Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some Die Hard-soft anyone? (29-30th August 2009)

• 02-07-2009 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

there's been some discussion around IRC and the like of late about First & Only's new site Nakitomi Building in Coventry. F&O are the same folks that also own The Mall in Reading.

Nakitomi Pictures here

So what's the point of this thread besides dribbling and going "wouldn't it be sweet if ... ?". Well, yes it can be sweet because Bull from ASI has been talking to the guys from F&O and if a large enough group can be assembled, we would have the run of BOTH sites for the weekend.

So who's in? Yippee Kayaae motherf*ckers!

ASI thread here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Same weekend as Salute :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

great idea and sounds fun, unfortunately chances of getting time off that quickly is pretty much none existent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Also, the 4 weekends of august now look like:

1 - Red Hammer in Predator
    2 - The Uprising in Sennybridge
    3 - Take AIM cup in the Compound
    4 - Salute!

I'm thinking of just asking herself to disown me now.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

lock and load !
    Puding , get yer ass in gear , this would be sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Yea, I'd go but not that weekend, next month or two are fairly booked up already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

The Mall

I want!

The Mall

I want!

love the lift :)

lock and load !
    Puding , get yer ass in gear , this would be sweet!

see what we can do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Dar wrote: »
    The Mall

I want!

We need to go to this place !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭bluestripe93

that place looks good Beretta's mp5's and white vests, is they any place like this in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭plastic_axe

that place looks good Beretta's mp5's and white vests
    and barefoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭heyjay14

Any idea how much it will cost??

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

from experience , a trip to the uk ( depending on how many in the car with you) can run about €300 or thereabouts.if you budgeted that , you'd be well safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭heyjay14

Chears man, ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

My mate in the UK tried to book a couple of places yesterday for the Mall on the 30th August, but it is already fully booked.
    Apparantly places are limited to 60 players.
    I was really looking forward to going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Beast ASI

Meeee! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Depending on the weekend I'm in for both.

Ideally last weekend in August, I'll have to see what funds are like and if Tony can shed me off for a weekend, since hes been generous with time of already.

Then again I'm sure he will want to go ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

We have to get somewhere like that in Ireland/Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

I must get there.

I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

The place looks savage, so 300quid would get ya there and back huh? Not too bad, dunno about that date though with the compound opening and that... We should organise a big boards game around christmas time in that place, that'd be crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Dar wrote: »
    The Mall

I want!
    Jeez that place looks epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AirsoftEire.com

Probably not a nice thing to say, but with the recession there has to be load of places in Ireland like this sitting idle, you'd fill it every fortnight no problem.

September would be a better time for me, but if a group is confirmed for the end of August, i'd look into sqeezing in a weekend.

Steve

had a read of the thread on asi, do we have any idea when this weekends will be given a go or not? or if it will be moved

Probably not a nice thing to say, but with the recession there has to be load of places in Ireland like this sitting idle, you'd fill it every fortnight no problem.

September would be a better time for me, but if a group is confirmed for the end of August, i'd look into sqeezing in a weekend.

Steve

I'd say Health and Safety and insurance would buckle an irish place like this straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

TheDoc wrote: »
    Depending on the weekend I'm in for both.

Ideally last weekend in August, I'll have to see what funds are like and if Tony can shed me off for a weekend, since hes been generous with time of already.

Then again I'm sure he will want to go ;)

Take as much time off as you like buddy:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

TheDoc wrote: »
    I'd say Health and Safety and insurance would buckle an irish place like this straight away.

You're almost right Doc.

"Safety" wouldn't stop a site like that being used here. A chronic lack of imagination and outrageous insurance costs definitely would.

Safety is quite manageable on a site like that, you make sure that there's no broken glass, sharp edges, trip hazards, puddles on the floor, broken pipes or rusty nails about. Simple. Lazy property owners and fat greedy insurers & bankers are the problem.

Safety is the easy excuse they use to cover up their own failings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Seeing as a tower block like that would have a large continuous stair well some sort of grateing would have to be put on the steps to allow bbs to fall into them and give players firm footing. Wouldnt like to fall down 16 flights of stairs because of spent bb's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

As long as everyone's wearing proper boots, that's much less of a problem than you might think. Lemming and I (with the NAG) spent most of a day training and playing on stairs back in February. In practice, it isn't an issue.

Adding gratings would introduce several hazards of their own.

