Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second hand Fire Suits?

• 05-07-2009 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭

Just wondering where one would buy second hand or new Fireman Suits?
    Cheers, J

Cheers, J

This just begs the question, Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

You're aware that fire kits costs around €1000 per firefighter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

foreign wrote: »
    This just begs the question, Why?

Im starting up a Vigilante fire service lol

Na the uniforms we have in the civil defense are all different sizes and i cant get one to fit properly. Plus anyone that does have a properly fitted one usually end's up with a brown jacket and navy pants etc... Tis only a jacket and pants im after. My welly's and helmet fit grand.

You really should be supplied with PPE that's fit for purpose and shouldn't have to buy your own, even if it's only for CD training. Have you asked your instructors / CDO about it?

Anyway, secondhand kit abounds on ebay, some of it is even unissued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

You used to be able to get Jackets, Leggings and Boots in the Army Surplus store in Midleton.

civdef wrote: »
    You really should be supplied with PPE that's fit for purpose and shouldn't have to buy your own, even if it's only for CD training. Have you asked your instructors / CDO about it?

Anyway, secondhand kit abounds on ebay, some of it is even unissued.

in fiarness, when ya do get the mixed up suit the condition is good enough i guess, im just bein picky lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭yeroulfella

Im with Dublin CD and we just bought our own gear there last week, Cant remember the name of the place off hand, it is in Tallaght in the industrial estate behind/near the old Nestle factory was. The name of the place begins with a G i think, The guy had just got a higher spec of gear in and was selling the old band new stuff jacket and bottoms for about 200euro.
    The gear we have in CD is 2nd hand and that was bought 7 years ago i believe, I dont think its ever been washed and the room now stinks with is one of the reasons why we decided to spend our own money, plus alot of the gear doesnt fit very well and is ripped and basically falling apart.

Any chance of a pic of the new gear? Total curiosity mind.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

The gear we have in CD is 2nd hand and that was bought 7 years ago i believe, I dont think its ever been washed and the room now stinks with is one of the reasons why we decided to spend our own money,

As far as I can remember, washing fire kit takes away some of the fire retardant property so that could be why it stinks :D:D:D

(seriously I do remember some manufacturer telling me that 5-6 washes and or 5 years use was the limit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

we get all of our gear in that place in tallaght. I cant think of the name of it, but im in work tomorrow and will find out. Im pretty sure its expensive stuff though (around a grand i think)

Gendist

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

civdef wrote: »
    Gendist

Thought they just did extinguishers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

GD house in tallaght do the fire suits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭yeroulfella

Any chance of a pic of the new gear? Total curiosity mind.

J

p1007092213.th.jpg

we got bottoms and jacket for 200euro as they are lower spec than the new gear, I think he is out of all the cheaper gear now. I ended up getting the newer higher spec jacket which cost 200euro just for the jacket (the one with glove hanging on it) the bottoms are lower spec. the jacket to the left is the lower spec jacket. .

the place the lads got it is where civdef said Gendist

p1007092213.th.jpg

we got bottoms and jacket for 200euro as they are lower spec than the new gear, I think he is out of all the cheaper gear now. I ended up getting the newer higher spec jacket which cost 200euro just for the jacket (the one with glove hanging on it) the bottoms are lower spec. the jacket to the left is the lower spec jacket. .

the place the lads got it is where civdef said Gendist

fair play! cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Cheers, J

Please don't ever sell on your suits CaptainSkidmark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

eroo wrote: »
    Good advice, young eroo. I once had a terrible experience when I bought a pair of unifrom trousers from Corporal Followthrough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

deadwood wrote: »
    Good advice, young eroo. I once had a terrible experience when I bought a pair of unifrom trousers from Corporal Followthrough.

Who knew scratch n' sniff was a feature of modern uniforms!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Ahem ahem......

Topic....on.....back???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭civildefence

You can get ex-RAF fire gear on ebay for little or nothing. The likes of gendist will only sell to you if you are affiliated with a fire service as they are a wholesalers.

eroo wrote: »

what does the plane leave after the captain lands the plane? lol