell him) had a similar experience with Halfords . Rang them can you service a certian make? answr yes when can yu do it ? answer drop it in today? cycles 2.5 miles to the store only to be told Guy who serivces bikes is on holidays can you come back next week? Cycles home mightily pissed off with Halfords.

Outcome - No more business from his family for Halfords and more importantly has told many people about their pxxy customer care policy.

Ditto VO. If you offer a service then provide it. Its the entire nub of my post. I won't be back either. Changing a chain on a bike is not rocket science, not will it cause a demarkation dispute, litigation, nor should one have to prebook after researching a companies website and a load of other waffle posted here.

Ads by Google thanks for the common sense approach.

Hammertime-hmm.. Its a bicycle chain that needed fixing not a rocket ship! Qualified staff, legal retribution, researching websites, good business practices, Halfords fault I didn't check their site, big bold text in your post- for God's sake get real will you.

Smartaform-thanks for proving the case in hand. "My Brother in law actually works at Halfords and he informs me that they are meant to fit chains on the spot as it is only a 5 minute job..."

To all that made this an interesting thread thanks and keep em coming...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

I agree with you OP. You went in on a Wednesday and they didn't have the skills or time to do your 5 minute job until Monday. As a worst case scenario could they not have said leave the bike there and drop back at 5. I'd bet if it was the owner or boss he would have found the 10 mins to do the job for an easy couple of quid.

A few of the replies on this thread highlight what's wrong with Irish customer service. A lot of the posters are OK with that kind of service. That's the kind of customer that these companies make money from. In fairness to Halfords, it's not just them, there are many companies with the same kind of customer service skills.
    You did the right thing to vote with your feet. I've shopped abroad (even just in Newry) and the level of service is far superior to the average service down here. I always thought it was because of the Celtic Tiger as anybody with any possible motivation could get a good job or a job they liked. About the only good thing with this recession is that businesses will get rid of the dead weight and only hire staff that want to make money.

In relation to the guys talking about bring electronics into Currys or bringing a car in for a service I understand the need for a quote. These are complicated jobs. Changing a chain on a bike is not really in the same league is it. To my non mechanical mind it seems as complicated as changing a tyre. If you went into a garage on a Wed to get a tyre changed and they said they could do it by Monday what would you say. Even if it gets super complicated it's only going to take 10 minutes isn't it. Or have bike chains become some kind of science.

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Bit of an insight into Halfords ....

When you bring a bike in for a service - this is definite of Halfords in Blanchardstown anyway - you have to book it in advance. However what they don't tell you is that your bike is taken in and then once a week a service mechanic comes to the store who then services your bike.

Their system was at the time / maybe still is that you drop your bike in on a Tuesday and collect it the following Tuesday. In the mean time at some stage that week the service mechanic comes in and sorts your bike out.

We had rang in advance, got a quotation on the service and fitting of a child carreier seat, booked in for a tuesday two weeks later and was only informed on the day we turned up that we would not be able to collect until the following Tuesday. I was expecting it back that evening ! After a lot of pressing the above was explained to me and that the mechanic was due in on the Thursday so there might have been a chance to get it on the Friday if we rang to check up on it.

Needless to say we took our business elsewhere, including the purchase of the child seat.

Sounds like something similar is still the case - only certain staff are skilled to fix / repair / service and they are not based full time in each store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

D.W wrote: »
    Sorry folks if wrong forum but need a wee rant so forgive me....

I'm getting sick to the teeth of people behind a counter that are employed to do a job not doing it effectivly when there are 20 others to take their place. No smile, no service and no appreciation of my hard earned buck and no appreciation of the fact that IF I were their boss (or I assume IF their boss knew how lazy, non interested, and basically how non customer orientated they were) how quick they would be gone....

If I could cite an example-I encourage my young lad of 7 to use his mind, initiative etc... and this morning the chain on his bike broke so I put it up to him to search and find a "company" that could fix it. Within 2 minutes he had not only found but called Halfords who told him yes they could fix/attach a new chain. Bike was loaded and in he went-my wife dropped him off with the bike at Halfords and in he went to be told at 12.30 on wednesday (in an empty shop with two attendants) that it would be Monday before the a new chain could be attached and that they were backlogged. (I'm in the wrong game obviously :mad:)

Now what I want to know is do some of these companies really want to make a few quid or not or are they employing the laziest people on the planet (that want a wage only) because I'm sick to me b*****x of hearing about how every company/shop etc.. is struggling and yet when you go to get a simple boyscout task done and are willing to pay its a dead end.

I'd love to hear from other like minded "grumps" that are sick of sitting back and taking service they wouldn't give a dog, when all around them people are crying out for jobs, a chance to prove themselves and show genuine interest in their work. The same applies across the board IMO, restaurants, shops, hotels-service is DEAD....

OP your selection was flawed, obviously replacing a chain is not core business and why rant on companies trying to operate on core business logic? Why did you not go to a store that specifically repairs bicyles not a multiple which is a DIY store wityh a heavy bias on auto parts etc.

Seems to me your criticism is more about what Halfords isn't (help fix my chain service) than for what they are (multiple retailer)?

Your sense of business opportunity is perhaps more aligned to 'headless chicken economics', just because somebody wants something, even has the money to spend, doesn't necessarily mean that there is a viable business opportunity?

I think Halfords rather than refusing a service are trying to be helpful by offering a limited service, which in your instance did not suit you.

Why not read the manual and change the change the chain?