Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tv licence

• 14-07-2009 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭

I don't have a tv, never anything good on so I never bothered getting one and paying for channels, licence and the tv itself. But yet they keep on ringing my door bell looking for one. The first time it was funny(since I was actually moving in at the time) the second I didn't really care about it was a year after I moved in and thought that if they come around once a year that's fine, but now not too long after the last one they have arrieved at my door again. They didn't ring the bell so I didn't here them and now I have a letter.
    Our TV Licence Inspector was unable to gain attention at this address today.

According to our records this address is not covered by a current television lecence. Under Wireless Telegraphy legislation you are obliged to hold a current TV Licence if there is receiving apparatus (e.g. television set, aerial or both) in or on the premises. Please ensure a licence is taken out within five working days to prevent further action being taken.

The underlined bit is highlighted and the bold bit is in bold.

What can I do to make them finally cop on that I do not have a tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

You don't have a TV? Freak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Orla K wrote: »

Answer the door and tell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

You don't have a TV? Freak!

I do get that alot but I normally watch good programmes/films whenever I want thanks to the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Blow up RTE!

TheZohan wrote: »
    Answer the door and tell them.

I did that the first two times, the latest time they didn't ring the bell so I didn't know they were even there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

I don't have a tv, never anything good on so I never bothered getting one and paying for channels, licence and the tv itself. But yet they keep on ringing my door bell looking for one. The first time it was funny(since I was actually moving in at the time) the second I didn't really care about it was a year after I moved in and thought that if they come around once a year that's fine, but now not too long after the last one they have arrieved at my door again. They didn't ring the bell so I didn't here them and now I have a letter.

I can't seem to find it but there's a website of this guy in the UK who has no TV yet they have been treating him for years as if he has an harassing him into getting a license.

I'm pretty sure before they summons you or whatever they have to send an inspector inside (who by the way can speak six languages and has no sympathy for women who were just dumped, although I think you won't get this reference having no TV). When he comes around, give him an earful or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Riordan123

Ring 'Em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Write a stronlgy worded letter of complaint.I like how they assume that everyone has a t.v. and then just tell them to get a license rather than actually checking first.It would be like if the guards arrested some random person who had never committed a crime and then started questioning them just in case they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Fair play for not having a TV. Bearly nothing on, and when there is, it's never on RTE. Just say you don't have a TV. Wait for the fellow to come around and look for a TV in the house. It'd be hilarious.

Here it is... from the UK but it might be useful or at least horrifying

http://www.marmalade.net/lime/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭/V\etalfish

You still need a license if you have a monitor/laptop, basically anything that can display tele channels on it!
    That's where they got me and I was forced to get one.

I can't seem to find it but there's a website of this guy in the UK who has no TV yet they have been treating him for years as if he has an harassing him into getting a license.

I'm pretty sure before they summons you or whatever they have to send an inspector inside (who by the way can speak six languages and has no sympathy for women who were just dumped, although I think you won't get this reference having no TV). When he comes around, give him an earful or something.

Lol, I have watched a tv before, in other peoples houses of course. (which I've noticed are always on as 'background noise' I like peace and quite)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

was it addressed to you personally, or to "the resident"?

You still need a license if you have a monitor/laptop, basically anything that can display tele channels on it!

Can you give us more info on that? There's endless threads on boards about this, and the general conclusion was that monitors and laptops don't fall into the definition of a TV set. Mobile devices are specifically excluded, for example.
    Lol, I have watched a tv before, in other peoples houses of course. (which I've noticed are always on as 'background noise' I like peace and quite)

I hate the use of a television as background noise too. If I wanted background noise I would move to a building site. It's distracting.

Here we go
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/consumer-affairs/media/tv_licences
    If your household, business or institution possesses a television or equipment capable of receiving a television signal, you are required by law to have a television licence. Even if the television or other equipment is broken and currently unable to receive a signal, it is regarded as capable of being repaired so it can receive a signal and you must hold a licence for it. Failure to produce evidence of a television licence to an inspector can result in a court appearance and on conviction, you can receive a substantial fine. People who have been fined and who have breached court orders directing them to pay their television licence can be imprisoned.

