Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race entry fee not meeting recession

• 03-07-2009 10:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭

25e for 5k Sunday in the Phx park. A little bit over the top and poor value. Lets face it most people are there for just the 5k and not the kiddies stuff. Prize structure is poor too. Fair enough its a fun event etc but it would be more fun for a "tenner". A cheap cotton xl tee shirt and a bag of jelly babbies aint worth it.
    A worrying trend me thinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

i dont know anything about this event but 25e does seem steep for a 5k race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

I agree that fees are generally too high although with this particular race part of the entry fee is being used to fund the days activities for the kids at Farmleigh. I don't have kids but am happy to support this.

See extract from race director email below -

Your support of this event is greatly appreciated and your entry fee has helped us to present a FREE day of athletic activities for children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 dokter

Thats pricey alright. For that price you could have got an aircoach to Cork and entered the John Buckley 5K and still have change left over.
    http://corkrunning.blogspot.com/search/label/John%20Buckley%20Sports

The standard is much higher down here though..... :pac:
    D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

And they didn't even provide kilometre markers. Come on!

I'm not too confident about the chip-timing either. There seemed to be handheld devices to scan your chip, so people sprinted over the finish line, stopped and hopefully within a couple of seconds somebody came along and scanned your chip. We'll what the results look like.

PB for me anyway so I can't complain *too* much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 SOH32

any idea when & where the results for this will be posted?

SOH32 wrote: »
    any idea when & where the results for this will be posted?

This is the website but there doesn't seem to be any link to a results page.

http://www.familyfitnessfestival.ie/5krace.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 SOH32

cheers gohard - keeping an eye on that site hoping results are posted....

got caught up in a sprint finish & forgot to check clock! same misgivings about lack of km markers & delayed scanning of chips - otherwise nice race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭beamgirl

I ran 5k at Farmleigh today, signing up this morning, handwriting isnt the best so wouldnt be relying on them to decipher my email address. Does anyone know if the results are up yet and where I can get them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

i wouldnt hold my breath on the results....ran it last yr and although no chip timing then as far as i remember, they didn't produce full results.........hopefully this year it will be better but that thing of them having to swipe ur number and chip with a wand after passing the line is a bit defeat-the-purpose re the chip alright..... a couple of us got misdirected with a km to go too so was an ''interesting'' mornings work:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Yeah, the way the chips were scanned at the finish is ridiculous. Also no markers and when I asked stewards how far is left they hadn't a feckin clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Was also at Farmleigh today, had a great time. I'm a slow runner though so I'm not too concerned about my results, just happy to get round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

fair play to them.......very quick with the results....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 deisefan

Just to clear up, the paddles are only a backup system. Your time is recorded when you run under the gate at the finish line and is accurate to the 100th second! The paddles are just a double check to make sure your chip worked and to obtain 100% read rate.

deisefan wrote: »
    Just to clear up, the paddles are only a backup system. Your time is recorded when you run under the gate at the finish line and is accurate to the 100th second! The paddles are just a double check to make sure your chip worked and to obtain 100% read rate.

Thanks for the clarificationDeisefan! Glad to hear the paddles are a backup and not the actual "finish line"!

Were you involved in the race yourself? The results were up damn quick. I like that about a race. My chip time was 20:01. So close!

GoHard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

I've posted about this before but ultimately it's market controlled - supply and demand. As long as the races continued to be filled even if some of us deem the price to be over inflated, then they'll continue to charge at these prices.

If organisers encounter situations where races are only half full then they'll review the price of a race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

dokter wrote: »
    Thats pricey alright. For that price you could have got an aircoach to Cork and entered the John Buckley 5K and still have change left over.
    http://corkrunning.blogspot.com/search/label/John%20Buckley%20Sports

The standard is much higher down here though..... :pac:
    D
    8e for the Ballyneale 5k in Tipp last friday night too for a very enjoyable race.just over 200+ with km markers and results up (and accurate) shortly after. I'm starting to enjoy races outside of the mass Dublin ones more and more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

deisefan wrote: »

Just to claify, are places decided on chip time or is there some maths done between between the chip time and the gun? Just a little confused as the person ahead of me had a slower chip time yet the person after me had a faster chip time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Race positions are done by gun time and not chip time. Chip time is only for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 dokter

hawkwing wrote: »
    8e for the Ballyneale 5k in Tipp last friday night too for a very enjoyable race.just over 200+ with km markers and results up (and accurate) shortly after. I'm starting to enjoy races outside of the mass Dublin ones more and more :)

Yea and of course the standard is much higher here in Munster. I would have been in the top 10 in that 5k in Dublin :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

Race positions are done by gun time and not chip time. Chip time is only for yourself.

