Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

joining the irish armed forces

• 15-07-2009 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭

Im 14 and female im only going into third year.
    im very intrested in joining the PDF i want to know whats involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

www.military.ie might be a place to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Welcome to the boards. Not saying this is your plan to drop out, but stay in school and get your leaving cert before joining up. That way if army life isn't for you, you still have a fall back plan.

Mods maybe a sticky with "Joining The PDF / RDF?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

A female on the internet?? Wanting to join the DF?? I don't believe you! :p

Seriously though, stay in school and get your Leaving Cert - if you're still interested, give it a lash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'll echo what the other's have said in regards to staying on in school, and leaving aside that you might drop out, a leaving cert leave's some great oppertunities for a soldier to advance themselves in the Defence Forces.

Also, apply for a cadetship and as an enlisted per.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭theirishguy

its great to see young people taking an interest in the army!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

i plan on finishing school first then joining the RDF then the PDF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 eightyhoursaway

well,

i've a few questions on joining / enlisting in the PDF...i hope some of you can answer :)

i was born in america to irish parents...thus, i've had my irish passport since birth i believe. i spent about 5 - 6 months of the year in ireland every year growing up until i was 18. i'm currently a sgt in the us army, but am getting out and i want to move back home (i call ireland home since all the family are there).

would the army take me? or do they frown upon it since i was a sgt in the usa?

any info would help me a lot as the recruitment section hasn't gotten back to me yet. feel free to PM me as well if you want further details...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

Unfortunately the army arent recruiting for enlisted personnel at the moment and may not be until 2011 , although they are currently accepting candidated for officer cadets.

I would think that being a Sgt in the US army would be an advantage, but I'm no expert. You may find background checks are difficult though, since you've spent so much of your life in a foreign country, then again your military service may help with this.

Also the age limit is 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

well,

i've a few questions on joining / enlisting in the PDF...i hope some of you can answer :)

i was born in america to irish parents...thus, i've had my irish passport since birth i believe. i spent about 5 - 6 months of the year in ireland every year growing up until i was 18. i'm currently a sgt in the us army, but am getting out and i want to move back home (i call ireland home since all the family are there).

would the army take me? or do they frown upon it since i was a sgt in the usa?

any info would help me a lot as the recruitment section hasn't gotten back to me yet. feel free to PM me as well if you want further details...

Hmm thats a good one alright.

The Irish DF sent a couple of guys to the Australia DF and transfered in holding their rank but they had the advantage that the Aussies use the same Assault rifles etc. If I was you I'd contact the Irish Embassy nearest to you or send an e-mail to the Dept. of Defence (Ireland) and see what they say about transferring in but you'd still have to be serving in the US Army while this was happening. But knowing the attitudes of the powers that be I'd say your chances are slim. AFAIK there is a Military Attache in the US Embassy in Dublin. Maybe you could request information through your chain of command.

At the moment the Irish DF (along with other branches of the Govt./Civil Service) have a Moritorium on Recruitment and Promotions which isn't up for review until October 2011. So even if you bit the bullet and decided to go through recruit training it wouldn't be til around that time that their would be recruiting (and even at that its only up for review)

Your next option is a Cadetship. Our officer branch are recruiting and the next competition is due in September and more than likely there will be another class next year considering this one just came out of the blue.
    Check out www.military.ie for info on age limits and other restrictions and requirements

pmg58 wrote: »
    Unfortunately the army arent recruiting for enlisted personnel at the moment and may not be until 2011 , although they are currently accepting candidated for officer cadets.

I would think that being a Sgt in the US army would be an advantage, but I'm no expert. You may find background checks are difficult though, since you've spent so much of your life in a foreign country, then again your military service may help with this.

Also the age limit is 25.
    Hard Larry wrote: »
    Hmm thats a good one alright.

The Irish DF sent a couple of guys to the Australia DF and transfered in holding their rank but they had the advantage that the Aussies use the same Assault rifles etc. If I was you I'd contact the Irish Embassy nearest to you or send an e-mail to the Dept. of Defence (Ireland) and see what they say about transferring in but you'd still have to be serving in the US Army while this was happening. But knowing the attitudes of the powers that be I'd say your chances are slim. AFAIK there is a Military Attache in the US Embassy in Dublin. Maybe you could request information through your chain of command.

