Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All important wet gear!

• 11-07-2009 7:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭

Just curious as to what everyone uses? I bought a rainjacket off wiggle there last year and it suffers badly from terrible breathability. Anyone got any recommendations? The rain is stopping me getting out on the bike as much as I want to and I'm fed up with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

shorts and a T-shirt. I dont care If I get wet:D

But I do own a pair of e13 pennys waterproof trousers, just incase:o

Not one for all the cycling clothing TBH:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Eoin D wrote: »
    Just curious as to what everyone uses? I bought a rainjacket off wiggle there last year and it suffers badly from terrible breathability. Anyone got any recommendations? The rain is stopping me getting out on the bike as much as I want to and I'm fed up with it!

I have 2 good jackets ,one a Polaris high viz (bought in Halfords) and a high viz Madison (bought over the internet) . Both are excellent jackets in the rain ,but in all honesty with the intense rain we've been having recently it will test any rainwear and for me it's just a matter of getting on with it . I wouldn't let it stop me getting out though ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭lyders

You're just going to have to suck it up Eoin....and get out in the rain!!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Because of the 2 wet summers of 2007/2008 I don't let the rain stop me going out. I make a decision on what to wear depending on temperature and carry and extra layer just in case the weather changes as follows.
    For leisure or training at moderate intensity.
    >20C short sleeves and shorts.
    15<20C one layer + arm and leg warmers.
    10<15 tights and two layers on top.
    <10 tights and three layers on top one of which is wind proof.
    Most of my kit is aldi or lidl but I had a Nalini jacket which was nearly waterproof and excellent at dispersing moisture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Just curious as to what everyone uses? I...!

Change of clothes and a towel...

I have a rain jacket but its too heavy. Unless its really bad I don't bother. If its really bad I wear the jacket and just slow down. Water resistent shorts, leggings and show covers, water proof/windproof gloves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i got wet through yesterday eve but on a short spin of 20km its ok but on a long spin it would be very energy sapping .

I'm only talking about commuting. I assume on longer spins you'd have proper cycling jersey and shorts which would dry on you very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Did a 60 miler yesterday in the rain and boy did it rain! To be honest nothing would keep you dry in that! However, i was given a set of rain legs which I tried (looked a right numpty) but they worked extremely well. So if you could bear the look I would recommend them. I also used a Gill waterproof but after the first hour was useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

What do people do for the short spells like today?

My arms have a nice sunburn tan from being out today and it was going great until about 2:30 when in the space of less than ten minutes, I got wetter than ever before in some of the heaviest and wettest rain I've experienced. Obviously it was too warm to bring full wet gear with but the way it was, if I'd have to keep going, my legs would of frozen into solid blocks of ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

IMO arm warmers and a gilet are enough to deal with summer rain, unless it's chucking it down from the moment you leave the house in which case you might use a lightweight showerproof shell (i.e. with arms).

Biggest problem I find is keeping the feet both dry and at the right temperature, but I think that's one of cycling's unsolvable problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Was just out in shorts and boardsie training jacket today. Got rained on 3 or 4 times, thoroughly soaked and dried off 10 minutes later or so. Was plenty warm.

I use the waterproof stuff on the commute as the option of getting soaked and then changed at either end isn't possible when there is a train in the middle. Endura eVent jacket and trousers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'm the same as victorcarrera, the temperature will decide my gear. Getting wet in the rain is part of being Irish.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Lumen wrote: »

Biggest problem I find is keeping the feet both dry and at the right temperature, but I think that's one of cycling's unsolvable problems.

Eh, waterproof socks! problem solved!

Both a pair years ago for hiking, and they are amazing, perfect for wet weather cycling also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

I'm not a (proper) cyclist, but anything gore-tex will keep you dry pretty much all the time. You need to keep treating it every 6 months or so.

gman2k wrote: »
    Eh, waterproof socks! problem solved!

Both a pair years ago for hiking, and they are amazing, perfect for wet weather cycling also!

I've heard people complain about Sealskinz, though I can't remember exactly why.

Maybe the old Goretex problem that once water gets in (through the top of the sock) they never dry out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I've heard people complain about Sealskinz, though I can't remember exactly why.
    Some people say their feet get too warm with them on, mine don't.
    Maybe the old Goretex problem that once water gets in (through the top of the sock) they never dry out.
    Exactly, in a big downpour they let in water eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

@Lumen. Re prob with sealskinz.

I have a few pairs and tend to use them under overshoes. On a day with rain and very little surface water I would be fine.
    When it is raining heavily and there is a lot of surface water I will get wet. However in their defense, you tend to get wet in same way as you would in a surf wet suit - wet but warm nonetheless. Which is better than wet and cold in cycling socks.
    They are not very comfy - sort of like feet condoms. For a long spin in the rain I would probably try clingfilm over sealskinz.

