Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle to Work Scheme: HSE

• 10-07-2009 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭

I need a bit of help. A friend of mine who works for the HSE in Cork is having difficulty applying for the cycle to work scheme. She is being given the run around by the admin staff as no one seems to know where she applies. If any one here knows the who/where/why/what of applying the the Southern HSE for this scheme I'd appreciate it if you'd pass on some info to me, or If ye know of any HSE worker who has applied for the scheme you might find out how they got on.

I guess if not in the south any HSE would do, I can contact them as see how they administer it and see if the south region would copy that.....
    Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

I think its mid august for them if I remember correctley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Hey Kona, whats mid august? They can only apply in august?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Hey Kona, whats mid august? They can only apply in august?

I think it was sombody from the HSE saying that they would have it sorted till mid august, when I gave them a quote.
    Some places have a deadline on it too(such a retarded idea)

By mid August there will probably be no bikes left, there is a serious shortage of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Cheers, if anyone can clarify this please post up.... thanks. I'll try the commuting forum too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

If you work for the HSE they are only introducing it in Dublin north east, on a trial basis, but the application process is impossible. IMO they will announce in a few months that due to a lack of demand they will not be introducing it.

Try the health promotion unit based in Dr steevens hospital. ( PM me how you got on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Government needs to make this mandatory and not let sneaky employers get away with it. (speaking as a small business owner btw).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Trojan wrote: »
    Government needs to make this mandatory and not let sneaky employers get away with it. (speaking as a small business owner btw).

Or just allow you to bypass the employer, buy the bike directly yourself, and claim tax relief as you do for medical expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

Or just allow you to bypass the employer, buy the bike directly yourself, and claim tax relief as you do for medical expenses.

I thought the employer had to purchase the bicycle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭nayorleck114

My employer said they won't be doing it (they are an american Multinational). Its a great scheme, fair play to greens. But they should have make it compulsory. As it stands its of little use to many people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭nayorleck114

I checked, You can't. Employer HAS to buy it. They then give it to you and you pay for it over 12 months except from TAX and PRSI and employer is excempt aswell from PRSI. Its a win win. The employer does not loose money. But most companies don't want to pay the initial 1000 euros. They don't want the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

I checked, You can't. Employer HAS to buy it. They then give it to you and you pay for it over 12 months except from TAX and PRSI and employer is excempt aswell from PRSI. Its a win win. The employer does not loose money. But most companies don't want to pay the initial 1000 euros. They don't want the hassle.

you could just give the employer the money to buy it for you, its still cheaper

i work for my father, so im grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I think SerialComplaint was suggesting that scheme should be arranged so you can by-pass your employer. Not that this is actually the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Esmereldina

Hi dudes,

Another quick question about the scheme: I am in casual employment for a month at the moment, and I won't be starting my 'proper' job till October. I assume there is no real way I can avail of this scheme at the moment as it seems as if the employer has to pay for the bike and have you pay for it over 12 months. Is there any way of having the employer buy the bike and then just pay them the full amount for it instead of paying for it over 12 months?

I know that not all employers participate in the scheme anyway, but I thought I'd check here first as I don't want to seem like too much of an idiot asking about it in work tomorrow when I'm only there for a month! Looks like I'll just have to pay full price for it now, as I don't want to wait till October. I call this discrimination against the 'employment challenged' of today's society :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Hi dudes,

Another quick question about the scheme: I am in casual employment for a month at the moment, and I won't be starting my 'proper' job till October. I assume there is no real way I can avail of this scheme at the moment as it seems as if the employer has to pay for the bike and have you pay for it over 12 months. Is there any way of having the employer buy the bike and then just pay them the full amount for it instead of paying for it over 12 months?

Yes - you can do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Leaving the implementation of the scheme to each employer sounded great from a flexibility point of view, but divested the gummint of the responsibility for ensuring it could be availed of with the least amount of hassle.

it should've been a straight tax break. Buy your bike gear for a grand, and get 400euro tax relief (which appears to be what happens anyhow).

Course, bike shops are going to jack the prices to clean up.

Internet receipts accepted yeah? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Shercobar

Has anybody here bought a bike( Focus Cayo ) from Wiggle on the cycle to work scheme.
    Any advice welcomed before I start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tonti27

the hse in the dublin north east area are at the same they are giving the run around on this issue it is taking up to 6 weeks just to get answers by that time the summer will be over ,i got fed up and purchased a bike without usuing the gov scheme

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 69 ✭✭douglastubbs

Shercobar wrote: »
    Has anybody here bought a bike( Focus Cayo ) from Wiggle on the cycle to work scheme.
    Any advice welcomed before I start.
    Tried to (problem related to credit card and wiggle - can't really say much more as it would be based upon assumptions). Get an invoice (wiggle charge Irish VAT) made out to your company and paid by a company credit card or paypal but should be no issue - wiggle will deliver to workplace .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

tonti27 wrote: »
    the hse in the dublin north east area are at the same they are giving the run around on this issue it is taking up to 6 weeks just to get answers by that time the summer will be over ,i got fed up and purchased a bike without usuing the gov scheme

Where I work its the same. I'll probably buy my own aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭dmck

The HSE are worried about responsibility for any accidents that happen and the possibility that someone could claim from them, its rubbish i know.They are currently in the process of getting clarification on the issue untill then they are not offering the scheme. Thats what i was told anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Perhaps we should ask our local politicans to find out the take up of the CTW scheme in the public sector. And why certain depts, agencies are not doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I have some details about applying if you are in HSE Dublin NE, pm me if require details - The rest of the HSE is going to take a lot longer despite the fact that they save on employers PRSI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Even if your employer does agree to do it they can then stipulate you can only get the bike in a specific shop, this doesn't give you the consumer the freedom to choose the most suitable bike at the most suitable price and doesn't facilite competition. Why wasn't this set up as tax refund you could claim like medical expenses or other such costs thereby giving the end user the freedom to shop around and get the best deal? Perhaps politicians can be lobbied to change the scheme as it's a great idea and very beneficial if your employer is flexible. Next step then is improving the state of the roads/cycle lanes and sweeping up some of the mountains of broken glass that litter the road sides.