Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen 09 Giant TCR

• 08-07-2009 8:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Gaff broken into today 09 GIANT TCR Advanced 2 Stolen
    Black/Blue colour
    Full Ultegra
    Mavic Aksium wheels

Appreciate it if you could keep an eye out for it while on your travels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Feck off, not the nice black and blue one? Sorry to hear that dude, being a rare enough bike hopefully you will have luck tracking it down.

Will keep an eye out for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Will keep an eye out for it!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

****, sorry to hear that. rough area so we know where to keep a special eye out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭waitforme

No way, I'm gutted for you, rare bike in these parts, I will certainly keep my eye out.

Anything unique that separates it from other similar bikes, e.g. pedals, marks, scratches, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

wobbits wrote: »
    Black/Blue colour
    Full Ultegra
    Mavic Aksium wheels

When and where? Now curse my crappy memory, but I had a scummer in with a giant racer a month ago, but parts I couldnt tell you(racers to me is just like MTB to racers, i know how to fix em thats it:D). It was obviously stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

kona wrote: »
    When and where? Now curse my crappy memory, but I had a scummer in with a giant racer a month ago, but parts I couldnt tell you(racers to me is just like MTB to racers, i know how to fix em thats it:D). It was obviously stolen.

Nah, wobbits was on it only 2 weeks ago.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Nah, wobbits was on it only 2 weeks ago.

aw well, Im gunna have to think of a reason to talk them into getting their contact details and frame number. There is a serious rise in bikes being nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭D!armu!d

aw well, Im gunna have to think of a reason to talk them into getting their contact details and frame number. There is a serious rise in bikes being nicked.

Why not say you need to give it a test spin and then drop it off at the nearest garda station - tell em the gardaí will be glad to hand it back if it is theirs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

D!armu!d wrote: »
    Why not say you need to give it a test spin and then drop it off at the nearest garda station - tell em the gardaí will be glad to hand it back if it is theirs...
    Yeah nice bravado from someone who isn't gonna have to face the same syringe-wielding scumbag when leaving work the next day :rolleyes:

A better alternative would be to contact the local police station, tell them about the bike, and ask them if it would be OK to give them a quick buzz when the junkie is in the shop about to collect the bike, and they could 'roll by' as he happens to be coming out of the shop with the bike and they could pick him up then - least there's much less chance of the junkie trying to kill our beloved Kona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

Black/Blue colour
    Full Ultegra
    Mavic Aksium wheels

Sorry to hear that.

Please tell me it's covered under your home insurance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭bosra

Sorry to hear about this also. What area was it stolen from? There must not be many of them on the road..I will keep my eye out too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 wobbits

Cheers folks, bike was stolen from a supposedly secure apartment block during the day yesterday in the D20 area. Looks like I'll have to start locking things up inside the house as well.

There are a few scuffs and things on the bike as well as the serial # that should help me to identify it but I'm pretty much resigned to not seeing it again.

As a great man once said 'it's not about the bike' :)

Wobbits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

The same thing happened to me a few years ago. Just a note, "I asked the Guards is I saw the guy on my bike while I was driinv if I could run him over?". He didn't recommend it, but silently I think he laughed.

Cheers folks, bike was stolen from a supposedly secure apartment block during the day yesterday in the D20 area. Looks like I'll have to start locking things up inside the house as well.

There are a few scuffs and things on the bike as well as the serial # that should help me to identify it but I'm pretty much resigned to not seeing it again.

As a great man once said 'it's not about the bike' :)

Wobbits

It will show up, bikes like that always do, just keep in touch with bike shops, make a poster with a picture, frame number and spec and hand it in to shops in your area. Check all the ad papers and internet.
    Dont give up, it might be a year maybe more, but you will see it again.:) I guarantee you.

D!armu!d wrote: »
    1. Ive no Proof the bike is stolen, So the guards wont entertain me.
    2. Pretty much what Ken MC said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

It will show up, bikes like that always do, just keep in touch with bike shops, make a poster with a picture, frame number and spec and hand it in to shops in your area. Check all the ad papers and internet.
    Dont give up, it might be a year maybe more, but you will see it again.:) I guarantee you.

You're giving him a "guarantee" he'll see his bike again?
    And if he doesnt? Will you buy him a new one?

I dont mean to be negative, but I had a bike stolen, with photos of the guy on CCTV, and a list of the limited number of the people who had the key to the locked shed of the apartment complex I lived in, and the cops still did nothing to investigate it. Keep your eyes peeled for it, online and in real life, but my advice is try to move past it and maybe start saving for a new one if your house insurance doesnt cover it. If it shows up, great, if it doesnt, at least you'll be able to get back in the saddle on your new bike and begin to forget about it (a slow, painful process nonetheless).

flickerx wrote: »
    You're giving him a "guarantee" he'll see his bike again?
    And if he doesnt? Will you buy him a new one?

I dont mean to be negative, but I had a bike stolen, with photos of the guy on CCTV, and a list of the limited number of the people who had the key to the locked shed of the apartment complex I lived in, and the cops still did nothing to investigate it. Keep your eyes peeled for it, online and in real life, but my advice is try to move past it and maybe start saving for a new one if your house insurance doesnt cover it. If it shows up, great, if it doesnt, at least you'll be able to get back in the saddle on your new bike and begin to forget about it (a slow, painful process nonetheless).

He will see it again, If he follows my advice, he doesnt have to make it a obsession, maybe avery 3 months refresh bikes shops memory. They ALWAYS show up, how many of those giants are there about in his area and surrounding areas? feck all.