Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National League Final: Saturday 8th Aug - Tullamore

• 02-07-2009 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

There is no thread for the Fantastic National Leagues as far as i can see and id like to start one up!!
    I beleive its one of the best competitions of the year and really brings clubs together from the track and field side and lets distance runners throwers jumpers and sprinters all get in on the action and encourage one and other..... It also brings fantastic rivarly between clubs which keeps the sport healthy and competitive!!

So Clonliffe are leading the mens Premier with a great tally from antrim
    Crusaders are not far behind starting to figuire again after a bit of a slump maybe to do with their new sprinter colvert!
    Raheny sloggish start second year around! North Down Okay Start!!

And in cork St Abbans Left everyone behind including Tullamore and leevale! Which suprised me just a little!!

Pemier women is fairly close Ferrybank out in front with Tír Chonaill and Ballymena & Antrim and Bandon close on their heels!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Il have to respond to that Slogger mate, Tullamore were decimated with injuries for the first leg and i presume Leevale the same.
    Does all the points from first two legs count towards final or is it wiped for the final.
    Should be good this Sunday though.
    I should be doing the 400m h and relay but i hurt my heel in leinster championships...damn it!wouldnt mind only i dont train for hurdles but only for the league would you consider just doing any event for..points! :) Great competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Il have to respond to that Slogger mate, Tullamore were decimated with injuries for the first leg and i presume Leevale the same.
    Does all the points from first two legs count towards final or is it wiped for the final.
    Should be good this Sunday though.
    I should be doing the 400m h and relay but i hurt my heel in leinster championships...damn it!wouldnt mind only i dont train for hurdles but only for the league would you consider just doing any event for..points! :) Great competition

im a distance guy myself and doing 400h come sunday to just coming back from injury should be fun haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

I think you will find most clubs will have been understrength. North Down were missing all their multi-eventers who could garner up to maybe 40-50% of scores for them, Clonliffe were without frontliners in the 7 events from 200m-5000m with faster athletes to come into all these events and so on. Thats the league, its a much a test of getting as many athletes out as possible in the early rounds and having some depth. Cru' could have more middle distance strength to come etc etc.

Points don't carry to the final but based on how you qualify you carry these points, eg, you qualify as 2nd you start final with 7pts, you qualify 4th you start with 5pts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭cickimc

Do you know if you are able to race in this weekends national league as a guest? (It would be in the walks)
    If so can you just turn up on the day and enter

cickimc wrote: »
    Do you know if you are able to race in this weekends national league as a guest? (It would be in the walks)

They do accept guests i know this for a fact however i not sure what the procedure is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭cickimc

O.k thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Goofy

cickimc wrote: »
    Just ask the track ref or the starters. For the sprints they will allow guest if there is a free lane. You should be fine for the walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

Goofy wrote: »
    Just ask the track ref or the starters. For the sprints they will allow guest if there is a free lane. You should be fine for the walk.

Might be better to do it at the check-in area, as by the time the athletes reach the track it might already be decided how many heats etc there are depending on number of checked-in athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

There is no thread for the Fantastic National Leagues as far as i can see and id like to start one up!!
    I beleive its one of the best competitions of the year and really brings clubs together from the track and field side and lets distance runners throwers jumpers and sprinters all get in on the action and encourage one and other..... It also brings fantastic rivarly between clubs which keeps the sport healthy and competitive!!

So Clonliffe are leading the mens Premier with a great tally from antrim
    Crusaders are not far behind starting to figuire again after a bit of a slump maybe to do with their new sprinter colvert!
    Raheny sloggish start second year around! North Down Okay Start!!

And in cork St Abbans Left everyone behind including Tullamore and leevale! Which suprised me just a little!!

Pemier women is fairly close Ferrybank out in front with Tír Chonaill and Ballymena & Antrim and Bandon close on their heels!!

I was worried there for a minute, thinking there's my mate Slogger going all horizontal on us... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Its another Slogger...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Bugger

Anybody got team results/points from rd 2 of the league yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Bugger wrote: »
    Anybody got team results/points from rd 2 of the league yesterday?

I believe we're still waiting on the results from round one, are we not?

Rineanna wrote: »

Yep, that is correct.

