Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did you grow out of drinking?

• 14-07-2009 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭

When I say 'drinking', I mean the whole early college experience, starting at around whatever time Deal or No Deal comes on the TV and going three days on just noodles so as to afford dutch gold and buckfast.

When did you grow out of it? Did you grow out of it?

I have to say I came a pretty boring fecker in second year of college - knuckled down with coursework and with my part time job of c. 20 hours a week was way too tired to bother with too much boozing. Needed to eat right too - my liver still hasn't forgiven me for what was an effectively alcoholic 1st year. Going into 4th year now, my final year, and booze is just something that happens on a friday or saturday night and is quickly forgotten and regretted profoundly the morning after. I have no nostalgia for that destructive period of my life. (Well, maybe a little :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Raemie

Ive never grown into it, im afraid that at the grand old age of 20 i have a tendancy to develop a flu or throat infection if i spend the day and night drinking so its an early night and plenty of vitamins for me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Ze drinking is overrated. Put me in a snug in a nice old pub, with a pint of Murphys in hand and friendly company about, and Ill be far more content than being hammered in a cheesy club playing modern "classic" toons.

I grew out of it on Thursday morning.

I may grow back into it tonight.....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

25.... still not grown outta it... jasis ya shower of losers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Heading into final year in September so I may be forced to grow out of it :( I've never been as bad/amazing as I was in the first few months of first year though, where I'd think nothing of sitting down to watch TV, with nobody else drinking, and pull out a shoulder. Nowadays I hear myself saying things like "maybe just a few cans...a bottle of whiskey between the two of us mighn't be totally neccesary..." which I never would have said a year and a half ago. Sad fact is I think I'm too old, not sure I physically could drink at that level anymore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭TedB

Heading into final year in September so I may be forced to grow out of it :( I've never been as bad/amazing as I was in the first few months of first year though, where I'd think nothing of sitting down to watch TV, with nobody else drinking, and pull out a shoulder. Nowadays I hear myself saying things like "maybe just a few cans...a bottle of whiskey between the two of us mighn't be totally neccesary..." which I never would have said a year and a half ago. Sad fact is I think I'm too old, not sure I physically could drink at that level anymore :(

Tell me about it... There was a time when I could wake up the morning after some serious booze and crack open a few tins. Or go into college half cut after a few pints. Can you imagine going into a final year tutorial half cut now? Jesus Christ, even the thought of it is giving me anxiety!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Grew out of it in 4th year mainly.

First year went out 3-4 nights a week. Woke up every day and made it into college

Second year went out 2-3 nights a week and took off 1 day every couple of weeks

Third year went out 2 nights a week and took off 1 day a week sometimes 2

Fourth year went out 1 -2 nights a week max and took off 1-2 days a week.

Its been 2 months since ive finished college and now i only go out once a week