Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cutting own hair

• 14-07-2009 2:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

I cut my own hair. I must say it's a really good idea. I've done it a year now using only a nail scissors (which I don't use on my nails!).

No major accidnts, well my hair used to be quite long but I but in crazy short layers which meant there wasn't much long bits left. And then had to cut it all off 'cause it had become all ''ratteldy and tatteldy'' as I'd call it and very thin...And that one time I decided I wanted a slanted full fringe...But nothing major I couldn't disguise!

My hair's cool now, m side fringe's back and it's growing quick. Just wondering does anyone else cut theis own hair? Any major accidents happen anyone? And any thoughts in general on the subject?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭idunnoutellme

Thats a bit mad nettie, you must be really talented at it.
    I couldnt imagine cutting my own hair....i did chop into at the front once cos the hairdresser gave me blunt layers years ago - nothing fancy came out of me chopping it - but still looked better than what ya one had done *sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

Could never ever do it, i know hair grows but nope sounds bonkers, i have had a friend fix my fringe once but thats about as far as i would go.
    When it comes to my hair i always leave it to the professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭madbev90210

Hey OP yea i cut my own hair on occasion.. usually my side layers and also gave myself a fringe last year which looked well. I wouldnt cut the back though :eek: Worked with a girl before that did though. She would lift her hair up at the back of her head and cut! apparently a hairdresser relative taught her and it looked grand!

Hairdressers never do my hair the way I like it so I need to "fix" some bits! Now if only i could do my own colour half as good I'd be quids in! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Riordan123

I tried, but you have to do everything oppositly cuzza the mirror!! It needs alot of practise and a bit of embarrassment!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I would be too scared, but my mate does it all the time and it looks great. Might get her to do mine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Nettie

Really though, even if you cut huge layers everywhere in no particular order it won't look bad! There's not much a difference if you cut layers. The biggest thing that could make you look wrong is if you cut a bad fringe. Apart from that, even disasters don't look that bad!

Oh, some of you mentioned cutting the back. I think it's grand. People say to me ''What about keeping it straight at the ends at the back?''...Well my ends aren't straight! But nobody notices 'cause of all the layers I have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Apart from tidying my fringe (and that was with a cheap hairdressing scissors) I wouldn't dare. Tempted in these recessionary times but my hair is well short anyway i wouldn't want to botch it up too much. Do you cut much off Nettie or just a few millimeters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I've definitely been known to hack away at my own. Did so for a good nine months. Could do with another chop soon. I have really long hair and three major layers but they're blended, quite nicely actually.

Only thing I ever had trouble with was the back as I didn't have a big enough mirror to see to do it well, but it's turned out okay from what I can tell..

Turns out grand to be honest.

..might help that my mother's a hairdresser, and I've never been able to justify spending money on haircuts ever since! Free haircuts for life! :p

Well the most I've cut off from the ends was about 4 inches. And my layers are really short...About half way between my ears and the top of my head. So that's kinda a good bit.

I understand people when they say they're too scared to do it. But after a few times it gets easier and easier! I started off just trimming my fringe and after about a month of occasional long layering I decided to go for it and give my whole head a make over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I've trimmed my fringe occasionally just because it grows out so bloody fast.

I wouldn't dare do any more than that because I can barely blow dry my own hair, I'd probably hack away at a vein if I tried to cut it...

fonpokno wrote: »
    I'd probably hack away at a vein if I tried to cut it...

I found that very funny...:L:L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭2xj3hplqgsbkym

I tried it twice once the night before my first communion, I wanted a fringe and my mother wouldn't let me get one, should have listened to her, it was disastrous and I have the pictures to prove it!

You would think I learned my lesson but no, tried to do the same thing almost 20 years later, it was equally disastrous, I had to clip back the fringe 'till it grew, I looked about 5, so never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

I cut my own fringe once the day of my sisters confirmation.. needless to say my mother wasnt too pleased. It was wayy too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Unless you're getting your hair styled/dyed, I really don't understand why people would pay good money on haircuts.

I'm growing my hair longish so I don't cut it for now... but when it gets to the right length I'll just trim it myself to keep it the same length. It's what I did when I had short hair.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I did it when it was short alright. I'd get it styled in the hairdressers then keep trimming it myself till I wanted it restyled or reshaped. I got a razoring scissors in Boots and got stuck in. It was grand as I wasn't really shaping it as such, just trimming the layers up to get it all funky again. I trimmed my fringe all the time too. I don't think I could cut my hair in a straight line though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

When I was 12 my brother and I decided to cut each others hair. I said that I would cut his hair first which I did and made a complete balls of it, when he said your turn now I said no I am after changing my mind I don't need a haircut now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

How do ye cut the back of your hair straight?? I can't quite figure it out...

fonpokno wrote: »
    How do ye cut the back of your hair straight?? I can't quite figure it out...