The team results from rd 1 were put on the AAI site last week

Id be surprised to see any more detail than this considering its three weeks since the event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

Attached is what i have from Athlone yesterday.

that confirms who has qualified for the final. thanks!

Obviously these scores come with a Govt Health Warning but the Premier men total on the spreadsheet is off. I have Crusaders and Ballymena battling for the final final spot in the Premier men and Menapians in 10th. All others match what I have. If Cru' are out it'll be a bit of a shock as in the final on a once off they are serious contenders. No DSD women in premier final, another shock.

A Kerry double in Division 1 perhaps too!!

Tingle wrote: »
    Obviously these scores come with a Govt Health Warning but the Premier men total on the spreadsheet is off. I have Crusaders and Ballymena battling for the final final spot in the Premier men and Menapians in 10th. All others match what I have. If Cru' are out it'll be a bit of a shock as in the final on a once off they are serious contenders. No DSD women in premier final, another shock.

Would have loved to see them make it some exciting performances from the Cru lads hopefully the relay mix up doesnt come back to haunt them

Yes all these results are only provisional!!

As for a Kerry double dont be heaping the pressure on us Tingle!:D
    I can see us winning the womens but the mens is a different story.If Ferrybank have a full team in the final they would be hard to beat but we will definetly give it a go!:cool:

As for a Kerry double dont be heaping the pressure on us Tingle!:D

A Kerry team lacking in confidence and struggling with the favourites tag:eek:

Have a feeling there will be one or two suprises come the final will be an intresting day to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Dr Watson

Obviously these scores come with a Govt Health Warning but the Premier men total on the spreadsheet is off. I have Crusaders and Ballymena battling for the final final spot in the Premier men and Menapians in 10th.

Tingle, the points total from Round One is incorrect on the AAI website, BAAC had 86 points from the first round, not 96.

Cru go through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Dr Watson wrote: »
    Tingle, the points total from Round One is incorrect on the AAI website, BAAC had 86 points from the first round, not 96.

Cru go through

Hurrah :)

What happened to Dsd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 SloggerJogger

http://www.leevale.org/attach/09/full_league_ptsr1+2.pdf

These seem to be ther results of the two rounds and who is going through and it shows crusaders are not through....Although i wasnt in santry yesterday so i dont know wether their points of 21 is accurate it seems poor if it was!!!

Boo :( I wasn't there either, but surely it can't be rocket science for the organisers to be able to declare the final positions 24 hours later.

Those results aren't right, Colvert got that score alone including relays

Updated Results! Crusaders through in 8th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Rineanna wrote: »
    Bugger wrote: »
    The team results from rd 1 were put on the AAI site last week

Id be surprised to see any more detail than this considering its three weeks since the event

Round 1 from Cork IT - how many weeks ago was that? Almost 4? Oh yeah - no names just clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭hurdler2009

Round 1 from Cork IT - how many weeks ago was that? Almost 4? Oh yeah - no names just clubs.

Still missing some of the results such as the 400m hurdles!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 SloggerJogger

Sat we find out who is the top club in ireland!!
    Crusaders could be coming back to reclaim their title they held so dearly for a number of years in the Premier Division!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

As Slogger Jogger referred to, the final of the National League takes place tomorrow in Tullamore.

As usual, the big guns are being rolled out for the final. David Donegan and Mark Kenneally are included in the squad to cement Clonliffe's favourites tag, while, on the women's side of things, European Junior 100m 4th placer, Niamh Whelan, and European Indoor finalist, Kelly Proper, have been drafted in for Ferrybank to try and take down the Tir Chonaill challenge spearheaded by National Triple Jump Champion, Mary Mcloone. She runs the 400m.

Olympian, and soon-to-be Worlds participant, Thomas Chamney, is part of the Crusaders team.

Athletics Ireland Preview: http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=9041

Timetable: http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/timetable_2009-from-brendan.pdf

Congratulations Clonliffe and Tir Chonaill on winning their respective championships. It looked like a great days athletics in Tullamore.

And the match report and full results were up in no time, so credit where it's due to AAI.