Cheers Stupid_Private, that makes sense now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

8e for the Ballyneale 5k in Tipp last friday night too for a very enjoyable race.just over 200+ with km markers and results up (and accurate) shortly after.

Lads, are you mad. Tipp athletics is dead. I was at a race last year and it was like an ad for the 11850 ad. You know the one with the boys with the headbands and scraggy hair. Average age was about 55. I ran a 10k in Tipp about 20 years ago, ran around 34 and was nowhere near the top 20, jaysus, not now:o. Road/recreational running may be booming but alas there is no quality and also there is no cross-over to the broader sport as underage running is Tipp is really, really bad. Sad really, when you think about the great Tipp athletes in the last 30 years.

The initiative on Sunday was about the broader sport and the vision that running is a sport for life and for all the family. I welcome it. More families that are involved. Mammy and daddy road running, kids jumping, skipping, throwing. The message you might get from this thread (aside from a few) is that road/recreational runners don't care about their sport outside of their own running. AAI must try change that mindset if they want the sport to grow or tap into the latest running boom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I can beat that i'll pay €5 for a race tonight in Dublin too ;) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Tingle, there is a faction of 'proper' runners out there who virtually blame the recreational runner for the lower standards that are certainly apparent these days. They mock the 'fun runners' and challenge them to train properly, put in the miles, become competitive. (I hasten to add it doesn't happen on this forum).

I don't think the mindset of the talented, competitive athletes needs changing. They will always strive to improve and challenge for the top. The problem is - as we all know, there are so very few of these good lads/lasses taking part in the sport compared to (say) 30 years ago. That's what needs to change if the base of the pyramid is to broaden and for more runners to aim for the top.

But AAI isn't going to change my mindset, or that of the many recreational runners out there.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Tingle, there is a faction of 'proper' runners out there who virtually blame the recreational runner for the lower standards that are certainly apparent these days. They mock the 'fun runners' and challenge them to train properly, put in the miles, become competitive. (I hasten to add it doesn't happen on this forum).

I don't think the mindset of the talented, competitive athletes needs changing. They will always strive to improve and challenge for the top. The problem is - as we all know, there are so very few of these good lads/lasses taking part in the sport compared to (say) 30 years ago. That's what needs to change if the base of the pyramid is to broaden and for more runners to aim for the top.

But AAI isn't going to change my mindset, or that of the many recreational runners out there.

I'm not saying we need more quality athletes or saying how we can improve the road running scene as regards quality, broadening the pyramid will do that as you say. I'm saying we should strive to tap into all these road runners and get them more involved in the sport. There are many coaches and officials around the country who participate in road races and they can do both. There is a whole raft of road runners who could be more involved in the clubs and the sport in general. Thats the mindset I think could be changed. A sport for life. You do a few road races, you bring your kids to the club, make it a more family sport. Its unique in some ways as the whole family can participate in the sport all their life at the different stages. More families and kids involved and we will have a broader pyramid.

I know they were winding up regards Munster and all that but the argument by some is that running down the country in booming. Yeah, if you count numbers maybe but my point is that numbers in road races may be up but the quality is down in these races, less kids are running and those kids that are running are of a much less standard than they used to be (aside from the obvious exception where club driven centres of excellence exist). Road running may be booming, the top of the underage/senior pyramid may be strong but there are glaring problems in our sport as you know. Imagine if we doubled the number of kids running/jumping/throwing and doubled the numbers of coaches in the space of 12 months how we would do:cool:

A connection must be made between all these recreational runners and the clubs, its a golden opportunity being missed. I would never mock a runner and challenge them to train harder, but I would challenge them to get more involved in their sport aside from their own running as opposed to giving out about it.

I appreciate this is all pie in the sky but its something we should at least strive for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Tingle wrote: »
    I'm not saying we need more quality athletes or saying how we can improve the road running scene as regards quality, broadening the pyramid will do that as you say. I'm saying we should strive to tap into all these road runners and get them more involved in the sport. There are many coaches and officials around the country who participate in road races and they can do both. There is a whole raft of road runners who could be more involved in the clubs and the sport in general. Thats the mindset I think could be changed. A sport for life. You do a few road races, you bring your kids to the club, make it a more family sport. Its unique in some ways as the whole family can participate in the sport all their life at the different stages. More families and kids involved and we will have a broader pyramid.

