Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling Championship draw tomorrow

• 11-07-2009 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

I'm starting this topic now because we might not even need a draw if results go the right way. After the Munster final tomorrow there'll be the draw to determine the pairings for the remainder of the Championship.

Galway, Cork, Limerick and Laois have all qualified for the last qualifying round. Since Galway and Laois have already met, we already know the pairings for the next round.

Galway v Cork
    Limerick v Laois

For the quarter finals, teams that have already met will be kept apart. This will only occur if Cork and Tipp are both quarter finalists, as are Limerick and Waterford.

If Tipp beat Waterford tomorrow, we must meet Galway or Cork, as we can't be paired with Limerick again. That would leave the AI quarters as:

Waterford v Cork/Galway (winners face Kilkenny)
    Dublin v Limerick/Laois (winners face Tipperary)

If Waterford win tomorrow however it will be more open. The only certain thing is the Munster champions will definitely be paired with Dublin or whoever defeat them for the semis. It will become much more clear after the final tomorrow anyway.

Certainly it will be a huge boost for whoever wins tomorrow. Not only do you avoid Kilkenny for the final, the possibility of meeting Dublin or Limerick in a semi would be a lot more appealing than coming up against a Cork, Tipp or Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I take it the Galway Cork game will be next Saturday to avoid a clash with the Connaught final? Double header in Thurles perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

If Tipperary do win tomorrow and it works out the way you have it put up there, Galway will have a tough run to the final. We'll have to beat Cork, Waterford and Kilkenny before even getting to it !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

spideog7 wrote: »
    If Tipperary do win tomorrow and it works out the way you have it put up there, Galway will have a tough run to the final. We'll have to beat Cork, Waterford and Kilkenny before even getting to it !!

God be with the days when we were straight through to the semis :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Galway versus Waterford should be a cracker, hopefully Galway will win because they are, along with Tipp, the only team that can beat Kilkenny.

I'd expect Dublin to beat Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Orizio wrote: »
    Galway versus Waterford should be a cracker, hopefully Galway will win because they are, along with Tipp, the only team that can beat Kilkenny.

Aw bless. You'd even sacrifice your own counties progression in the Championship just to see Kilkenny beaten :p

Waterford/Galway would be good though. We've only met them once in the Championship since 98, and that was some poxy group qualifier in Walsh Park a few years back, so it'd be great to see the teams go right at it in somewhere like Thurles.

Actually, if I were to predict the rest of the year, I could see Tipp winning tomorrow and Galway defeating Cork next week. That would leave Waterford/Galway and Dublin/Limerick quarter finals. I think we'd take Galway, but would fall to Kilkenny in the semi's by a good 10-15 points. I could definitely see Dublin beating Limerick though, and then putting up a good fight against Tipp but just fall short. Kilkenny to then beat Tipp in the final by 6-7.

You heard it here first. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭davestar

im pretty sure galway will meet cork in limerick saturday . everyone in Ennis was saying so today

Daysha wrote: »
    Actually, if I were to predict the rest of the year, I could see Tipp winning tomorrow and Galway defeating Cork next week. That would leave Waterford/Galway and Dublin/Limerick quarter finals. I think we'd take Galway, but would fall to Kilkenny in the semi's by a good 10-15 points. I could definitely see Dublin beating Limerick though, and then putting up a good fight against Tipp but just fall short. Kilkenny to then beat Tipp in the final by 6-7.

ye would fall to Kilkenny in the semi's by a good 10-15 points , yet beat us(galway)who kept within 4of the cats?explain

Aw bless. You'd even sacrifice your own counties progression in the Championship just to see Kilkenny beaten :p

Waterford/Galway would be good though. We've only met them once in the Championship since 98, and that was some poxy group qualifier in Walsh Park a few years back, so it'd be great to see the teams go right at it in somewhere like Thurles.

It will be, I'm salivating already. ;):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Despite they're recent good form, i'd be quietly confident of taking Dublin - they've never beaten us in recent years. We seem to be somewhat of a bogey side for them. I do hope they media continue to hype up Dublin. Limerick tend to play well when their backs are to the wall, like tonight.

davestar wrote: »
    ye would fall to Kilkenny in the semi's by a good 10-15 points , yet beat us(galway)who kept within 4of the cats?explain

Nothing much to explain really. It's kinda obvious at this stage that Galway can generally stay in touch with Kilkenny more so than others, while we're just pretty hopeless against them, but that doesn't automatically relate to matches when facing each other. Galway lost to Kilkenny by 4-5, we lost to Kilkenny by 23. Are Galway better than Waterford by 19 points?

