Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

want to get into running

• 14-07-2009 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭

hey guys

I've been reading through a few threads here and I'm getting interested in doing some running.

A bit about myself. I'm 17. 5' 8'' and 14 stone. I've been reading about how running helps to lose weight / get fitter so I think I'll give it a go and get fit for college. Also, I'd like to finish a marathon some day in my life :pac:

So as a newbie, I just have 1 question. Should I start off walking and build some muscle in my legs, or should I just go for a nice jog until I'm tired? I don't do a lot of exercise, but I walk everywhere whenever I can.

Thanks,
    Tom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Hi Tom,
    Fair play to you for your commitment to getting fit. You're taking the sensible approach by not just haring off without a plan, or taking advice, and getting yourself disillusioned with the whole thing.

Right, go to http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?UAN=30 which will take you from zip to 30 minutes continuous running in eight weeks. It involves a run/walk programme, three times a week, to achieve this target. If you can achieve this then you are a runner.

There is also a lot of other useful information on this site (though some of it is blocked to non-subscribers).

Check back in eight weeks and let us know how you're getting on.

Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭pudgey22

Hey Tom, fair play to you for wanting to get into running, i've wanted to do the same since i was 17 but only got round to it properly ten years later!!
    When i started i used do 3k's and have to stop loads as was knackered, keep it up tho, you'll find yourself being able to do 10k's in no time.
    From my own experience, my advice would be to try and run as much as possible, slowing to an almost walk pace jog to recover,it'll boost your confidence loads, it's good to train the body and mind into a KEEP RUNNING attitude.
    Enter as many events as you can, it's something to aim for, 5k's, 10k's, you'll end up looking at ads for 10miles or half marathons saying, hmm, why not..
    It's hard going sometimes but it's well rewarding!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

thanks a lot to both of ye. That 8 week programme is something I'll definately give a go. I'd like to train for a few months and then enter a few small competitions whenever I can. And I'll also try the 'walk pace jog' recovery.

And who knows? Maybe someday I'll be running alongside ye :pac:

I'll start my programme Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If there's a local 5k on at around the end of that 8 week program, enter it. It's good to have a goal to aim for, and it'll provide a little extra motivation. If you were in Dublin I'd suggest the Rathfarnham 5k in early October, but clearly you're not...

Not to worry, I've found a website that keeps up to date with competitions in Cork.
    There's a 5K in September that'll I'll try to aim for :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭BJohnson

All good advice so far! Entering a race 2 or 3 months from now is a great idea. A little bit of fear of failure really helps to get you out the door for a run some nights... at least it does for me. The running/walking combo is great too - too many people think you have to start running 30 mins non-stop in order to get into running, and for someone starting from scratch, that might be too much. Mixing some running and walking together, and gradually increasing the run portion and decreasing the walk portion is a great way to build up slowly - you'll also be very pleased with yourself when you see it's really not that hard.

I'd also recommend seeing if there's a Fit4Life group near you. I go every now and then and I've sent a lot of patients who are looking to get into running. The groups are geared towards beginner runners, and they go at a very easy pace. It's a non-competitive atmosphere, and the group sticks together. You never have to worry about being "too slow". It adds a big social aspect to the sport as well - it becomes less about having to get out and exercise, and more about having fun and getting in a good chat along the way.

And above all, don't over think it - just get out and do it. I think one of my all-time favourite running quotes is "Be dumb like a horse and just run".

Thanks Johnson. I'll look out for the Fit4Life groups. Might be a good motivator :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Larkin501 wrote: »
    And who knows? Maybe someday I'll be running alongside ye :pac:
    We're all just runners here (well, except for the triathletes. :rolleyes:).
    The first time you put on those running shoes, head out the door, and take that first step, you'll be running alongside us, but you'll be a runner too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭messygirl

Hiya

First thing you have to do is get fitted for running shoes, if you are in cork have a google and get fitted, find out your foot type and try and get a gait analysis. they can be fairly expensive but if you have the cash to splash then do it! They are the only type of equipment you will need for the moment. Unfortunately they can be about 100euro but the right shoes are pretty important. Spend as long as you want deciding on the shoes. My boyf spent about 120 on running shoes that he just picked up and after two months he had to throw them out because they weren't right for his foot.

I just started myself last month, the only advice I can give you is just head out, no matter what the excuse, and try and do it around 3 times a week. I find the weight watcher meals are pretty handy because it takes 45 minutes in the oven, so i throw one in, go for my walk/jog/run and when i come back dinners ready! :) In between I do some pilates (got a book in the library) and i do that in between running days to keep me in the habit of exercising and it kinda ingrains inyour mentality "ok i dont feel like running today so i will do pilates/skipping etc" that way you dont feel guilty! I looked at those plans but I dont wear a watch out running so I walk and then jog when i feel ready and when i get out of breath i tell myself to ust run to the lamp-post/car etc and then i can walk again. Do what your body tells you is right.

Best of luck! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

hey guys

I've been reading through a few threads here and I'm getting interested in doing some running.

A bit about myself. I'm 17. 5' 8'' and 14 stone. I've been reading about how running helps to lose weight / get fitter so I think I'll give it a go and get fit for college. Also, I'd like to finish a marathon some day in my life :pac:

So as a newbie, I just have 1 question. Should I start off walking and build some muscle in my legs, or should I just go for a nice jog until I'm tired? I don't do a lot of exercise, but I walk everywhere whenever I can.

Thanks,
    Tom

I dunno which college you are going to but many have athletics clubs that encourage new members. This gives you company on your runs and also chance to meet new people in the college. It is where i have got to know many people in my college that i would be close with. They also welcome all levels and can help in your development

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭notnem

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Hi Tom,
    It involves a run/walk programme, three times a week, to achieve this target. If you can achieve this then you are a runner.

I started working on fitness a few months ago walking, and then building up to run / walks (4 mins running, 1 min walking) and I'm up to 15km at the moment and could easily do more. I found this book very useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

Not to worry, I've found a website that keeps up to date with competitions in Cork.

Thats a great website, been using it for the last couple of years.
    The guy deserves massive kudos for all the effort he puts in.

Back on topic, I followed a similar walk/run plan when i started and its def the way to go.
    I had tried just going out and running but was going too fast and wearing myself out really fast.
    Slow and steady would def be my advice when starting off.