Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fat runners??

• 14-07-2009 5:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭

So, I was wondering how many fat runners are out there plodding along. When I took up running a few days a week in Feb I was almost 17stone, I'm 6 foot and broad enough, but a fair belly on me. I did a few 10k's, Adare, Plassey and Ballinasloe and brought my time from 52mins down to 45mins. Tried a 10mile in Kilnaboy, was well happy with my 82mins and half marathons in the Burren and Achill, coming in at just under 2 hours in Achill all while bringing the weight down to 15 and a half, the moobs have gone but could still lose another 2stone to lose the gut.

Now at all these places I've been looking around for fellow fatties, and they're few and far between, skinny ppl everywhere, (love the speedos by the way ladies, I'm sure most of the guys would agree), but few few larger ppl who usually tend to stick to the power walking at the back.

Just wondering is there many big guys out there who do run and maybe don't go to events? Or ex-fatties stories even?
    The worst experience I had was in Adare, I was about 3 miles in and really really struggling and a woman passes me by, looks at me, and says really patronisingly, "Well done", before breezing past me. She probably meant it well but I didn't appreciate it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭shotcaller

I'm a fairly heft fella myself. I'm a shade under 6 foot and weight about 15 stone but fortunately don't have a huge belly. I'm def not skinny but I am fairly broad. Though I have lost a good bit since taking up running again.

Great times on the 10Ks though, you'd put me to shame anyway. A mate of mine has started running recently and has lost a good bit of weight already. Funnily enough, another friend who is lighter and looks fitter, but is a smoker, has come running with us and can't keep up with us!

Was Adare your first race? We all have runs where it doesn't go to plan but we can't let them get us down.

Keep up the good work and I hope to see you in October!

Ps: If you want a great article on exercise and weight-loss, I can pm it you you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I was a rather big girl when I started running about a year ago (just under 15st @ 5'6"), but I've lost around 4 stone since then through running a lot and watching my diet. I did my first race 3 months after I started running, the Rathfarnham 5k last October, and once I saw that I wasn't the slowest or fattest person there it was a massive confidence boost. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

It can be hard if you go past people who are finding it tough - you want to offer support but without condescending or belittling them. I know when I found the going tough in my 1st marathon the encouragement of other runners really helped so just take it for what it was - a pat on the back for a good honest effort.

Well done on the weight loss and especially the times, tidy running there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭pudgey22

How're ye finding the weight loss/eating, i'm training for the marathon, it's hard to work out how much to be eating to lose weight but still have the right amount for the energy to be doing 10milers and the rest. Especially not eating in the evenings and going for early runs, i find tough out!
    Not trying to turn this into weightwatchers, just wondering how ye're going about it!
    Thanks shotcaller, i'll take that article from you for a look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭connie_c

ive gone from 17 stone 7 pounds to 15 stone 5 pounds ish over about 11 weeks now.im 25 and 5 foot 11. im getting geared up to do a few 10k runs in the autumn.

my weight loss has been quick but not unhealthy i dont think. i gave up beer except for one night a week. i was always having pints after work or with dinner.i was at the point where it was a can or 2 every day and that seems to have been the key.the complements have been great. all my friends have noticed. im wearing lycra shorts as i write this. the girfriend bought me a pair today in lidl. and i look good.

anyway here are a few things ive been doing.

slimline milk in my coffee, 2 lt water per day while in work, no pizza or fast food (that went out the window at oxegen). wholegrain bread, no breaded chicken or anything processed if you can help it.Ive cut out cheese almost completely.
    I have a superquinn salad for about half the lunches during the week. they have nice readymade ones. i try keep the lunch calories at 300 ish. breakfast its all bran. a small fry up on a sunday. during the week i eat whatever i feel like for dinner within reason.

and i have a crunchie every second day.

its not that hard diet wise for me. the running is the real work but my energy levels seem ok. did 7.7 k tonight in 39 mins. slow and steady but im happy with my progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

pudgey22 wrote: »
    How're ye finding the weight loss/eating, i'm training for the marathon, it's hard to work out how much to be eating to lose weight but still have the right amount for the energy to be doing 10milers and the rest.

Well done pudgey on the running and thats a great 10k time.

Did the Cork Marathon this year which was my first. I was eating 5 meals a day (no junk) to keep up the energy for the last 4 to 5 weeks and was still losing weight. My doc made me eat last thing at night as i was losing so much weight once i started doing training runs over the 12 mile mark.

Might be no harm to have a chat with your doctor as everyone is different and what suited me maybe totally wrong for you.