Congratulations to Clonliffe[And Tingle],Tir Chonaill,City of Derry and KCH and to all the teams that participated.
    It was a great day of athletics.Pity there was no decent commentary on the events but still a fantastic day.
    Highlights for me were Kelly Proper,Kelly Proper and Kelly Proper!:D Her long jump was unbelievable and ran a 54/55 split in the 4x400m relay quiet easily passing last weeks 400m bronze medalist!:eek: Jason Smyth vs Darragh Graham was a great 200m race in Div 1 along with Pender vs Fourighi in the premier high jump but to name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Some great racing yesterday - Kenneally really made that 5,000m look so easy. Absolute class.

Two of my personal favourite shots from yesterday.

3803798396_0b92fd3a17.jpg

3802380798_8c8c3a87e6.jpg

Loads more photos filtered by race category on here.

I thought it was a much better league final than recent years. The addition of Ferrybank and the big guns from Cru' (they had 5 current season Irish senior internationals) added to the quality. In the mens events alone, of the 18 individual events there were medalists from the previous week's Nationals in 16 of these events. Good to see. In both the Mens and Womens Premier, the clubs that had more spread and more depth across events (Clonliffe and Tir Chonnaill) won out over the clubs who had the bigger 'stars'. Hopefully Ferrybank and Cru' will kick on again and raise the bar even further and the legaue will continue to get stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

the AAI national league final proved furthermore how badly organised Irish athletics is. For a number of events, the electric timing wasn't working and people had to settle for hand times. I myself competed and I was disgusted, I was denied a definite pb in my race:eek:

imagine someone came all the way from Cork to try get an international qualifying standard and than the electric timing broke. It's not fair!
    Everytime I've been to tullamore this year there has been a problem at some point with the electric timing, eg Leinster Senior Championships, AAI U-23/Junior Championships and the national league final. It's shameful and should not be tolerated at national level.

the AAI national league final proved furthermore how badly organised Irish athletics is. For a number of events, the electric timing wasn't working and people had to settle for hand times. I myself competed and I was disgusted, I was denied a definite pb in my race:eek:

imagine someone came all the way from Cork to try get an international qualifying standard and than the electric timing broke. It's not fair!
    Everytime I've been to tullamore this year there has been a problem at some point with the electric timing, eg Leinster Senior Championships, AAI U-23/Junior Championships and the national league final. It's shameful and should not be tolerated at national level.

Yes, certainly the athletes deserve better. Any faults with the equipment should surely have been ironed out in the early part of the season and then full checks/maintenance carried out before each subsequent meet.

Has there been any explanation forthcoming?

I imagine that hand-times taken even by the top timekeepers are not acceptable for any useful purpose these days. Times past you would have had three timekeepers per athlete so you'd get a pretty accurate time, to the nearest 1/10 sec anyway.

Strangely though, although electronic timing has reduced the need for good timekeepers, it has elevated the art. A good practioner will now try to match the clock. The best are disappointed if they fall outside 2/100 sec accuracy :eek:

But I wander O/T, sorry...

Aye, is frustrating when electronic timing doesn't work.

Have you contacted the AAI with your concerns with specific examples?

That may get some change. Otherwise you will be on here in 12 months with the same issues. I find when you complain there and then it makes you feel better and people may listen. Also, follow up with a correspondance to the AAI. Otherwise nothing will change. The more people that take ownership, the better chance of improvements.

Well said it is all well and good complaining here but we need to be voicing it to the organisers. I have recieved mixed reaction in my correspondence with them most of the time mails are not responded to however when i have they have been most appreciative for the most part and have looked into tackling the problem

Get it right Borntorun88...the prob is with the timing equipment,officials and not the club.Its not some vast Tullamore conspiracy.

The most shocking thing for me was three clubs re running the mens 110mh for times???
    The event was ahead of schedule but athletes or clubs can not dictate who or what event is re run specifically for vanity purposes? you want a time that bad,there are a few meets left in England.
    Has that ever happened before??
    doubt it

By the way,im not disagreeing with the disgrace of it not working,athletes like yourself obviously were denied the fruits of your labour.Im sure you were not given a 2nd chance when the equipment was sorted out.