Stairs are a feckin' nightmare to take anyway, best avoided if at all possible.

its not a carton someone will not fall down 16 flights of stairs, worst you can fall down is half a floor, and its no worse than any of site with stairs, first and only have a large number of sites i think they know what there doing

btw do we have any idea if this will be going ahead?

True, however those stairs are gonna be mass concrete and steep (like all tower blocks) so some kind of system will have to be in place.

Never been to a site with stairs so i dont know if anyone else ever uses precautionary measures.

Anyway; whatever :-/

Looks like a sweet place to play.

Arcto wrote: »
    Seeing as a tower block like that would have a large continuous stair well some sort of grateing would have to be put on the steps to allow bbs to fall into them and give players firm footing. Wouldnt like to fall down 16 flights of stairs because of spent bb's.

Two trips to Sennybridge with WET stairs and BB's proved absoluely no problem what so ever.

It is less of a problem then you think....

Thats good to hear.

I have these horrible visions of me flying across concrete floored CQB sites and ending up doing the splits.

The horror......the horror.......

Arcto wrote: »
    Thats good to hear.

I have these horrible visions of me flying across concrete floored CQB sites and ending up doing the splits.

The horror......the horror.......

If you are wearing runners or a flat sole them yeah you might.

But not if you have proper boots, at worst some BB's get stuck in the grooves, and its a two second job to get them out.

If you think about it, how many people have taken a slide a tthe warehouse, on their concrete floors?

I've never once slipped on a BB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I have, several times. Wearing good boots at each time too. Made muck of an AEG during a slide-and-fall at old HRTA's indoor site and I've slipped numerous times in cabins and almost snotted myself.

It won't happen if you're walking, but if you're running it's a distinct possibility. Then again, if you're running at a stairs, an accident is bound to happen regardless.

NakedDex wrote: »
    I have, several times. Wearing good boots at each time too. Made muck of an AEG during a slide-and-fall at old HRTA's indoor site and I've slipped numerous times in cabins and almost snotted myself.

It won't happen if you're walking, but if you're running it's a distinct possibility. Then again, if you're running at a stairs, an accident is bound to happen regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭jayod30

horgan_p wrote: »
    from experience , a trip to the uk ( depending on how many in the car with you) can run about €300 or thereabouts.if you budgeted that , you'd be well safe.

Look, i was able to organise my stags to newcastle for 17 lads to newcastle hotel and flights 2 nights for 120 euros per person. Point being if you get the numbers and book a date with enough notice then ( sept, oct example) then with a group drivin over and i'd be more than willing to drive it could workout a great weekend at a bargain price. If anyone is interested in organising a weekend to coventry i'd be more than willing to lend a hand:eek:

well you strip is a bit differant to an airsoft trip, a lot of the airlines flighing into the uk will not let you ary airsoft, plues with all the gear driving is just a bit easyer, when ever we have gone abroad we normaly try and travel with 3 in a car due to the gear, so ferry tops out about 150 its normal another 80 for event and 70 for food and anything else you need on the trip like chipping in for petrol, so 300 is a far price

you can get 20euro flight but there just not practical a lot of the time, you go the simple issue of getting from the airport ot the site

Puding wrote: »
    well you strip is a bit differant to an airsoft trip, a lot of the airlines flighing into the uk will not let you ary airsoft, plues with all the gear driving is just a bit easyer, when ever we have gone abroad we normaly try and travel with 3 in a car due to the gear, so ferry tops out about 150 its normal another 80 for event and 70 for food and anything else you need on the trip like chipping in for petrol, so 300 is a far price

you can get 20euro flight but there just not practical a lot of the time, you go the simple issue of getting from the airport ot the site

We could get cheap flights to the UK, go play in the mall and arm ourselves with benches, trashcans, screw drivers and chainsaws and have a jolly good time :)

So the fear of my relationship going down the toilet, are dates near set for this, so I can organise it asap, spend the money, and get working on an excuse.....

Something along the lines of a badger stealing my credit card and organising all my travelling logistics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

this sounds awesome, sadly the imvg would hunt me down if I dont turn up to salute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

whats the law over there regarding our non-painted aeg's and so forth?*

I'd be driving if i went so no plane baggage issues anyway.

*so tired....I'll edit this and make it more specific after sleep :(

merci

2 tone aegs on come into play when your buying aegs in person inside the uk or live inside the uk, if you traveling to an event, just get a letter from the event to say your going