Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gettin involved and meeting people!

• 10-07-2009 08:41PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,
    In your opinion what is the best way to meet new people next year, wouldnt mind diversifying my friend's circle instead of lazying about the house this year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Cathal Kelly

could join a few od da sports clubs/socs

sayin that theres always da roishin and random parties in corrib village :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

could join a few od da sports clubs/socs

That's what I intend to do.
    Spent way too much time alone this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

That's what I intend to do.
    Spent way too much time alone this year.

Same as that, spent most of the year wandering around the place on my own.... felt like starting up a lonely souls club half the time:)

Hoping this year to join the badminton and mountaineering club

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

I wouldnt go as far as sayin that i was lonely,but i know where your coming from.my friends were the ones ive had since school and i wouldnt mind meetin other people.i joined a few clubs etc but was always to nervous to go on my own cause i wasnt sure how newcomers are treated :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Clubs and socs are generally a decent enough way of meeting folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Cathal Kelly

Hoping this year to join the badminton and mountaineering club
    i know alot of those crowd
    theyre pretty sound

if u join da mountaineering club go on the weeends away, theyre suppoesd 2 be class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I'd definitely agree that Clubs and Socs are the best way to get to know more people through college. They're generally very open to new people getting involved and a lot of them have a quite an active social side away. They're also a great way to try out something new that you might never realise interested you. I got to know (literally) hundreds of people through socs including a lot of my good friends.

You could also consider getting involved in some of the volunteering activities run by the CKI, try out radio broadcasting with FlirtFM, or write some articles for the print version of Sin.

i know alot of those crowd
    theyre pretty sound

if u join da mountaineering club go on the weeends away, theyre suppoesd 2 be class

Yeah, the mountaineering club looks really interesting... Have made a promise to myself this year that I will join:)

I was like the other poster here who said they felt a bit awkward going in on their own but will just have to get on with it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Squash Club!

Great Craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

Worse thing going to college for meeting new people is having a group of old friends still with you.Its hard to meet new people that way.

I find what generally works for me is throwing caution into the wind and just start talking to people if i'm sitting on my own.Tutorials and whatever are great for this.If you are shy,just try to break out of your shell abit after all its college and "people do their own thing and aren't opinionated upon" so its not like you'l make an ass of yourself...you'd probably never see the person again.

Like mentioned clubs and socs are a great way but for me I never have got the chance of going to any cause timing always sucked for me.But do go even if some may affect your "going out"...you can go out anytime sure.

The thing with college...don't expect to make mass amount of friends as you did in secondary school.You will perhaps only make 2 or 3 actual new friends and add them to your circle of friends...then there will be a few where you have a short chat or just a simple hi with.

Who you live with and where if you book accomodation either campus or private is a great way of meeting new people.

Of course ye could all call a big "boards.ie" meet up and chat sometime during the college year rather than just talking to each other with a keyboard and screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

RichCRXOf course ye could all call a big "boards.ie" meet up and chat sometime during the college year rather than just talking to each other with a keyboard and screen.

I totally agree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

lasair wrote: »
    I totally agree!

Second that motion!

Would definitely be on for a boards meet up:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Would definitely be on for a boards meet up:)

Me too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

I started college in NUI when I knew a grand total of one person in the whole county. Now I know ****in loads of people, never been to a single club or soc though, just talk to people when you're out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Random partys or nights out, some socs are god but there are also alot who hang around smokies all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 lucyluo

I know its a typical reply but get involved in a club or society

Don't go too mad by joining loads, pick 1 or 2 you have an interest in and make an effort to go from the start of the year, that way you'll get to meet familar faces and you'll automatically have something in common.

Would also suggest doing volunteer work, join the alive programme and get into something your interested in, also helps your CV!

Don't be shy if you meet someone who's company you enjoy invite them on a night out with your friends, no better way to get to know someone that a social event!!

Galways small, soon, you'll be meeting people and you'll know there friends or have some connection!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Keep an eye on the Galway thread too, as there will be a meet up for the ladies from the west (including ye coming to college) in the next couple of weeks, so that maybe an opportunity for ye...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 becksy

What is the racquetball club like? Much fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Laoch'Rione

RichCRX wrote: »
    Of course ye could all call a big "boards.ie" meet up and chat sometime during the college year rather than just talking to each other with a keyboard and screen.
    And I make 5!! So where and when? Seriously, this could become the newest club in NUIG!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

Well if there is a bit of an interest in a boards.ie meet up,I might organise something later in the year for the craic.

Great!! You should. PM us when you have a time and date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭batbaby

Seriously, this could become the newest club in NUIG!!;)

That could be odd... What would we do??
    "so you're on boards.ie.... me too...."

Or.... It could be an excuse for a regular piss up with strangers....
    *lightbulb lights over head*
    What an idea that'd be! :D:D

batbaby wrote: »
    That could be odd... What would we do??
    "so you're on boards.ie.... me too...."

Or.... It could be an excuse for a regular piss up with strangers....
    *lightbulb lights over head*
    What an idea that'd be! :D:D

D'uh!!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 ureter

Ah please do!! T'would be fun :D