The most shocking thing for me was three clubs re running the mens 110mh for times???
    The event was ahead of schedule but athletes or clubs can not dictate who or what event is re run specifically for vanity purposes? you want a time that bad,there are a few meets left in England.
    Has that ever happened before??
    doubt it

You can't win. What's wrong with athletes dictating the program or event, isn't that the way it should be? Timing doesn't work and athletes are deprived a chance to get an electronic time. They take ownership, complain and come up with a solution that allows them to run a race with electronic timing without affecting the timetable (which by the way had a massive gaff with an un-needed 40-50 min gap in the programme) or any other events. To me it sounds that this was a prime example of the officials being very sympathetic to the athletes and listening to a couple of athletes who felt aggrieved and decided to do something constructive about it instead of just whinging and moaning about it. Who lost out? Nobody. Who gained, a couple of athletes got their way and got to race to electronic timing. I can't believe you are complaining about it. Instead of complaining about it, follow their example and use a little initiative next time when you feel agrieved. It wasn't a club driven request, it was the athletes themselves and two bloody good ones too in McDonald and Reynolds. We need more of this, fair play to the lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Dr Watson

I agree with tingle on this point, it was unfortunate that the four hurdles races were hand timed, that was down to a misunderstanding and should have been avoided. However when athletes come to the Meeting Organiser, politely, with a suggestion that does not interfere with the competition or the programme, they of course should be accomodated. The organiser should be applauded, not criticised.

The electronic timing going down in the middle of the meeting, can only be avoided by having two systems in place (only happens for senior nationals in this country), it is not a problem that Athletics Ireland alone suffers from, the British League has had to use hand times in the past, including this year, also the Loughborgh International Meet the timing failed for the sprints

Tullamore Harriers are superb hosts, with the number of volunteers they supply making the programme run very smoothly (putting out hurdles etc).

to settle a few matters, i don't blame tullamore harriers, i balme the AAI and also it was my last race of the year so i won't be able to race again.
    I would complain to the AAI but I don't know who to complain to. I have many complaints not only on the issue of electric timing but also thwe start of races. For the sprints, the wait between marks and set can seem forever. This is because they have an officicial walk from lane 1 to lane 8 to make sure everybody has their fingers behind the line. Quite shoddy, when I raced in England, they had an official checking from the stand.
    Faulty electric timing cannot be accepted, if the AAI wants to be considered a professional organisation then they must sort out their poor race organisation system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭runnnerrr

I would complain to the AAI but I don't know who to complain to. I have many complaints not only on the issue of electric timing but also thwe start of races. For the sprints, the wait between marks and set can seem forever. This is because they have an officicial walk from lane 1 to lane 8 to make sure everybody has their fingers behind the line. Quite shoddy, when I raced in England, they had an official checking from the stand.
    Faulty electric timing cannot be accepted, if the AAI wants to be considered a professional organisation then they must sort out their poor race organisation system.

I agree with you that faulty electronic timing can't be accepted, but in fairness it is not that bad how long they keep you in your blocks. It really depends on how long your competitors take to get into their blocks, as to how long you spend in your blocks. Take a look at the World Champs this evening and you will see two officials checking that fingers are behind the line, the race doesn't start until the're happy, I don't think that there is much of a time difference compared to what we experience here in Ireland.
    What else do you suggest they do?......The officials could hardly check from the stand in Tullamore!

runnnerrr wrote: »
    I agree with you that faulty electronic timing can't be accepted, but in fairness it is not that bad how long they keep you in your blocks. It really depends on how long your competitors take to get into their blocks, as to how long you spend in your blocks. Take a look at the World Champs this evening and you will see two officials checking that fingers are behind the line, the race doesn't start until the're happy, I don't think that there is much of a time difference compared to what we experience here in Ireland.
    What else do you suggest they do?......The officials could hardly check from the stand in Tullamore!

but it's a joke how they keep u in ur blocks compared to other countries like when i raced in England. The official watched from the sideline to tell if people's hands were behind the line. The whole system of one person walking up from lane 1 to lane 8 to check everybody's fingers is a poor system. The whole organisation of Irish athletics is poor. I could go into great detail but I would just bore u. The system definitely needs a revamp, right now!

. The whole organisation of Irish athletics is poor.

I think most people will agree with that to some extent. Question is, what are you going to do to try change it?