Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tues Morn Spin - 9am Phoenix Park

• 06-07-2009 4:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

Myself and Nietzchean are heading to the Phoenix Park tomorrow for a few laps. If the weather is really bad, we might move off somewhere else. If anyone is around and fancies a short but hard spin, let me know.

There will be coffee after, but no stopping until we finish. Aiming for 60-80km as a ballpark estimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭lyders

Maybe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

lyders wrote: »
    Maybe....

Oh, I'm sorry, no Freds allowed. Especially not when they actually named their bike "Freddie" in support of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Hmmm. You've never been to the phoenix park, have you Dirk? I have the feeling you're setting yourself up to be underwhelmed. We do laps there because it's local, not because it's great. The idea of you crossing Dublin from the deep south to do laps of the park seems a bit contrary to me.

That having been said, I could do a few laps with ye in the morning.

niceonetom wrote: »
    Hmmm. You've never been to the phoenix park, have you Dirk? I have the feeling you're setting yourself up to be underwhelmed. We do laps there because it's local, not because it's great. The idea of you crossing Dublin from the deep south to do laps of the park seems a bit contrary to me.

That having been said, I could do a few laps with ye in the morning.

Argh! I'm trying to get back on the proverbial horse, I'm just doing it because it is different. Don't kick me when I'm down. I can forsake a mint julip or two to travel to the park, I really just want to say "I've done it".

It would be good to see you there though. I might have to singlespeed it though, my bike is malfunctioning slightly.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Argh! I'm trying to get back on the proverbial horse, I'm just doing it because it is different. Don't kick me when I'm down. I can forsake a mint julip or two to travel to the park, I really just want to say "I've done it".

It would be good to see you there though. I might have to singlespeed it though, my bike is malfunctioning slightly.

Down? How so?

Malfunctioning? How so?

Well, sometimes you just have to see something with your own eyes I suppose. I do a lot of fixie spinning in the park so if you want to go SS I'll bring that instead of the PX. Let me know which you're bringing. Where and when are you meeting neech?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Where and when are you meeting neech?
    I'm meeting him in town since were both out that side, so i guess entering chesterfield ave for 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭D!armu!d

Might join you for that in the morning. Could always head up & down the hills along strawberry beds if the laps get boring...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Ah lads. Going to the Park first thing in the morning defeats the purpose entirely - how can you have pints afterwards?!

We will be going for coffee after, I'm sure you can bring a sneaky hip-flask?

@Niceonetom: Sorry, I was out all day, only back now. Meeting Neech around 8:30 at Grand Canal Dock/Square, so somewhere in the Park (what he said) around 9. I think I will take the Ridley, she needs a new chain (possibly cassette, which I can't afford, hoping it's not that worn) but I think she has 80km left in her. If I had your number I would text you.

I'll be around the phoenix monument roundabout in the middle of the park at 9. But I'm probably too late for this information to be of any use to anyone... Ah sure the park is not that big...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

I'll be around the phoenix monument roundabout in the middle of the park at 9. But I'm probably too late for this information to be of any use to anyone... Ah sure the park is not that big...

we'll head that direction when we get in, i'll pm you my number anyway

I havent even left yet...shud be in the park by 9:15 I guess. If not, start off and can meet you en route.

see yee there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭lyders

Wow...this is very early for me! See you soon!

Good spin today. Niceonetom, Nietzschean, D!armu!d, Lyders and myself did a few laps. Thanks to Tom for showing us all around. Need more of that flat stuff.