Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**Generation Kill**

• 08-07-2009 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭

Watched this again there for the second time...what a quality show.

I just loved everything about it, script, actors, story, characters.

Some aspects I prefer it to Band of Brothers. It just felt a bit gritter but it is The Wire vs Spielberg and Tom Hanks so bit of a mismatch.

If you haven't seen it I strongly recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Great show,slow moving like the Wire,and not as action packed as,say, Band of Brothers,but it was very good. it was also quite scary,because it was based on real people and on real events and a few of those soldiers were lunatics,and the disregard for civilians was amazing and horrifying. It was the stuff you didn't see in the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

pisses all over the wire (the coronation street of cop shows. i 'missed' 6 episodes of one series and within 20 mins of watching the next episode every nuance was clear to me).

production values as good as sopranos (minus the incredible lead). overall 2nd best tv show ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

pisses all over the wire (the coronation street of cop shows. i 'missed' 6 episodes of one series and within 20 mins of watching the next episode every nuance was clear to me).

production values as good as sopranos (minus the incredible lead). overall 2nd best tv show ever

Is that a joke? The Wire is the best tv show ever made. You miss a few episodes and you miss so much,sure the general story line of the cops trying to take down the drug dealers is always there but since it has the richest character development and deepest characters of any show,then you missed hell of a lot.

The Wire deals with so many different characters,each one so complex,more complex than the Soprano's characters. But its main attribute and the thing it does so well is its portrayal of institutions,whether it is politics,the polic department,the school system,the media,even looking at the workings of a drug empire,it is second to none in writing and acting.

Generation Kill was an enjoyable 7 part series based on a book written by an embedded journalist,the Wire is an epic story spanning 5 seasons and is without a doubt the best tv show ever made

imo of course! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

tvnutz wrote: »
    it was also quite scary,because it was based on real people and on real events and a few of those soldiers were lunatics,

The guy who played Reyes, the guy with the sculpted body (that sounds like the ghey) who's always working out and body building who the other lads give a slagging to, is actually the Rudy Reyes in real life. He played himself and acted as an advisor, bit of an all american hero over in the states.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

A well timed thread as I've taken tomorrow off work so I can watch it again (second time).

One of the best mini-series I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Is this out on box set in Ireland yet does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

K4t wrote: »
    Is this out on box set in Ireland yet does anyone know?

Yep, think i saw it a golden disks store.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

It's a great show and well worth the watch. Sorta like Over There but with a little less bull**** and a little more comedy.

"Captain America" - I love that guy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Yep, think i saw it a golden disks store.
    Great. Thanks. Will definitely be getting that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

"Follow my tracers!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

The stupidity of some the senior officers is mindblowing...and I love the sarcastic comments of the marines when they refer to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

haha oh dear :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Jip wrote: »
    The guy who played Reyes, the guy with the sculpted body (that sounds like the ghey) who's always working out and body building who the other lads give a slagging to, is actually the Rudy Reyes in real life. He played himself and acted as an advisor, bit of an all american hero over in the states.
    Holy fu*k. Didn't know that. Great that he actually played himself and fair play for letting them take the piss out of him, again.
    Random wrote: »
    "Captain America" - I love that guy :)
    Loved it when he called in the shelling of that 'tank column' when they were at the airfield.
    The stupidity of some the senior officers is mindblowing...and I love the sarcastic comments of the marines when they refer to this.
    Ya you'd think that the Military would have learned by then. The amount of ass kissing and nepotism that still goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I found it initially reassuring but eventually alarming that all the issues you encounter in work on a regular basis - managers who haven't got a clue, with the ones who know least getting most credit, not being given the resources you need and trying to work with what you have, wasting ages working on something before someone higher up decides to scrap it all and go in a different direction - seem to apply as much in the military as in any other profession.
    Great show.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

quality show and yes it's availaable to buy in the likes of HMV, Tower, G Discs.....one of the best parts for me about the show is that for example in a scene 2 people will be walking past having a conversation, they dont block it out thier conversatoin so you catch a snipet of some funny story......or even just the other characters sly comments being thrown in when there is a conversation taking place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Actually bought this ages ago and haven't watched it yet (so many great shows to get through)

I'll start watching this at the weekend, then move on to The Corner. Still haven't watched that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

And here are some of the real guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Great show, really enjoyed it. If anyone is interested there's a book called "One Bullet Away" written by Nathaniel Fick, a.k.a. Lieutenant Fick, who was the non-batsh1t crazy platoon commander in Bravo Company.

It gives a few different viewpoints to the mini series (and book of the same title) and while critical at times, it's not nearly as scathing as the tv show is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Looks like this thread was osker mike before I had a chance to hop on.
    Stay frosty marines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

I'm about 3 episodes into this atm. Reyes is swole as hell. No homo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Generation Kill is great, has one of my favourite lines ever:
    "Gentlemen, we just seized an airfield... that was pretty f*ckin' ninja."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Watching this today and up to Episode 3

A great watch

The men lower down not getting the equipment they need and doing their best.
    While the higher officers all trying to get noticed by their superiors while often being incompetent
    It's like any corporation realy!

The most dangerous thing in the military is an officer with a map ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

yeah I really enjoyed this show as well.. Rudy Reyes is certainly a cool dude.. There is loads of footage of him up on youtube, doing workouts and giving interviews.. Also somebody has uploaded his series Apocalypse Man, where he demonstrates how to survive in extreme conditions..

Had a problem with two of the character though... The guy who played Nate Fick did not look / sound / act like a real marine.. A little too camp for me.. If you see the real Nate Fick, you can see he's a serious individual..

The real Nate Fick

Also, my pet hate on the whole series was the guy who played the reporter Evan Wright.. He had that stupid smile on his face for the entire series..
    evan_scribe_wright-char.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Watched all 7 episodes over the past week or so. I'd recommend it highly to anyone looking for a quick enough fix in between major shows.

Some great characters in it, which for me is what makes a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

One of my favorite series and the book is awesome too.

Cpl. Ray Person was the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

It was a great watch alright. I must dig it out again.