Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice needed

• 10-07-2009 12:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

Not looking for sympathy. Just advice.

Ok, just getting straight to the point. Heres the deal. About 2 years ago in a nite club I got with this girl. Turns out the girl already had a boyfriend (a traveller) and they had a row or something and she just wanted to make him jealous so she shacks up with me for the night.

Anyway that was 2 years ago and her boyfriend ever since then has kicked my ass round the place every time he sees me. Hes a boxer. Anyway I was told last night that he has just started taking MMA classes and already he has done serious damage to another chap he beats up regularly.

Now he has left me in hospital well over 12 times, broken jaw, broken nose, concussions etc.. But now Im really worried for my safety.

I have had barren orders on the guy, which only got me more and worse beatings. and the gardai are simply saying that hes on the run from them for a string of other crimes... I have being thinking for awhile about learning some form of martial arts but this here has just confirmed it in my mind. Im going to get private 1 on 1 lessons. I really dont care how much money this costs. I just need to defend myself against this guy.

So anyway I need advice. This guy is about 21 or 22 hes small but hes very well built. Hes about my shoulder height. Myself Im almost 23, Im 5.8 and slim(ish). He has a background in boxing (probably bout 6 years off it - but hes still no mohammed ali) and now he's in his first 2 months of MMA. Me I have no fighting experience whatsoever. Can anybody recommend a fighting style for this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Whats your location?

For the amount of money you are willing to spend training yourself for this purpose there are other options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Damo1174

Louth - But I refuse to move home. Im not going to run away from this. I dont mind running away from him when he comes at me but Im not leaving my county.

Damo1174 wrote: »
    Louth - But I refuse to move home. Im not going to run away from this. I dont mind running away from him when he comes at me but Im not leaving my county.

Any idea where he is training in MMA?

You say you are not going to run away from this, to me this seems likes the safest option. If you have already been hurt so badly that you have been hospitalised several times then are you just going to wait to be hurt even worse before you leave?

I need to ask, how on earth do you keep bumping in to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Furious-Dave

Any idea where he trains? This is just a thought but you could drop his coach a note informing about this guys extra curricular activities. Any decent, reputable coach will have none of that sort of thing in their gym. Also if he is attending an established MMA gym and not just doing backyard MMA then why the hell can't the Gardai catch him? Retards!

Running really is not an option. My family, my business, my woman everything is here. And fortunately for me, I havent being hit overly hard by the recession, so I aint leaving.

I dont think he's attending public classes. I think he's getting private lessons.

How do I keep bumping into him. I guess your from a city..! Well we live in the same town. So usually every few couple of months I bump into him somwhere along the line. Though usually its if Im out jogging or walking the dog or whatever...

Anyway can you recommend a suitable style for this situation. I dont really care if its going to be one that teaches me to seriously pound him or one that just teaches me to keep taking him to the ground. I just need something that will be effective against someone of his background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

If you know where he trains surely you can direct the gardai to that location.

Also if he is attending an established MMA gym and not just doing backyard MMA then why the hell can't the Gardai catch him? Retards!

We are talking about the Irish Gardai here....!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Running really is not an option. My family, my business, my woman everything is here. And fortunately for me, I havent being hit overly hard by the recession, so I aint leaving.

I dont think he's attending public classes. I think he's getting private lessons.

How do I keep bumping into him. I guess your from a city..! Well we live in the same town. So usually every few couple of months I bump into him somwhere along the line. Though usually its if Im out jogging or walking the dog or whatever...

Anyway can you recommend a suitable style for this situation. I dont really care if its going to be one that teaches me to seriously pound him or one that just teaches me to keep taking him to the ground. I just need something that will be effective against someone of his background.

When you walk the dog i'd suggest you bring a baseball bat an a ball for the dog to play with, as far as catching up on 6 years of boxing training and now mma i cant see you doing that to easy, mma would be your best bet, who is private training him and we could have a word with him about this, i'd never train a dick like this.

i tell my fighters not to cause fights or act like hard men etc..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Boston wrote: »
    If you know where he trains surely you can direct the gardai to that location.

I dont even know where he lives. Nevermind where he trains or even if its private classes or public (though Im under the impression its private). I spent a year and a half working with the Gardai and solicitors trying to get this sorted but apparantly he cant be caught and that Im not the only person he is beating up.

Really I think my only options are to leave (which I refuse) or learn to defend myself. I have heard over the years that boxers arent good against martial artists. So since hes relatively new to mma I figure that If I start something soon and put alot of effort into it, I stand a good chance against him. But Im not a martial arts expert so maybe my theory is flawed.

cowzerp wrote: »
    When you walk the dog i'd suggest you bring a baseball bat an a ball for the dog to play with, as far as catching up on 6 years of boxing training and now mma i cant see you doing that to easy, mma would be your best bet, who is private training him and we could have a word with him about this, i'd never train a dick like this.

i tell my fighters not to cause fights or act like hard men etc..

Yeah a few months ago I started taking a hurley and sliother when Im out walking the dog. But I cant take a hurley everywhere. And chances are after awhile he will learn enough techniques to get the hurley off me.... well if those techniques are covered in mma that is.

Really I think my only options are to leave (which I refuse) or learn to defend myself. I have heard over the years that boxers arent good against martial artists. So since hes relatively new to mma I figure that If I start something soon and put alot of effort into it, I stand a good chance against him. But Im not a martial arts expert so maybe my theory is flawed.

Boxers are more capable of defending themselves than almost any other martial art.