Best of luck with the training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I knew this thread was for me! :D

6' and 14st 4, so my BMI is only 27 or so, but I'm carrying far too much fat for my light frame. When I was 30 I was only 11 stone. The last 10k I ran was the Dublin port tunnel run. It took me 73 and a half minutes, more than double my PB. :eek:

Got my weight down from 15 st to 13-4 last year, but it's rebounded again. :o

It's mostly my diet. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

pudgey22 wrote: »
    So, I was wondering how many fat runners are out there plodding along. When I took up running a few days a week in Feb I was almost 17stone, I'm 6 foot and broad enough, but a fair belly on me. I did a few 10k's, Adare, Plassey and Ballinasloe and brought my time from 52mins down to 45mins. Tried a 10mile in Kilnaboy, was well happy with my 82mins and half marathons in the Burren and Achill, coming in at just under 2 hours in Achill all while bringing the weight down to 15 and a half, the moobs have gone but could still lose another 2stone to lose the gut.

Now at all these places I've been looking around for fellow fatties, and they're few and far between, skinny ppl everywhere, (love the speedos by the way ladies, I'm sure most of the guys would agree), but few few larger ppl who usually tend to stick to the power walking at the back.

Just wondering is there many big guys out there who do run and maybe don't go to events? Or ex-fatties stories even?
    The worst experience I had was in Adare, I was about 3 miles in and really really struggling and a woman passes me by, looks at me, and says really patronisingly, "Well done", before breezing past me. She probably meant it well but I didn't appreciate it!!
    Well i'd defo fall into this too, was around the 18 stone mark 18 months ago when I started running again and was nearly last to finish a couple of race, 10k time of 66 mins and a 5 mile time of 50 . :) . Should go a lot faster then that now myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

It can be hard if you go past people who are finding it tough - you want to offer support but without condescending or belittling them. I know when I found the going tough in my 1st marathon the encouragement of other runners really helped so just take it for what it was - a pat on the back for a good honest effort.

Last year in Cork I saw a lady walking halfway through the second relay stage. I tried to give her some encouragement, and she told me to f*ck off. Nice! B*tch.

On the other hand, I was really struggling in Belfast, 4 years ago, when a relay runner passed me and loudly shouted right into my face, something like "come on marathon boy, don't walk, run". I could have been offended, but as a matter of fact it really helped me along, at least for half a mile or so. I bumped into him after the finish and said thank you.

45 mins for a 10k is a pretty good time for a beginner, especially with another stone or two to lose. There's definitely a fast guy hiding inside you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

In a recient 5k i was passed by a group and managed to catch them again when one of them started to walk with about 1500m to go, I give him a little shout and he started running again, fecker beat me too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

shels4ever wrote: »
    In a recient 5k i was passed by a group and managed to catch them again when one of them started to walk with about 1500m to go, I give him a little shout and he started running again, fecker beat me too...

LOL - the scumbag. :pac:

Well lesson learned. Less of the nice person next time out and more sneakiness. Let the ego rip with your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭messed_up

shels4ever wrote: »

Hate that lol I always try to encourage people to do well enough to finish just behind me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

The only encouragement I've given people is from the side of the road. Hoping that all those people lining the streets this year will shout some encouragement my way!

Well done on the weight loss Pudgey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I get stopped a lot by people on the canal usually people who seen me starting out and barley been able to move congratulating me on the weight loss etc i don't think it's patronising at all.

take it for what it is a bit of encouragement always puts a bounce in my step.

i think the reason you don't see too many fattys running is you don't be running for too long before you're not much of a fatty anymore :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

i'd lost a stone in 6 weeks just before i started running... then weight loss slowed right down and it's taken another 5 months to lose another 1.5 stone. Could do with losing another half. I have to say i feel better/fitter/stronger with every lb that goes and like ntlbell I'm loving the comments/ compliments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭pudgey22

Thanks all for the comments on the weight loss :) , there's some great stories there from people going down a few stone or more, congrats all!
    As for my times, Ballinasloe was short by a few hundred meters but i'm stickin to the time for confidence reasons!!
    It'll be great to go down to a flat stomach, which has to come eventually if keep up with the running and keep down the choccy bars!!
    Do you lot ever meet each other at races or that, twould be good to know put faces to the names, is there a secret handshake, or nod as you pass a fellow runner on Salthill prom or the arena in UL??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭barkingmadlolly

Finally a thread for me :D

I only took up running in January and through diet and exercise I have lost over 2 and a half stone since then. I did a 10KM race in March and ran the 5 mile last week and the difference was amazing - it was much easier last week to stay going and crossing that line was amazing.

Well done Pudgey on your weight loss - thanks for sharing, really inspriring to read peoples stories on here