Galway better than Waterford by 19 points , i never said what's in bold . i just don't understand how your so confident of taking galway when (as we said) Galway can generally stay in touch with Kilkenny(best team) more so than others, such as waterford . far enough ye have a strong chanc as we are very inconsistant , but are you really that confident?:eek:

Galway better than Waterford by 19 points, i never said what's in bold . i just don't understand how your so confident of taking galway when (as we said) Galway can generally stay in touch with Kilkenny(best team) more so than others, such as waterford . far enough ye have a strong chanc as we are very inconsistant , but are you really that confident?:eek:

And I never said what's in bold either. I said I think we can take Galway. Hardly a crime for believing your county can win a Championship match is it? If the two met I could see it being an extremely close game, and both sets of fans would be naive to think it would be a walkover or anything like that, something you think I'm alluding to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭DOS

im pretty sure galway will meet cork in limerick saturday . everyone in Ennis was saying so today

Don't write off Laois yet! :D:p:pac::o:eek:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

an awful lot of hurling to be played still. A lot of people writing of Waterford but Mullane is in terrific form at moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

an awful lot of hurling to be played still. A lot of people writing of Waterford but Mullane is in terrific form at moment.

mullane is in terrific form but what about the team as a full? Abit dependant on mullane, are we? :P
    Doubt mullane can beat off the whole tipp team on his own.......

mullane is in terrific form but what about the team as a full? Abit dependant on mullane, are we? :P
    Doubt mullane can beat off the whole tipp team on his own.......
    dan the man (starting today which is a big vote of confidence) Seamus Prendergast will have a big say too. Not a one man team by any stretch of the imagination.

not saying that it was a one man team. :) you just said that everyone is writing off waterford BUT mullane is in top form. We will see today if all goes well :D Tipp by 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

If Tipp beat Waterford tomorrow, we must meet Galway or Cork, as we can't be paired with Limerick again. That would leave the AI quarters as:

Waterford v Cork/Galway (winners face Kilkenny)
    Dublin v Limerick/Laois (winners face Tipperary)

If Waterford win tomorrow however it will be more open. The only certain thing is the Munster champions will definitely be paired with Dublin or whoever defeat them for the semis. It will become much more clear after the final tomorrow anyway.

Heres hoping for a Tipperary win today then. :p Admitedly it'll seem a bit strange shouting for Tipp. :eek:

that seems a good enough draw for Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Dan was named on the bench, thats not a vote of confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

that seems a good enough draw for Dublin

Good draw for Dublin and Limerick both if it pans out. Personally I don't think either of them are in the top 4 in the country but one of them will defintely be in the semis if Tipp win. The other side of the draw is much tougher with Kilkenny, Cork, Galway, Waterford.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Dan was named on the bench, thats not a vote of confidence.
    Sorry heard from one source that there might be a late call up because Ken McGrath wasnt able to play

And I never said what's in bold either. I said I think we can take Galway. Hardly a crime for believing your county can win a Championship match is it? If the two met I could see it being an extremely close game, and both sets of fans would be naive to think it would be a walkover or anything like that, something you think I'm alluding to.

ok mr daysha relax . :p my bad

DOS wrote: »
    Don't write off Laois yet! :D:p:pac::o:eek:;)

how am i lol ?what you qouted has nothing to do with laois lol .:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Has everyone written off cork already? If so why? They'll have a good few weeks training now and I'd expect them to give galway a great game and probably come out on top...

adrian522 wrote: »
    Has everyone written off cork already? If so why? They'll have a good few weeks training now and I'd expect them to give galway a great game and probably come out on top...

i think cork will beat galway. :D

I'll be cheering on Cork next week anyway. Just imagine the prospect of Joe Canning against our full back line after todays fiasco :eek::eek:

adrian522 wrote: »

Not at all - Galway are red-hot favourites going into this. For one, we struggled past them last year when they were basically just Joe Canning plus 14, this year they have the likes of Kavanagh, Lynch, Cullinane and Lee excelling, have a proper manager and destroyed Clare at a canter with Joe Canning doing nothing.

