Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will they believe me?

• 03-07-2009 8:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭

I drive to work along the same rural roads every morning about 7.30-8.00 and it is usually a lovely rural setting with the usual greenery on display.

On the first Thursday of every month the roads are lined with bins, for the local collection. 4 out of the last 6 months, on my drive to work I have noticed that someone who obviously goes to work before I do seems to get a kick out of getting all the bins along the road (6 mile stretch so maybe 10 bins) and knocking over the bins thus resulting in rubbish, being spread all over the road and in the ditches etc.

To me this is totally appalling, and I have been considering spending the night in my car on this stretch to see can I catch them in the act. This might sound a bit activist and a bit crazy but that's the extent of how disgusted I am by this.

My question is though, if I did spot them, and reported them to the appropriate local councils (2 councils because the road actually goes from one county to another) will they believe me an can they prosecute based on my statement, or they have to catch them on their accord?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

going on a stake out without surveillance equipment?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ya, you needs a handycam mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Boardnashea

I would suggest going to "The Enforcers" first. ie Report it to the relevant council and if there is no satisfaction then consider further action. The Gardai should/might be interested also. Follow up council report in writing and they may be more active.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I had actually considered this but don't have anything that would record to a high enough standard. I was going to try a camera I have but it depends on lighting because I don't want to use a flash, in case they know I am there.

I would suggest going to "The Enforcers" first. ie Report it to the relevant council and if there is no satisfaction then consider further action. The Gardai should/might be interested also. Follow up council report in writing and they may be more active.
    Its the council that clean it up, so they are fully aware of the problem. They probably don't have resouces available to pay someone to stay in a car overnight to catch these people in the act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

could it be a big dog(s) looking for food?

I did consider this at the start, but the carnage is spread over a 6 mile stretch of road, there has been wheelie bins from one house up on hedges the far side of the road, and not every house is selected, so thats what makes me believe it just some dickheads trying to get a laugh out of doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭greener&leaner

Quazzie wrote: »
    Its the council that clean it up, so they are fully aware of the problem. They probably don't have resouces available to pay someone to stay in a car overnight to catch these people in the act.
    Talk to the Guards.

Collection day is next Thursday so I think I might just do that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I got a set of Wireless Solar powered Night Vision Cameras for my office a while ago, if you aproach someone along the route that might let you plug in a laptop overnight you could set up a few of these and not have to be sittin in a car on the side of the road overnight, it would also mean that there would be little chjance of these subhumans spottin you filmin them and kicken seven shades of Sh!te out of ya for beein a 'Dobber'.

Plus the cameras can be reused in other places later, they are great, I use them in Bougainville to establish a perimeter around the compound whenever I'm there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Fair play op! What a$$holes would get fun outta this? I do have an image of you fully clad in camouflage gear in the car, bush stuck to your head and the mission impossible theme tune blaring... Just a suggestion though....