Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

moving statues at it again

• 10-07-2009 9:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

apparently the one at the top of paddy browns road and another one in cork have been doing a little jig according to some lulas who have nothing better to do.
    i have a feeling bus companies and hotels are behind this scam to get a few tours up and running :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Wahey! It's just like the 80s all over again. Now all we need is for a bigger heroin epidimic, the Irish football team to go to the World Cup and Bosco to return to TV and we're set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Recession = ( more ) moving statues

yes, yes it all make sense now .

The rest of the world will laugh it's f...ing head off as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Give me 20 minutes, some water, honey syrup, flour or chocolate syrup, some small tubes and a mini pump and I'll make her cry blood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Strange how nothing "moves" for years but then they some people decide a tree stump looks like Mary :rolleyes: (because they all know exactly what Mary looked like of course) and now we've got statues moving again! People in this country are insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Irish people are nowhere near the crazy that can be witnessed in the United States. We have the Virgin Mary in a tree. They have Michael Jackson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The Dublin Spire sways now and again but dont worry .After a few pints of your favorite tipple , most things usually do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

The one on Paddy Brown's Road had a "Gone to lunch, Back in 5mins" sign on it.

Bit of a coincindence the statues moving this year tho - last year it was B&Q, Harvey Norman and TK Max

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its the weather. 1985 the year of moving statues was one of the worst summers on record.

mike65 wrote: »
    Its the weather. 1985 the year of moving statues was one of the worst summers on record.

But this has been quite a good summer. Way better than last year and better again than the year before. Unless I'm missing something?

I was born summer of '85; guess the gods weren't too happy with my arrival. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Have you looked outside?! :p

mike65 wrote: »
    Have you looked outside?! :p

No, work likes to keep us isolated from the outside world. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭paddy smith

i wonder if i took a chance of buying 100 blaas, 100 slices of ham and 5 pound of butter,
    cost about 100 euro,
    and set up stall beside the grotto selling each hang blaa at 3 quid a pop. :confused:

spread the word, the statue at belvedere is dancing :D

i wonder if i took a chance of buying 100 blaas, 100 slices of ham and 5 pound of butter,
    cost about 100 euro,
    and set up stall beside the grotto selling each hang blaa at 3 quid a pop. :confused:

spread the word, the statue at belvedere is dancing :D

For a 5% cut I'll spread the word far and wide. For 10% I'll spread butter as well.

nkay1985 wrote: »
    For a 5% cut I'll spread the word far and wide. For 10% I'll spread butter as well.

we could be on to something here?
    with the glass gone and the resession, it could be an idea to get the town rocking again.

i heard luke wadding went down by the tower last night and tore thomas francis meagher off the horse and kicked the living shyte out of him :D

i heard luke wadding went down by the tower last night and tore thomas francis meagher off the horse and kicked the living shyte out of him :D[/quote]

No, that was Tawdy dressed up as Luke Wadding

jimbojazz wrote: »
    No, that was Tawdy dressed up as Luke Wadding

Nah he's right, it was Luke Wadding. But he was dressed up as Tawdy. I can see how you'd get confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

I swear I've just seen a statue of Our Lady heading towards the Dunmore Road with a can of spray paint in her hand...and an unbuttered blaa in the other!

gscully wrote: »
    I swear I've just seen a statue of Our Lady heading towards the Dunmore Road with a can of spray paint in her hand...and an unbuttered blaa in the other!

Feck it Paddy, we've missed a chance there. There's your wan and all she's looking for was a bit of butter and some ham (I'm theorising here) and she couldn't get it. Now she's going to take out her anger on the walls of the Dunmore Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

Nothing new re Luke Wadding, I live on the same street and I can tell you that this man is done having bottles of Miller put into his hand. He pulled some youngfella down the steps and bet the **** out of 'em last weekend. The guards came down but sure me man was back up on his pedestal like nothing ever happened... they never noticed his quill still on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

we could be on to something here?
    with the glass gone and the resession, it could be an idea to get the town rocking again.

i heard luke wadding went down by the tower last night and tore thomas francis meagher off the horse and kicked the living shyte out of him :D

Pics or GTFO :pac::pac:

gscully wrote: »

and a bottle of bulmers pear cider and a bag of nappies.

back to the moving statues,
    theres a crowd after gathering at the grotto in belvedere,
    somethings going down.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

are they all clicking their fingers in unison like in west side story?

I'd go down and check it out then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

back to the moving statues,

please tell me your messing ?!:p:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

HELP ! There's a statue knocking at me door,and the only virgin's in waterford are on the cork road, matties hill, and millitary road,and the top of Paddy Brown's long road.Slapper's must be looking for a good time boy.**** is this blasphemous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Bards

Bards wrote: »

It's times like this I despair of the human race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

It's times like this I despair of the human race.
    Naw, it's human nature....the country is in depression, the world is in recession, there's no end in sight just yet, people are looking to their political leaders for answers and they're getting none, school's out for summer.

divine intervention, your only answer, or another huricane Charlie.!

The blaa idea is a good one though, I fancy one now myself.

Naw, it's human nature....the country is in depression, the world is in recession, there's no end in sight just yet, people are looking to their political leaders for answers and they're getting none, school's out for summer.

divine intervention, your only answer, or another huricane Charlie.!

The blaa idea is a good one though, I fancy one now myself.

Yeah that's what worries me. If it's human nature for groups of people to carry on like this, that makes me despair of the human race! Not to start a theological debate but seeing what you want to see in a tree stump/statue/damp patch on a wall is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 M.RaftisKennedy

Divine intervention at all or is it just a dog's arse? hahahahahahaahahahahaha

Well the 3 wise men followed a star...they didn't say it was a brown star though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭well butty

Strange how nothing "moves" for years but then they some people decide a tree stump looks like Mary :rolleyes: (because they all know exactly what Mary looked like of course) and now we've got statues moving again! People in this country are insane.

Wasn't it Tommy Tiernan who said Jesus looked more like Danny DeVito due to where he came from rather than the big 6 foot 6 pack Jesus we see on all the church's marketing material!

So where did blond blue eyed Mary come from??? :):)

Do statues require planning permission? If so, when they move are they in breech of that permission??

Would the Green Party object to them???:confused:

well butty wrote: »
    So where did blond blue eyed Mary come from??? :):)

Need a lesson on the birds and the bees? :)

Yes please! How two Middle Eastern parents produced a white, blond haired and blue eyed child? Maybe it was GODs intervention again! Or maybe Mary's mother left an American Jehovah Witness into her house when the hubby was out at work?:confused::confused:

There's a theory out there that a double glazing door to door salesman called when joseph was out, (as we all know double glazing salesmen are western blue eyed, blonds, sweet talking romeos) and well, he was soo good Mary accommodated him? But the windows never arrived, and she couldn't find the receipt. He took a wad, left a wad, and I mean would you tell the world?