I know they were winding up regards Munster and all that but the argument by some is that running down the country in booming. Yeah, if you count numbers maybe but my point is that numbers in road races may be up but the quality is down in these races, less kids are running and those kids that are running are of a much less standard than they used to be (aside from the obvious exception where club driven centres of excellence exist). Road running may be booming, the top of the underage/senior pyramid may be strong but there are glaring problems in our sport as you know. Imagine if we doubled the number of kids running/jumping/throwing and doubled the numbers of coaches in the space of 12 months how we would do:cool:

A connection must be made between all these recreational runners and the clubs, its a golden opportunity being missed. I would never mock a runner and challenge them to train harder, but I would challenge them to get more involved in their sport aside from their own running as opposed to giving out about it.

I appreciate this is all pie in the sky but its something we should at least strive for.

Some good points. From what I’ve seen over the last 12 months the glaring issue at grassroots level is the lack of good coaches and coaching. If our recreational runners can be enthused to learn about and participate in the teaching of athletics then I go along with you.

There is no lack of youngsters in the 9-13 age group. They are mad keen on their athletics and the Dublin competition organisers are hard-pressed to cope with the numbers that flood Santry for the early-season meets. But even to the casual observer there are two stand-out features of these competitions.

1. The generally poor standard of ability in any events other than pure running and
    2.The lack of athletes once the U15 and over groups are reached, with age-groups/genders having to be consolidated to make up an event.

So where do all the mad keen youngsters go? Even allowing for all the usual factors of growing up, new interests etc surely there should remain a larger number in the sport through their teen years, which in turn should produce a critical mass of senior athletes in due course.

They get bored. They get bored of running, unless perhaps they’re winning. And what is obvious to me is that – with a few fine exceptions, no one is introducing them to the more technical events. When officiating this year I and other officials had to give basic coaching to young discus and javelin entrants as some had no notion of how to throw the implement. High jump – which is a hugely enjoyable event, was largely ignored by most.

Because (I am assuming) either good coaches, or facilities, or both do not exist.

And so the young ones drift away. They will only stay through their teen years if one or two of their mates stay as well. And at present that isn’t happening.

At least in Dublin. I’m aware that there must be better set-ups elsewhere as Dublin athletes generally get their asses spanked when they get involved in national competition.

I do think AAI are doing their best on the coach education front but it needs a lot more buy-in from prospective coaches if things are to improve. (Which is where I think we came in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

The numbers are well up in Tipp this year from last but of course the standard may not be improving. Lots of older runners too and agree with all said before. Very enjoyable races though in Tipp/Wfd etc.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

There is a perception that road running is not real athletics and there can be a snob factor involved from track runners. Look back to the 80s/90s and you will see the standard was savage at the front of road races with most of the top guys also running on the track.
    I hate to see average ego driven track runners looking down on road races etc
    Of course not all are like this and the likes of Raheny are great supporters of bread and butter running week in week out.

jinka wrote: »
    There is a perception that road running is not real athletics and there can be a snob factor involved from track runners. Look back to the 80s/90s and you will see the standard was savage at the front of road races with most of the top guys also running on the track.
    I hate to see average ego driven track runners looking down on road races etc
    Of course not all are like this and the likes of Raheny are great supporters of bread and butter running week in week out.

I'd be interested to know where you are getting this opinion from as I think that may be part of the disconnect. Are you in a club yourself and if not would you ever consider it? Should clubs be more welcoming?

I don't think there is a snob factor, thats just silly and shows maybe a chip on the shoulder but I don't think this is the opinion of most recreational runners who seem to be more intimidated to join a club. If we understood the reasons for this (the intimidation as opposed to the chip) we might be halfway towards getting to the root of the disconnect.

As regards top track guys putting nose down at road, lets take the top domestic based track guys right now - Kenneally, Connolly and Hanrahan. When there is a road race worth racing they will race. But there are so many road races now if they do race they will likely be pissing along at the front, solo. Would you do this as opposed to an IMC or BMC or lower level Grand Prix race on the track where you will be pushed. There are probably too many races now on the road. A pb on a track and a potential Irish vest or a piece of crystal. When you look at it maybe the running boom and all the races with reduced quality is a reason why the top track guys don't race anymore and so maybe they do put their nose down at it. Don't be fooled, Raheny track guns aren't running themselves ragged on the road, in fact they struggled as much as any club to even get their big middle distance guns out for the 1st round of the track league. Only Tallaght had the pulling power to get their distance guys out. Track and field league is the true bread and butter for a club (along with relays, cross, nationals indoors and out etc etc - the championships basically)

Its an interesting one, does anyone have any ideas how you could get a connection between recreational runners and clubs? I really think it would benefit all.

