Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loud exhausts and tinted windows

• 15-07-2009 6:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭

I got this alert last night (I keep an eye on tender notices for my company) and thought this might be interesting for the modders.
    Ref: JUL122135
    Notice Type: Invitation to Tender
    Title: Supply Delivery & Maintenance of Sound Level Meters & Glass Tint Meters to Include Support &Training
    Published: 14/07/2009
    Published by: An Garda Síochána
    Deadline: 12/08/2009
    Full Text: http://www.etenders.gov.ie/search/show/Search_View.aspx?id=JUL122135&ln=EN

An Garda Síochána invites tenders for the Supply, Delivery and Maintenance of 29 Sound Level Meters to the offices and stations of An Garda Síochána and 12 Glass Tint Meters to the offices and stations of An Garda Síochána.

ISTR reading that new laws were coming in concerning tinted windows. I imagine this is the first order of many...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

how much can you tint in this country?

And about loudness..... Its bullcrap! Now mine car is not loud at all, its with stock exhoust. So i am not one of those lads with sport ones...

I live by the road, and i do hear some of those sports cars passing by, and its not that bad!

but if you have some chopper pass by, its like a freaking 747 taking off!!!

So choppers are legal noise, and modified exhoust is not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

my post in an earlier thread here
    I’m sure most of ye know how EU Directives are transposed into Irish Law. When an EU Directive is made they are put into Irish law by means of a Statutory Instrument (S.I)

So the Original Council Directive that dealt with this sound testing is: DIRECTIVE 70/157/EEC

This then was ignored by most countries and became more comprehensive in 2007 by the last amendment: 2007/34/EC.

Then only on the 27th of June last year (08) did it become transposed into Irish law under the Statutory Instrument S.I. No. 195 of 2008 EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES (MECHANICALLY PROPELLED VEHICLE ENTRY INTO SERVICE) (AMENDMENT) REGULATIONS 2008
    So that’s no really relevant to us unless you were caught last year before 27th June.

So what does this mean to the Modifiers like us?: Basically they have put a stamp on the Maximum Noise Level in decibels.

The table here shows:

SOUND LEVEL OF MOVING VEHICLES
    Limiting values
    The sound level measured in accordance with the provisions of Annex III shall not exceed the following limits:
    Vehicle categories: Values expressed in dB(A)
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers, and comprising not more than nine seats including the driver's seat | 74dB |
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers and equipped with more than nine seats, including the driver's seat; and having a maximum permissible mass of more than 3,5 tonnes and:
    with an engine power of less than 150 kW | 78dB |
    with an engine power of not less than 150 kW | 80dB |
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers and equipped with more than nine seats, including the driver's seat; vehicles intended for the carriage of goods:
    with a maximum permissible mass not exceeding 2 tonnes | 76dB |
    with a maximum permissible mass exceeding 2 tonnes but not exceeding 3,5 tonnes | 77dB |
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of goods and having a maximum permissible mass exceeding 3,5 tonnes:
    with an engine power of less than 75 kW | 77dB |
    with an engine power of not less than 75 kW but less than 150 kW | 78dB |
    with an engine power of not less than 150 kW | 80dB |

However
    - the limit values are increased by 1 dB(A) if they are equipped with a direct injection diesel engine,
    - for vehicles with a maximum permissible mass of over two tonnes designed for off-road use, the limit values are increased by 1 dB(A) if their engine power is less than 150 kW and 2 dB(A) if their engine power is 150 kW or more,
    - for vehicles in category 2.1.1, equipped with a manually operated gear box having more than four forward gears and with an engine developing a maximum power exceeding 140 kW/t and whose maximum power/maximum mass ratio exceeds 75 kW/t, the limit values are increased by 1 dB(A) if the speed at which the rear of the vehicle passes the line BB' in third gear is greater than 61 km/h.

For example
    Toyota chaser 1JZ-GTE engine produces an output of 210kW allowing you a db level of 80dB
    A Toyota Chaser/Supra engine of 2JZ-GTE engine produces an output of 206kW allowing you a db level of 80dB
    A Glanza V which has the 4E-FTE with an engine output of 97kW so your level would be 74dB
    Honda’s B16a Engine has an output of between 110kW and 130kw (depending on number) so your level would be 74dB
    Hondas B18c Engine (Type R) has an output of 150kW so your allowance would be 80dB

If your Lucky to be flying around in a K20 Conversion the K20 Engine puts out roughly 165kW so your over the 150kW limit so your allowance is 80dB

If your beating around in a Twin Cam Toyotas 4A-GE (16-valve) produces 96–103 kW so your level is 74db. If it has the 24Valve Black top then that produces 121kW so that’s still 74dB

If your Driving a Pulsar VZR N1 the engine has an output of 147kW so your just under the 150kW limit and your allowance is 74db

- source cronin_j @ midnighclub.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

how much can you tint in this country?

Can't find the legislation, but...

RSA proposes noise checks under NCT plan

"It is proposed that the glass in the windscreen and front side windows will be required to have a light transmission level of not less than 65 per cent in order to pass the test, according to the consultation document."

Here it mentions "excessive noise", which in the worst case might mean anything more than the original manfacturer spec, but I would have thought would be applied slightly more leniently to cope with some ageing of the exhaust packing.

