Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sproai in the park

• 03-07-2009 5:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭

well has anyone gone to it yet?opened yesterday as far as i know,and running till sunday,thinking about going down for a look tomorrow or something,has any1 been to it yet?opinions please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Was in there earlier on. Brought a picnic! Was alright, big enough crowd. The flower garden thing was very busy, good for the young kids I'd say. Was in the luminarium yesterday with some of my friends. That was a good laugh but a bit expensive at 5 quid a pop. Didn't hear any live bands down when I was there from half 4 to half 5. Tomorrow will be better I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I was going to go check it out tomorrow, We're minding Mrs Ziedths god-daughter. Hope it'll kill an hour ot two anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Is it all completely different this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Due to funding issues, Spraoi organised a "Spraoi In The Park" festival which could be run on a tighter budget. This was to run instead of the main festival that we all know and love. In recent months though, several sponsors came on board and made it possible for the city-wide festival to operate but given that everything was organised and confirmed for the Spraoi in the Park it was decided to run both! Great news for Waterford!

The only big change is that the traditional end of festival Spraoi parade is being run this weekend instead of at conclusion of the main festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Live Acts will take place Saturday and Sunday in the park along with the Luminarium and Flower Power.

I was stewarding Flower Power today and the reaction from most people is really positive, its definitely bringing a new lease of life to the park!

Parade starts at Waterpark on Sunday at 3pm.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

****e weather today, feel sorry for the event in the park :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

God bless Spraoi. As much as we mourn the demise of Waterford Crystal and the negative effect we think it'll have, it's nice to get a reminder that there's a whole lot more for our city to give than we may think, and in this horrible year, we have it twice! Let's hope they never fade away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

gscully wrote: »
    God bless Spraoi. As much as we mourn the demise of Waterford Crystal and the negative effect we think it'll have, it's nice to get a reminder that there's a whole lot more for our city to give than we may think, and in this horrible year, we have it twice! Let's hope they never fade away.

Yep, have to agree, we're lucky to have them,great to see a buzz around the place after recent events.
    Weather seems to brightening up,hope it holds for the sake of all those who've worked so hard.
    Just gonna have to bring wellies for the kids,they don't seem to mind:)

i was down there today. Seemed gran and had a good time the que for that bloody light thing was manic, i'd say a good hour wait looking at it to get in.

On a bad note there was a real scumbag element down there kids no older then 13 trying to knock preformers over and generally acting tje maggot, poor lads working there where trying to get rid but no good. They could have done with few guards down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I'm surprised there isn't a larger Garda presence down there. The place was pretty much the epicenter for underage drinking this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭next

ziedth wrote: »
    i was down there today. Seemed gran and had a good time the que for that bloody light thing was manic, i'd say a good hour wait looking at it to get in.

On a bad note there was a real scumbag element down there kids no older then 13 trying to knock preformers over and generally acting tje maggot, poor lads working there where trying to get rid but no good. They could have done with few guards down there.

you should post this on Mary Roches site she thinks there is no such trouble in the city

next wrote: »
    you should post this on Mary Roches site she thinks there is no such trouble in the city

Is she the lady you refernced this board in an interview? Otherwise i'd happily tell her if she has her head in the sand and say there's no problem with these little toe rags? I seen a few incidents of welks like these over the years.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

ziedth wrote: »
    Is she the lady you refernced this board in an interview? Otherwise i'd happily tell her if she has her head in the sand and say there's no problem with these little toe rags? I seen a few incidents of welks like these over the years.

Apparently she quoted Boards.ie, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,687 ✭✭✭deisemum

I couldn't attend the park and parade but my husband and children thought it was the best Spraoi yet.

A credit to all who organised, performed and helped out.

It looked good on tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

If she thinks there's no such trouble I'd love to see her walk around the town on her own in the night for a few hours.