Obviously boards ac is the type of initiative that is building this bridge. Boards ac athletes are now getting into the club scene and probably don't see themselves as recreational runners anymore. I think the club atmoshere will always foster improvement. More of this maybe is the way forward, if we can't get people running and training together, lets get them talking about running and occasionaly training together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Interesting.
    I was talking to a guy the other day who said he wouldn't bother with road races atall. I have run track,cc and road and enjoy the lot. As long as you are not racing every week,its no harm to mix it up.
    There are far too many road races which can only dilute the standard at the front and thats the main reason why some races are not as fast as they can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Tingle wrote: »
    I'd be interested to know where you are getting this opinion from as I think that may be part of the disconnect. Are you in a club yourself and if not would you ever consider it? Should clubs be more welcoming?

I don't think there is a snob factor, thats just silly and shows maybe a chip on the shoulder but I don't think this is the opinion of most recreational runners who seem to be more intimidated to join a club. If we understood the reasons for this (the intimidation as opposed to the chip) we might be halfway towards getting to the root of the disconnect.

As regards top track guys putting nose down at road, lets take the top domestic based track guys right now - Kenneally, Connolly and Hanrahan. When there is a road race worth racing they will race. But there are so many road races now if they do race they will likely be pissing along at the front, solo. Would you do this as opposed to an IMC or BMC or lower level Grand Prix race on the track where you will be pushed. There are probably too many races now on the road. A pb on a track and a potential Irish vest or a piece of crystal. When you look at it maybe the running boom and all the races with reduced quality is a reason why the top track guys don't race anymore and so maybe they do put their nose down at it. Don't be fooled, Raheny track guns aren't running themselves ragged on the road, in fact they struggled as much as any club to even get their big middle distance guns out for the 1st round of the track league. Only Tallaght had the pulling power to get their distance guys out. Track and field league is the true bread and butter for a club (along with relays, cross, nationals indoors and out etc etc - the championships basically)

Its an interesting one, does anyone have any ideas how you could get a connection between recreational runners and clubs? I really think it would benefit all.
    Obviously boards ac is the type of initiative that is building this bridge. Boards ac athletes are now getting into the club scene and probably don't see themselves as recreational runners anymore. I think the club atmoshere will always foster improvement. More of this maybe is the way forward, if we can't get people running and training together, lets get them talking about running and occasionaly training together!

Well in my past life I was with a club going back maybe 13+ years now. The main problem then was pure volume of runners the club I was in had a high quality group that I was just about able to train with , If i didnt train with them I would have been running alone.

Looking back now there were days when I was doing track session and finishing 400s maybe 4-6 seconds of the back of the group, best thing then would have been for me to leave and find another club/group to train with.

Maybe there is a case that a club if they really are there to develope all members there maybe a point when the best thing for an member would be to join another club in order to train with people of the same standard. But this wouldnt happen as it would reduce membership etc. Maybe even inter club groups coudl be an option too?

shels4ever wrote: »
    Well in my past life I was with a club going back maybe 13+ years now. The main problem then was pure volume of runners the club I was in had a high quality group that I was just about able to train with , If i didnt train with them I would have been running alone.

Looking back now there were days when I was doing track session and finishing 400s maybe 4-6 seconds of the back of the group, best thing then would have been for me to leave and find another club/group to train with.

Maybe there is a case that a club if they really are there to develope all members there maybe a point when the best thing for an member would be to join another club in order to train with people of the same standard. But this wouldnt happen as it would reduce membership etc. Maybe even inter club groups coudl be an option too?

Thats very interesting, I'd never thought of that. I suppose there are many reasons why people don't join clubs or did and then left. Might start a thread on this as it would be good to get some experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I ran Farmleigh on Sunday (2nd time) and I would highly recommend it. Great buzz and lots of activities for everyone (but I have 2 young kids).

:) - Well organized
    :) - Fast course - pick this for a Summer PB next year
    :) - Chip timing
    :) - The hotdogs in the Farmer's Market :p
    :) - Good turn out by the RDO's - seen Ryan, I was talking with Bart
    :) - Sonia there to support
    :) - Kids events, makes it easier for my running widow.
    :) - Great setting
    :) - Fast results

:( - No Km markers - how hard can it be to put some tape on the ground, or have a steward holding a marker.
    :( - Lack of support from stronger athletes, considering it's a AAI event (I mean I finished 2nd 0/40 with 18:30, I wouldn't get an O/40 medal in the country champs).
    :( - The rain, but hey it's Ireland in the Summer.

I'll be back next year for a sub 18 <cough, cough>