All speculation though.

edit: ah, just read cronin_j's post

Some links:

S.I. No. 195/2008 — European Communities (Mechanically Propelled Vehicle Entry Into Service) (Amendment) Regulations 2008

S.I. No. 448/2007 — European Communities (Mechanically Propelled Vehicle Entry Into Service) Regulations 2007 2007 448

Council Directive 70/157/EEC

The last one details how the measurement will take place, which is critical.

"The microphone shall be situated 1.2 metres above ground level at a distance of 7.5 metres from the path of the vehicle's centre line" and then lots of complicated guff which I read to mean 3/4 maximum revs for the drive by.

I've no idea what 74db(A) at 7.5m means in practice. Back when I lived in the UK and had a proper car (bike engined track toy) I managed 96db @1m @ 45 degrees @ 7000RPM with a custom titanium exhaust, and IMO that wasn't remotely excessive - it met the most stringent trackday tests which many modded cars would fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

sorry but i cant see those test on open road... imagine all the side noises around on road!

7.5m and all that ather stuff just looks SOOO complicated and hard to do proper!

Windows thought are not bad... Its even good... I dont mind lightly tinded windows, which will be still allowed.

I did had a car with really heavy tinted windows, and it was a dissaster! Newer again! It really makes it so hard to drive during night time...

sorry but i cant see those test on open road... imagine all the side noises around on road!

7.5m and all that ather stuff just looks SOOO complicated and hard to do proper!

I'm guessing that they'll probably translate those regs into db(A) @ 1m @ 3/4 revs for a roadside test and if you fail, send you to a NCT centre.

The standard workaround in the UK is to swap a "test" exhaust on for the MOT then take it off again afterwards, but obviously random roadside testing makes this more difficult.

With the almost universal takeup of turbodiesels in Ireland the public have become very sensitive to any exhaust noise. I get "looks" from people when I rev my totally standard Suzuki Swift shopping trolley to 4k rpm (not at the the lights, obviously) :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

With the almost universal takeup of turbodiesels in Ireland the public have become very sensitive to any exhaust noise. I get "looks" from people when I rev my totally standard Suzuki Swift shopping trolley to 4k rpm (not at the the lights, obviously) :).[/quote]

Fair enough - but the average skangermobile's exhaust is much too loud and should be taken out with a rocket launcher. Normal modified cars are ok - not too bothered myself but some look and sound great but, as i said, some are just a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

DUBACC wrote: »

Fair enough - but the average skangermobile's exhaust is much too loud and should be taken out with a rocket launcher. Normal modified cars are ok - not too bothered myself but some look and sound great but, as i said, some are just a disgrace.

I have to agree, some of the idiots that drive up and down the town have massive exhausts on the micras and corollas and whatever other 1.0 - 1.4 car they can get there hands on and they are a complete nuisance up and down the town.

Theres a red 1.4 corolla with an exhaust thats louder at low revs than my Integra Type R is as full VTEC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

oh dear. may have to get rid of my aftermarket exhaust or at least fit a catalytic convertor :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Apexi Exhaust Control Valve!!

http://www.nengun.com/apexi/exhaust-control-valve
    The A'PEXi ECV (Exhaust Control Valve) allows you to control the loudness of your exhaust sound. The ECV is installed right after the catalytic converter, and adjustment of the valve is done through a cable run from the cockpit to the valve body. All you have to do is slide the lever installed in the car to get the appropriate sound. With the A'PEXi ECV you'll no longer need to get out of the car to fit a detachable silencer into the tail pipe.

See the Apexi ECV specifications website for more information regarding flange sizes and internal diameters. Compatibility is based on the standard exhaust systems, aftermarket systems will require the universal kits with custom installation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

yup, definitely getting one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭EasyFold

:D I agree with you fitting the biggest exchaust you can find is not going to make it any faster and let's be honest it is not going to make a 1100cc chase down a M3. On the other hand it might bark the damn M3 completely off the road. :D:D

The Apexi Valve is quite expensive but imagine how much fun you can have with it and the cops :p (now you hear me now you don't)
    draffodx wrote: »
    I have to agree, some of the idiots that drive up and down the town have massive exhausts on the micras and corollas and whatever other 1.0 - 1.4 car they can get there hands on and they are a complete nuisance up and down the town.

Theres a red 1.4 corolla with an exhaust thats louder at low revs than my Integra Type R is as full VTEC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 C.Rizzle

This is the biggest load of brown i have ever
    set me eyes upon!! Im going to get absolutly
    riden i brought in a Buddyclub spec2 exaust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭pablosd

my ITR with j's straight-through will def get banned,
    this looks like nice solution tho watch the vid!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hraGOKzB-4w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Apexi ECV will do the job and will fit any exhaust so when testing comes up it just closes off the exhaust, thats the route im going ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭TaxiManMartin

They are going to act on reports of loud exhausts too.

Mate of mine who is a copper was telling me that they could have 10 or 20 people in an apartment block ringing and complaining about 1 car for weeks.

They will be setting up just to catch the person in a particular car once enough complaints are made. They'll just sit there in the morning or evening and nab them.

They are going to act on reports of loud exhausts too.

Mate of mine who is a copper was telling me that they could have 10 or 20 people in an apartment block ringing and complaining about 1 car for weeks.

They will be setting up just to catch the person in a particular car once enough complaints are made. They'll just sit there in the morning or evening and nab them.

Good, thats the way it should be enforced, catch the people who are causing a nuisance of themselves in public built up areas and leave people who dont alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

can you go get your car tested before the ban comes in ,how do you know if your over the required decibels .

certain garages will have decibel readers