I don't cut the back straight! I mentioned it above in an earlier post. But nobody notices if it's not straight at the back if you have layers.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I've been cutting my own hair for three or four years now. I got sick of barbers that don't understand the word 'trim' and after a particularly bad haircut I vowed never to go back.

You get better at it but it's a bit hit and miss. Sometimes it looks great and people have complimented me on it, other times it looks a bit off. I don't care, I've saved a few hundred quid on haircuts by now and I'm no worse off than I was before.

I'm a guy though so hair is not exactly my priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

My friend cut her own hair using instructions from a magazine a few years ago and it turned out fantastically. Shaggy long layered cuts were really in at the time and the instructions for such a cut were :

(1) toss all your hair forwards over your head and make a ponytail with it right above the centre of your forehead
    (2)cut between 1-3inches straight off the end of the ponytail.
    (3)hold the end of the ponytail in your hand and chop vertically up into the last 2inches to feather the ends of the cut.

Then you just let your hair out of the ponytail , shake it back off your head and voila - fantastic long layered hair! Or at least hers was anyway. I was too afraid to try it in case she had magically achieved the perfect ponytail angle to create such a masterpiece and that it could never be repeated on my head. I've often been tempted to try it though.The instructions were in Elle or Cosmo I think. If you google "cutting your own hair" there seems to be lots of "how to" guides.

I think I'd be too afraid to attempt it.I find letting trained professionals lose on my hair stressful enough!That said,I've let friends with no experience trim it before and it really didn't look any different after having them cut a straight across wedge off the end than it did after a hairdresser had agonised for 20 mins over a trim of 2 inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

I cut my fringe all the time. It grows extremely fast, and it's only a matter of cutting the ends off, and then chopping in at the ends randomly to feather it a bit. I never like it when hairdressers cut it anyway. I wouldn't attempt to re-shape it completely myself, but I can work from what I have. Verrrry occassionally, I'll shape the front a bit if it's getting a bit messy, but only if it's completely necessary - I'm always afraid I'll feck it up horribly.

Would never attempt to do the rest of my hair. I haven't got the steadiest of hands, so it would end up all over the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I often cut my own fringe and layers at the front. I've messed up a couple of times but I just keep it clipped back then until it grows back enough to fix. My bits of advice would be:
    - Invest in a cheap hairdressers scissors - it makes such a difference compared to the nailscissors
    - Give yourself plenty of time. Cut it wet, but leave it a good 2cm longer than you think you actually want it. Then dry and style it, and if it's really still too long (it won't be!) you can always cut it again next time you wash your hair.
    - Finally, and most importantly, you may realise when you have a couple of drinks in you and you're getting ready for a night out that your fringe could do with a trim. From bitter experience, I can tell you - DON'T DO IT!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I am not a trained hairdresser but I do cut hair. I have 9 friends (a mixture of male and female) who come to me regularly for a free haircut. I do trim my own fringe and occasionally the layers but no more than that. When I kept it cropped I used to trim it myself to prevent paying a hairdresser €50 once a month for a 5 minute job. Now that it's long I leave it to the professionals for the big jobs.

I have only had one disaster. It was the first time I ever gave anyone a haircut and it was my mother. I cut it waaaay too short. That has never happened since. Poor Mam though - she's never let me near her hair again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

i get so many compliments on my hair and i haven't been to a hairdressers in over 2 years!

I keep it quite long but have a style that i chop into it about once a month. its nothing brilliant but it does.

I was so sick of being charged nearly 40e by rude women who wouldn't listen to what i wanted and being disappointed when I left.

If i was ever drastically changing my style I would go to a hairdresser but I love mine the way it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Sometimes I cut my own hair outta boredom. The first time I did I was about six or seven and I had a fringe at the time which I decided I no longer wanted so I cut it off..... Hilarious! I had just little spikey bits at the front for ages!

Think I've come on a bit since then! No one ever asks do i cut my hair myself so I guess that's good! I cut my ex bf's hair too once upon a time. He had long-ish hair which I made beautiful haha