Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accommodation for Queens

• 10-07-2009 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭

I'm starting a post grad in Queens in September, can anyone suggest area where I should look for accomodation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭WinstonSmith

go to qub website and there is a link to accomodation they offer. alternatively, you can go into private acc nearby...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Jams O'Donnell

Hey -- I'm starting a postgrad there in September, too. Moving up there after a year in Dublin, from the U.S. originally.

So, I'm not an expert source, but I've just been through the search, since I didn't want to live in university accommodation. Most people recommended the Stranmillis area and recommended I avoid the Holylands area (party central for students). (I had a taxi driver give me an hour's tour of the city, and he told me that the Holylands is the only area of the city that their company will not serve, because the kids throw bottles etc. and wreck their cabs! The Holylands was the area that had the problems at St. Patrick's day, too . . . ).

There are many available places right now, most of them managed by estate agents, at least for the placement and sometimes for management as well. I found most of the estate agents to be worthless: scheduling is a hassle, and although they will show the places to anyone, you have to have completed an application with their firm to be considered for one of the places they represent, and there's usually a fee for the application, etc. Also, more often than not their listings online were no longer available, and the places with their signs out in front weren't listed online . . . .

So, I started to avoid the places advertised by estate agents and concentrated on those that were owner-listed, and found a much nicer place at the same rate as the places that the estate agents were representing. It's on a nice street that runs between the Lisburn and Malone roads, so very close to campus, and close to the shops etc. And I like that I know who the owner is, and he knows who I am: there's trust on both sides.

So I'm hoping I ended up with a good place. Good luck with your search, and with your studies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭crinkley

thanks I'm avoiding on campus as well, from my experience is a rip off and way too noisy especially around rag week etc.

I'll be using daft for my search I imagine just wanted to know what areas, at least I know to stay away from Holylands!

Must get a move on and find somewhere though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Jams O'Donnell

In addition to daft, also check:

http://www.propertynews.com/

It seemed to have more listings in Belfast than daft. I think it's run by the Belfast Telegraph? Can't remember.

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 boredzeee

I'm going to be starting a postgrad in September too. To be honest I've decided to go for University accommadation- most likely Elms Village. I had heard the rumours about the noise but looking into it a bit more apparently the Postgraduate zoned area of Elms is actually grand....Well that's what I've heard!

For the convenience of all bills being included, internet access, own bathroom etc. I don't think the price is too exorbitant....especially compared to down here in Dublin!

What courses are you doing anyway lads?

how much is accomodation in elms? I'm still a bit dubious, my friend went into the pg section of a student village down in UL this year and had an awful time but will investigate it, will have to give up a double bed though :(

Doing Irish Politics, so I suppose I'll be living in the library anyway, just want a decent place because I don't go home at the weekends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 boredzeee

Cool.

Elms Village ensuite works out at about 400euro a month with all the things that I said were included....cheaper even for non-ensuite...not too bad. Then the general cost of living up north is so ridiculously cheaper.. (I'm talking re food, taxis, booze etc.)

I'm doing a similar course myself crinkly! Legislative studies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭madmac187

Hey im doing a masters in QUB too. I'm doing it in Construction & Project management. Looking at Elms village at the moment. Myself and a mate are going up together. I'm from Laois. He says Elms Village and I like the fact that there are no bills and the fact I can have my room like a sauna and not have to pay for it:). An en-suite is a must for moi.

Only thing is though I have lived in houses with up to 7 people and know what happens, drinking and going nuts which is savage when you have the time and don't have work but. I couldn't care about that really but damage always happens then which is what I have the problem with. Because of crap like that I have lived in 6 different places when I was doing my degree.

I was hurt in a car accident and need my car because I'm not able to carry crap as a result. I wonder whats the likihood of getting the parking permit??

Anyways interested in what yall have to say waiting in anticipation:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Early welcome to QUB folks :)

Avoid avoid avoid Holylands unless you want to live with drunken undergrads (at least in Elms you can call security :D). Mount Charles is kinda unpleasant, though it's much closer to campus and all the good stuff that Botanic has to offer. Stranmillis is probably best, a little bit drunken at times but great villagey feel, and enough regular residents to keep things somewhat civilised. The zoned accom. in Elms is fine, and parking permits are hard enough to come by, though not impossible. There's on-street parking near enough to Elms where you could leave your car if you had to...and only on-street parking near campus if you're here by 7.30am :eek:

Try spareroom.co.uk and daft.ie for houseshares. As earlier advised propertynews.com is best if you're looking for somewhere by yourself.

Most of all, enjoy :D

And Crinkley...we have 6 contact hours per week tops in the School of Politics....the library is the last place you'll be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

pow wow wrote: »
    Early welcome to QUB folks :)

Avoid avoid avoid Holylands unless you want to live with drunken undergrads (at least in Elms you can call security :D). Mount Charles is kinda unpleasant, though it's much closer to campus and all the good stuff that Botanic has to offer. Stranmillis is probably best, a little bit drunken at times but great villagey feel, and enough regular residents to keep things somewhat civilised. The zoned accom. in Elms is fine, and parking permits are hard enough to come by, though not impossible. There's on-street parking near enough to Elms where you could leave your car if you had to...and only on-street parking near campus if you're here by 7.30am :eek:

Try spareroom.co.uk and daft.ie for houseshares. As earlier advised propertynews.com is best if you're looking for somewhere by yourself.

Most of all, enjoy :D

And Crinkley...we have 6 contact hours per week tops in the School of Politics....the library is the last place you'll be!

stranmillis is the business, lived there last year, quiet but still the craic can be had

I know did politics for my undergrad and saw more of the library than a lecture hall. Well rang around on daft and have a few places to see hopefully will geet some place when I go up at the weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 dga

Hi guys, I will be starting in Queens this september also. MA in Modern History, Is anyone looking for a roommate, Time is ticking on and registration opens soon right?

Cheers

dga wrote: »
    Hi guys, I will be starting in Queens this september also. MA in Modern History, Is anyone looking for a roommate, Time is ticking on and registration opens soon right?

Cheers

Project and Construction Management Masters, I'm living in Elms said might as well, living with another lad from cork doing the same. What part of the world are you from??

When is everybody moving up for Queens into ELMS Village??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

madmac187 wrote: »
    When is everybody moving up for Queens into ELMS Village??

you should move up the week before term. thats when the fun starts

regob wrote: »
    you should move up the week before term. thats when the fun starts

What sort of stuff goes on during that week?

Not a whole lot. Bonding drunkenly with your new housemates! Maybe regob is having a party?

Maybe regob is having a house party???:)

You ain't seen his house! :eek: