Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

N4 CAR Sales

• 11-07-2009 6:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

I went to buy a second hand car from N4 Car sales and the following happened:

1) I asked for a price list and got the response:
    "The price list is written on my face. Ask me the prices for each car and I will tell you then what the price is"

2) I was speaking to one of the assistants and the old owner again came up to me and said "do not disturb him he is busy"

3) Wanted to test drive a car and was told "You cannot test drive it unless you commit to buy it. The car is 100% and you dont need to drive it."

At this point I told him that any car dealers would allow us to test drive a car. He then said "I do not have time for nonsense". I told him to learn some manners when talking to a customer. At this point he said "I am not selling you the car and took the keys away".

I walked out of there and told him obviously that I will make sure I report his behavior to everyone I know.

Just letting you all know so you are made aware and let me know if anyone has had any similar dealings with this place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

That's ridiculous. They couldn't be that stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Confab wrote: »
    That's ridiculous. They couldn't be that stupid.

This doesnt add up.We're not getting the full story there at all. Even the dialog lines you've included OP just dont seem to flow with any continuity of a normal conversation. Tell us what your real gripe is .:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I've had dealings with Mr. Mac and though he's a decent enough dude he can be severley abrubt when it suits him. Also he (or his sales man) needs to be taught how to take a picture!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 mark_1981

Saab Ed wrote: »

This doesnt add up.We're not getting the full story there at all. Even the dialog lines you've included OP just dont seem to flow with any continuity of a normal conversation. Tell us what your real gripe is .:confused:

The dialog lines I have included are excerpts from the whole conversation which took place in bits and pieces as well....these are all facts. I have no agenda or anything. I went on to buy a car from another place in the end. I am just sharing the above incident because I thought it was bizzare and I was quiet shocked by the whole thing. Perhaps the person I dealt with at N4 Car sales was crazy or whatever and it might not have reflected on the whole business. However the way he was scolding his staff and talking to other customers as well just reflected a very bad attitude in general. Definately not the way to do business in this market or for that matter any market. Basically they lost a customer today(myself) just because of this extremely rude behaviour. I went on to buy the car from another much more friendly dealer. I wont name that dealer in case you think that I am a competitor or something along those lines. Just sharing the incident here to hear if anyone else had similar dealings at this place or was it just me?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I know the lads in N4 quite well--as a matter of fact I lived next door to one of them for 5 years.Always found them a pleasure to deal with.

Sounds like theres more to this story than what the OP is saying.

Saab Ed wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

There are dealers like that out there. I dont know how they stay in business.
    Only test drive if commit to buy... Thats a new one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Although it should be, it's not surprising at all really.

Unfortunately, there's an awful lot of degenerates in the used car sales game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

i will never ever buy a car off one of the n4/n7 cowboys. Delighted when i see them them go out of business (the bad ones). Amazes me the arrogance they can still produce despite being heavily hit on dropping car sales.

My experience is most of them being unlikeable characters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

From what I've heard and read there doesn't seem to be a single reputable used car dealer in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

I would actually believe the OP. I had quite a similar experience when looking to change my car(in the end they actually had nothing decent at all). Stay well away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I live right next to N4 Car sales and I had a similar experience too.

Mine was shorter. I was looking for a trade in value against another car that I wanted. I couldn't get the trade-in value unless he was convinced I was buying the car. Then I asked could I take it for a drive and he said no the car is fine. I told him to go f00k himself and just walked off.

I went into the Palmerstown Motor company which is next to it. They were a bit better. Came out and said hello when I was looking at the cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dublinguy00

mark_1981 wrote: »
    I went to buy a second hand car from N4 Car sales and the following happened:

1) I asked for a price list and got the response:
    "The price list is written on my face. Ask me the prices for each car and I will tell you then what the price is"

3) Wanted to test drive a car and was told "You cannot test drive it unless you commit to buy it. The car is 100% and you dont need to drive it."

I cant believe, the same above things happened with me as well, N4 car sales dont have the prices posted on the cars, and there are not many assistants to offer you the guide. I walked in the office and asked the fellow if there is any price list so i will not need to bother them for asking every car price, he answered me the same, he said you are looking at the list and pointed on his face, i thought he is joking but he was serious and said ask me the prices???

He was rude and didnt allow me to move the car even an inch and looked disturbed. I walked out with the thoughts how he gets away with this kind of behaviour.

I will never ever go to N4 Car sales as they dont deserve to be in the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 brenmcp

I didn't have anything like this kind of experience, i bought a car from them and they were good to deal with, there were a couple of issues after buying which they fixed no problem. Initally i panicked that as a girl who was deling with them on her own they would try to wriggle out of fixing it but they were grand.

My main reason for going to them was price, they seemed a good bit cheaper than soem of the other dealers and i was afraid to go private and not have comeback. I did go into their neighbours yard first, the two back onto each other, they are alled autopoint, found them a bit rude have to say.

i dealt with the owner up there Terry and all in all it was positive, i would go back and have send a couple of mates up to them since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This thread is 2 years old. Please don't drag up old threads.