You do not require a television licence to watch television on your computer or mobile phone. However, you do require a licence if the computer is used together with any other apparatus to receive a signal.

Unless you have a Happauge TV capture card or similar you've been had for 160 quid I'm afraid.

Edit: Sorry for being off topic. Just noticed there's already another thread on this.

was it addressed to you personally, or to "the resident"?

It was 'Dear Occupier'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

I'd just ignore them to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Riordan123

If you arrange a date for them to inspect you could just put your laptop/computer monitor in the boot of your car!!!! :D

It was 'Dear Occupier'

They are just mass mailing where you live then. Disregard.

I've met two different inspectors, they call around to houses without a tv licence, this was not mailed to me, it was written on and signed by the guy that called over. (I think one of the ones that called before recognise the writing)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Great you don't have a TV. Write them a letter, it is not really that complicated and works.
    http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/tvlicence.htm

Is this not something you could figure out for yourself? Or did you just want to let us all know?

They are trying to bully people into having a TV licence. you do not have a TV or any means of recieving TV signals. They do not know who you are. It doesn't matter who signed it, it's still not addressed directly to you.

Next time they turn up and you are in tell them you don't have a TV or and device for recieving signals. If they ask if you have a PC tell them you don't have any device for recieving TV signals on your PC.

They are chancing their arm and working on people fears of a fine.

Great you don't have a TV. Write them a letter, it is not really that complicated and works.
    http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/tvlicence.htm

Is this not something you could figure out for yourself? Or did you just want to let us all know?

I've just seen the post card and was fairly pissed off, in that state I wouldn't have been able to figure it out so I needed to vent to calm me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

if i havent paid my tv license and the come to the door and i tell them i dont live there anymore, can someone else sign up for the license and then we dont have to back date the license? its rented house...

could save a few quid when they come a knockin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

jumpguy wrote: »
    Fair play for not having a TV. Bearly nothing on, and when there is, it's never on RTE. Just say you don't have a TV. Wait for the fellow to come around and look for a TV in the house. It'd be hilarious.

Write to them a nice letter inviting them round for a nice TV nosey round your place and a nice cuppa tea.

Sorted!:pac:

Here it is... from the UK but it might be useful or at least horrifying

http://www.marmalade.net/lime/

Horrifying indeed. They made that poor man's life a misery. All those ..... letters. The man actually uses the word "persecuted". Seriously, the authority are at worst incompetent. Mildly annoying yes. Harrasment? Persecution? www.getafrickengrip.com

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

hope to hear from you in five days, taking into consideration that your legs havent been smashed in.

Horrifying indeed. They made that poor man's life a misery. All those ..... letters. The man actually uses the word "persecuted". Seriously, the authority are at worst incompetent. Mildly annoying yes. Harrasment? Persecution? www.getafrickengrip.com

The site is definitely way over the top (although I kind of thought it was tongue in cheek). The point is though, that the OP's wish to inform An Post that she doesn't have a TV might be impossible, unless she wants to make a big whiny website about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I wouldn't worry about the letter, i got the same one 8 months ago. Haven't heard from them since.

-Funk

The site is definitely way over the top (although I kind of thought it was tongue in cheek).
    Maybe, I don't think so.
    The point is though, that the OP's wish to inform An Post that she doesn't have a TV might be impossible, unless she wants to make a big whiny website about it.

Like I said already, write them a letter it works. I've not heard from them since. It really is that easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Timarida

If your property has a television or equipment capable of receiving a television signal (using an aerial, satellite dish, cable or other means) must have a television licence. I.e. you can have a monitor or laptop that cannot recieve a television signal, you are OK.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/consumer-affairs/media/tv_licences