Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old sirens - 80's - early 90's

• 05-07-2009 1:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone remembers the old Garda car sirens back in the 80's and into the early 90's? It's been quite a while since I've heard it. It was a two tone but electronic. Quite a distinctive siren, it was. And if you heard it, you'd know it was the guards rather than fire or ambulance. Quite handy if you hear the siren approaching as you can assume that the blue lights will be lower down than ambulance or fire brigade and so you may not be able to see it. I liked that siren, anyone else agree.

Also, driving home from work northbound on Ballymun Road last week, I heard a standard ambulance/fire engine siren plus a proper two tone siren, something I haven't heard in years. Are there many fire engines still going that have the driver operated non electronic two tones??? They sound deadly and have a real "Get the f*ck out of the way" sound to them. Better than the standard sirens. Also, I have not heard the electronic horns that mainly ambulances have, or had. You know the ones....they go honk honk! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

ye all dublins fire trucks have both,eletronic is controled by the horn button and the 2 tone controlled by a manual switch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Crackerspray

Ah right, thanks. I would've thought it would've been the other way round though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭highdef

Ooops, I logged in on a different PC when I last replied so was not mu username. oooopppps :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I remember them. We were after a stolen car one night and went over a speed ramp and the siren fell out onto the ground. Superior quality merchandise again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

brayblue24 wrote: »
    I remember them. We were after a stolen car one night and went over a speed ramp and the siren fell out onto the ground. Superior quality merchandise again....

Wilker must appreciate the business from you guys :D.