Cork on the other hand, have a rookie manager, still don't have a center forward line, don't have a forward on the level of Joe, have a rookie full back to mark him, have an out of form center-back, lack the physicality of Galway throughout the pitch and will have to rely on fecking Timmy McCarthy to stop John Lee from playing.

Or, Cork are ****ed.

Is it true to say that tipp, dublin, limerick and laois are at one side of the draw? Or after the quarter finals will there be another draw to determine semi-final pairings?

Is it true to say that tipp, dublin, limerick and laois are at one side of the draw?

Sure is. The AI semi's are always Munster champions v Leinster runners-up/whoever beats them and Leinster champions v Munster runners-up/whoever beats them. And because Limerick can't meet Waterford again in the AI quarters, they have to meet Dublin if they beat Laois. So that leaves Galway, Cork, Kilkenny and Waterford in one half and the rest in the other.

Ye jammy ****ers :P

Sure is. The AI semi's are always Munster champions v Leinster runners-up/whoever beats them and Leinster champions v Munster runners-up/whoever beats them. And because Limerick can't meet Waterford again in the AI quarters, they have to meet Dublin if they beat Laois. So that leaves Galway, Cork, Kilkenny and Waterford in one half and the rest in the other.

Ye jammy ****ers :P

nice one :D.
    Daysha, be optimistic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I'd love Dublin to play Laois in the quarters:)

Cheek of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

God is good, but he aint that good! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

I think this is a great chance for Dublin Hurling.
    If we do manage to beat Limerick/Laois, Id say HQ will be packed out.
    The Leinster final opened a lot of peoples eyes here in the big smoke and luckily we got a nice draw for the 1/4 final.
    Id say Antony Daly will have the lads right up for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

There will be a draw for the semi finals if galway or cork beat waterford and limerick beat laois and dublin because galway didn't lose to kilkenny in the leinster final so it will be an open draw so tipp galway is possible so calm down tipp another semi defeat is still on.Check it out on gaa.ie/hurling

Havent Tipp went to win the AI before after winning the Munster Championship in Thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

So when is the draw then? Op said the 12th, but its now the 13th, so was it done?

istabraq wrote: »
    There will be a draw for the semi finals if galway or cork beat waterford and limerick beat laois and dublin because galway didn't lose to kilkenny in the leinster final so it will be an open draw so tipp galway is possible so calm down tipp another semi defeat is still on.Check it out on gaa.ie/hurling

Are you 100% sure on that? As far as I was aware it was always Munster champions v Leinster runners up or the team that beats them in the quarters.That's why we met Tipp last year in the semi's, becaus we beat the Leinster finalists Wexford. I'm open to correction about that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

25/26.07.2009 (Sat/Sun)
    All Ireland Quarter-Finals
    Munster Provincial Final Runner Up v Phase III Winner Cork/galway
    Leinster Provincial Final Runner Up v Phase III Winner Limerick/Laois
    Subject to avoidance of Repeat Pairings, where feasible, a Draw shall be made to determine the Pairings.
    (Draw to take place on the 19th July 2009 on RTE2)
    09.08.2009 (Sun)
    All Ireland Semi-Finals
    Leinster Provincial Winner v Quarter-Final Winner
    Draw to be made to determine pairings subject to the respective Provincial Champions not meeting the defeated Finalists from their own Province.
    (Draw to take place on the 26th July 2009 on RTE2)
    16.08.2009 (Sun)
    All Ireland Semi-Finals

Munster Provincial Winner v Quarter-Final Winner
    Draw to be made to determine pairings subject to the respective Provincial Champions not meeting the defeated Finalists from their own Province.
    (Draw to take place on the 26th July 2009 on RTE2)
    06.09.2009 (Sun) - (Replay 27.09.2009)
    All Ireland Final

Semi-Final Winner v Semi-Final Winner
    This is from Gaa .ie so looks like there will still be a draw

Simply if Waterford or Dublin both lose there 1/4 final there'll be a open draw if NOT its clear enough

Would love to see the Dubs get a crack at Tipp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Galway - Cork will be a match of the year contender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

RTE.ie
    Meanwhile, the Round 2 GAA All-Ireland Football qualifier replay between Roscommon and Wexford will have a 3.00pm start at Dr Hyde Park.
    Both of the Phase 3 GAA All-Ireland Hurling qualifiers will be at Semple Stadium, Thurles.
    Laois will face Limerick at 5.00pm, while the much anticipated clash of Galway and Cork will get underway at 7.00pm.