I think you should look around your area for what clubs are available, Boxing, Muay Thai etc but you have to understand that learning to fight and actually doing it are two very different things. Also, carry a hurley and ball with you for the dog.

The ineptitude of the Gardai in this case is astounding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Quillo

You're both living in a small town and neither is going to move....

So, you get trained up and you beat him.... you're still going to meet him around and he doesn't sound to me like someone that would accept defeat and start being nice to the guy that beat him. So next time you meet after having beaten him it escalates and there's a weapon involved or a gang or he brings to your home or your business and...... it goes back and forth until one or both of you is crippled, brain damaged or killed (not to mention the probability that others close to you may get caught up along the way as collateral damage).

Sounds like the only legal option to get away from this is to leave.
    It's not fair. It's not right.
    It's disgraceful that this guy hasn't been locked up.
    But you need to be realistic and plan accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

"As far as catching up on 6 years of boxing training and now mma I can’t see you doing that too easy"

I bet the guy is useless; any good fighter wouldn't waste his time in brawls, no championship belts on the street!
    On the other hand many great fighters started from wanting to take revenge, or catch a bike thief. Of course they usually end up not doing so, reaching a point where they realise how unsatisfying easy and pointless it would be to beat up a useless scumbag. If you become that fighter, and do confront him, you'll probably get less than 10 seconds at him, and wish he had the staying power to give you 10 minutes.

So join any gym that tests itself regularly in competition, you'll get results faster than any non-ring tested privately taught dick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭no scope

Buy yourself a nifty little tazer drop him to the floor and break his legs problem sorted

the gardai arent going to do anything

if you still have his girlfriends number if you have it, find out his address get a few mates down and beat the living s**t out of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Niall's on the ball with his advice there.

Unfortunately so is Quillo.

There is no happy end to this, so before he hospitalizes you permanently in the morgue pursue the legal route with a bit more fervor. You have your barring order so next time you take a slap try to be on camera when you are and press charges. If the guards do nothing send an email to your local county paper with your story, better yet one of the tabloids. The gardai will have no choice but to do their jobs at that point.

Have to say though that the whole story sounds a bit fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭MichaelDevlin

I think this whole story is made up. He beat you up 12 times at least and was never caught once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Not looking for sympathy. Just advice.

Ok, just getting straight to the point. Heres the deal. About 2 years ago in a nite club I got with this girl. Turns out the girl already had a boyfriend (a traveller) and they had a row or something and she just wanted to make him jealous so she shacks up with me for the night.

Anyway that was 2 years ago and her boyfriend ever since then has kicked my ass round the place every time he sees me. Hes a boxer. Anyway I was told last night that he has just started taking MMA classes and already he has done serious damage to another chap he beats up regularly.

Now he has left me in hospital well over 12 times, broken jaw, broken nose, concussions etc.. But now Im really worried for my safety.

I have had barren orders on the guy, which only got me more and worse beatings. and the gardai are simply saying that hes on the run from them for a string of other crimes... I have being thinking for awhile about learning some form of martial arts but this here has just confirmed it in my mind. Im going to get private 1 on 1 lessons. I really dont care how much money this costs. I just need to defend myself against this guy.

So anyway I need advice. This guy is about 21 or 22 hes small but hes very well built. Hes about my shoulder height. Myself Im almost 23, Im 5.8 and slim(ish). He has a background in boxing (probably bout 6 years off it - but hes still no mohammed ali) and now he's in his first 2 months of MMA. Me I have no fighting experience whatsoever. Can anybody recommend a fighting style for this situation.

In 2 years you've been hospitalised 12 times? Every 8 weeks you're battered that badly? And he beats others as well? And you clearly meet him regularly yet the gardai can't find him? In a small town?

Only one solution - Anbo-Jitsu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Hephaestus

I think this whole story is made up. He beat you up 12 times at least and was never caught once

^^^ I agree

You say you live in a small town where you run into him on a regular basis which has resulted in him hospitalising you at least 12 times, yet the cops cant get hold of him. Something doesn't add up here.

+ If it is a true story, what good can come from seeking to kick lumps out of someone from the traveler community. You'd just end up with a whole clan of them @ your front door with pick axes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

What Mark says...

There is no happy end to this, so before he hospitalizes you permanently in the morgue pursue the legal route with a bit more fervor. You have your barring order so next time you take a slap try to be on camera when you are and press charges. If the guards do nothing send an email to your local county paper with your story, better yet one of the tabloids. The gardai will have no choice but to do their jobs at that point.

Have to say though that the whole story sounds a bit fantastic

I think so to.

There are no solutions on this forum for your predicament. If the gaurds aren't doing their jobs, go higher, contact the Garda Ombudsman or the station inspector.

And if you really think that learning some fighting skills to kick his ass is going to solve your problem, you'd be better off with these guys.

the-a-team-photo.jpg

Seriously though,
    www.garda.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Plus there is no MMA club in Louth and you dont know who's training him, its not me and im closest to louth, either there is some tripe been spoke or your getting wrong info about him doing MMA etc..

Most travellers who people think are boxers are not anyway and cant box at all tbh, and the 1's that are dont fight outside of the gym as its frowned upon..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

A quick thread search tells me you're quite the walter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Lads!, where's your sympathy & understanding?... FFS :mad:

First off there's no point in leaving Co.Louth, sounds like this guy will travel far & wide to get you, then your really knackered OP. T

There's a gangster in Limerick selling these - buy one and next time that guy comes piking for you AIM & SHOOT...

suicide-gun.jpg

Oh yea, that Limerick gangster - aimed, fired and didn't miss!.