At the moment the Irish DF (along with other branches of the Govt./Civil Service) have a Moritorium on Recruitment and Promotions which isn't up for review until October 2011. So even if you bit the bullet and decided to go through recruit training it wouldn't be til around that time that their would be recruiting (and even at that its only up for review)

Your next option is a Cadetship. Our officer branch are recruiting and the next competition is due in September and more than likely there will be another class next year considering this one just came out of the blue.
    Check out www.military.ie for info on age limits and other restrictions and requirements

thanks boys...it's lovely that they're doin no recruiting, isn't it? my ultimate goal is to get into the gards, so i figured the PDF would help wit that. maybe i'll just get a job as security at tesco or something. :mad:

the military and police work is all i know and done since i turned 18, so i'd love to continue with that career path. to be honest, it's just extremely tiring being away from the family so much and i'd love to be around wit them.

i'll give the southern brigade's recruitment / personnel office a ring on monday..i'll keep ye boys posted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

If you want the Gaurds forget the Army the service you have in US Army is more than enough to be looked favourably on.

Boards,ie has an Emergency Service board where all the Rozzers hang out. Its in the social section.

A few PSNI lads there too if that interests you. Best of luck mate.

Agreed, I don't think you'll need PDF service to help you get into the Guards. Unfortunately they also have a recruitment ban until 2011 as well, but best of luck with it. Theres plenty of info on the joining requirements on www.garda.ie, and if you sign up with www.publicjobs.ie you'll be able to register to get an alert when the Guards do start recruiting again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

I am from a country where they make you do military service. The army sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

SLUSK wrote: »
    All military personnel in Ireland are volunteers. We have no conscription. I'm sorry to hear that the army in your country sucks but it has no bearing on the DF here.

If you want the Gaurds forget the Army the service you have in US Army is more than enough to be looked favourably on.

you think so?
    Boards,ie has an Emergency Service board where all the Rozzers hang out. Its in the social section.

A few PSNI lads there too if that interests you. Best of luck mate.

thank you! :)

SLUSK wrote: »

what country is that? serving your nation is one of the greatest honors a man can have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

eightyhoursaway: There is no honour in serving your country. I do not care about Ireland, my home country or any other country.

I am not willing to die for some political och religious leaders. I am not willing to die for anything.

The army is just about putting on the jackboots and stomp on peoples faces like they do in Iran or Afganistan. Where is the honour in that?

I gave your first post the benefit of the doubt but it seems you just want to be disruptive here.

We're not big on trolls here. Slán leat.

didn't mean to start a fuss! sorry!

Not your fault at all, we get random trolls in from time to time. They never last.

didn't mean to start a fuss! sorry!

No need to apologise for the narrow mindedness of other people.

Actually, considering that you're a Sgt in the US Army, I'm sure there's plenty of people here who would be interested in hearing about your experiences, if you want to share them.

pmg58 wrote: »
    Actually, considering that you're a Sgt in the US Army, I'm sure there's plenty of people here who would be interested in hearing about your experiences, if you want to share them.

ask away! perhaps someone should start a new thread? i will not, however, implicate myself in any way or discuss classified information (obviously!). but other than that, feel free to ask. i am glad to share my experiences.

Wasn't so much that I have any particular questions, just that people here would have an interest in hearing about anything you might want to share, one of the mods here is in the California NG, and hes in Afghanistan at the minute, he regularly posts about what its like over there.

But you're right, a new thread would be the best place for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

ask away! perhaps someone should start a new thread? i will not, however, implicate myself in any way or discuss classified information (obviously!). but other than that, feel free to ask. i am glad to share my experiences.

I would be interested in hearing your experiances too,Manics posts are great to read.

I have a relation in the US army,engineers afaik.Never met him though but I would love to hear his stories of his job.

I would be interested in hearing your experiances too,Manics posts are great to read.

I have a relation in the US army,engineers afaik.Never met him though but I would love to hear his stories of his job.

I'll create a thread...