ROK ON wrote: »
    They are not very comfy - sort of like feet condoms.

Now you're really selling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i've had sealskinz for years for mtbing in so +1 they work
    i've just got these http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=4702 you can get them in white so not too un-euro and stephan auge says there good on the packet ! so they must be.
    i think the water gets in the top when your cycling bare legged, tends to run down your leg and into the sock.

i'm one for the gilet option as well, need arm warmers though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

my feet are getting very wet at the moment - have shimano R086 shoes, i remember reading a tip about cling film and overshoes. anyone care to recommend a half decent pair of overshoes. size 46 shoes so would i need medium or large. thanks guys

anyone recommend these http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=29791

or would these do just as good

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=9275

OVershoes are great. They tend to be on the tight side and hard to get on. So Worth trying them on first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

kennyb3 wrote: »
    46 shoes so would i need medium or large.
    Large.
    They should have size info on them or the packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

The Endura ones are very warm and pretty waterproof. I still find water gets in around the cleats, though I don't think it's the fault of the overshoes as they have to have a hole there. Think there's a way to seal up that hole on the inside of the shoe but I haven't really looked into it (ho ho).
    kennyb3 wrote: »
    my feet are getting very wet at the moment - have shimano R086 shoes, i remember reading a tip about cling film and overshoes. anyone care to recommend a half decent pair of overshoes. size 46 shoes so would i need medium or large. thanks guys

anyone recommend these http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=29791

or would these do just as good

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=9275

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

if you are going to be cycling in the cold rain, the best thing you can wear is proper wooly socks. Stick a decent pair of overshoes on and you are laughing. Another tip given recently was to wrap your shoes in clingfilm then put on the overshoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭keith_d99

Find the Enduras excellent - they will fit over bulky shoes also.
    My commuting runners (quite bulky) have remained 100% dry wearing the Eurduras
    The Endura ones are very warm and pretty waterproof. I still find water gets in around the cleats, though I don't think it's the fault of the overshoes as they have to have a hole there. Think there's a way to seal up that hole on the inside of the shoe but I haven't really looked into it (ho ho).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Raam wrote: »
    if you are going to be cycling in the cold rain, the best thing you can wear is proper wooly socks. Stick a decent pair of overshoes on and you are laughing. Another tip given recently was to wrap your shoes in clingfilm then put on the overshoes.

sorry lads, but to repeat the point - get the Sealskinz, best outdoor product I ever bought. Clingfilm and woolysocks? c'mon:)

gman2k wrote: »
    sorry lads, but to repeat the point - get the Sealskinz, best outdoor product I ever bought. Clingfilm and woolysocks? c'mon:)

I have used sealskinz but don't find them very comfortable.
    Wool is well known for it's heat retention properties when wet.
    As for the clingfilm... I've never tried it but I know people who have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Eoin D

So I'm going to get wet, feck. It's that little bit harder to motivate myself to head out if I'm going to get pissed on for a couple of hours!

Was thinking of picking up one of these. I suppose the legs will be warm anyway and if I pick up some overshoes it seems like a reasonable way to get out there!

So I'm going to get wet, feck. It's that little bit harder to motivate myself to head out if I'm going to get pissed on for a couple of hours!

Was thinking of picking up one of these. I suppose the legs will be warm anyway and if I pick up some overshoes it seems like a reasonable way to get out there!

Don't wear too much in the wet this time of year. It's very easy to overheat. Personally I wouldn't bother with neoprene overshoes or wooly socks this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I have used sealskinz but don't find them very comfortable.

The reason that you dont find them comfy, is that they are not comfy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Eoin D

Don't wear too much in the wet this time of year. It's very easy to overheat. Personally I wouldn't bother with neoprene overshoes or wooly socks this time of year.

Fair enough, cheers everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭stopped_clock

Hang on.... There's an idea forming...

Foot condoms... Cling film over the feet...

Fair enough, cheers everyone!

I should add, that if it is raining, I would wear a pair of something like these: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Sidi_Cover_Shoes_-_Sock/5360037973/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

I also have the Endura ones. Doubt I'll get through another full winter before they fall apart. The bottom section really didn't hold up too well last winter.

They do keep you warm and dry although as it got through Spring, my feet did begin to sweat.

Hang on.... There's an idea forming...Foot condoms... Cling film over the feet...;)

Where's Trojan when you need him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

As for the clingfilm... I've never tried it but I know people who have.

marathon_424pa.jpg

Vélo wrote: »
    marathon_424pa.jpg

Looks good, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

It actually reminds me of the time I had to lose about 6lbs for a race before. I got a black sack and cut the head and arms out and went for a few mile run.

That was fun!