Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killarney Golf

• 02-07-2009 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

Gonna be in Killarney for a few days soon and would like any recommendations ye have for courses to play.
    Waiting on Kevins book to arrive but would also like to hear what people think.
    A quick search has returned Killorglin, Ring Of Kerry, O'Mahonys, Killeen and Lackabane in the area.

thanks,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 jamesonandcoke

Kileen and Mahony's Point are two great courses, the former being the better. Killorglin isn't great and the Ring of Kerry is very expensive. Go with Kileen and you won't be dissapointed. If you want to play more than one round they'll do a deal with you to play both Kileen and Mahony's Point, I would highly recommend both of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Well Ring of Kerry is 60 notes a man and they're on the GreenFree list so should be able to play it for 30 a man.
    Apart from the price your thoughts on ROK ?

thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

kilorglin not great if your down there you'd be better playin dooks imo
    lackabane is ok wont blow ypur mind or anything
    r o kerry is/was a nice test been hearing it hasn't been well maintained open to correction i would advise driving a buggy around r o k if you are playing a few days in a row as it will take it out of you,
    kenmare is down that way too its ok old 9 are lovely new 9 is basically a field,also beaufortis a nice enough course too down that way,mahony's is nice

jameson..... is giving you a good idea there i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Yea give Killorglin amiss, Killeen (69 euro) and Mahony's (50euro) are both definately worth playing. The Ring of Kerry isn't expensive atall at 50 euro and if your around this w/e they have their S/C's on this Saturday afaik it's only 20 euro to play.
    Aside from those 3 Dooks is a great links course and is 20/25 mins from Killarney not sure how much the green fee is now but last year it was 80e so I'd say you'd get it for 50 or 60.
    Also if you don't mind the short trek over to Kenmare, the course is probably not as long as the ones mentioned above but off the very back (blue stones not blue markers) its a good challenge and the setting like the Ring of Kerry is second to none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

soundsham wrote: »
    kilorglin not great if your down there you'd be better playin dooks imo
    lackabane is ok wont blow ypur mind or anything
    r o kerry is/was a nice test been hearing it hasn't been well maintained open to correction i would advise driving a buggy around r o k if you are playing a few days in a row as it will take it out of you,
    kenmare is down that way too its ok old 9 are lovely new 9 is basically a field,also beaufortis a nice enough course too down that way,mahony's is nice

jameson..... is giving you a good idea there i'd say
    Yea I have to agree with you on how poorly the ring was maintained over the last few years but I have to admit I'm a member there and trust me I'm not biased atall but I have to say the place is in fantastic shape atm, they spent alot of money on fertilizing, spraying of weeds and moss control earlier on this year on the fairways,tees and greens and we're reaping the benefits now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

good to hear,coz the place was/is a good test imo
    priced a bit too high previously to nab the tourists..imo

but have to say i stayed in the houses on course last year,the houses are fantastic could sleep 6 i think, but course wasn't great then, put us off going back this year,might give it a try before end of summer for a day trip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bostoncommon

Played Senior Scratch in Dooks last weekend its in great shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Ring of Kerry has great views. The 6th tee (I think) is glorious - the kind of drive that sends a shiver down your spine. It's an interesting course, and I agree with soundsham on the buggy. But I woudn't spend over 40/45 euro.

Beaufort is the most relaxing round of the lot. A pleasant amble and not too tough. Pretty setting too.

I'm not a fan of Mahony's Point. The changes they made to Killeen are superb and it just shows how poor Mahony's opening holes are. They're nice enough, just not interesting. The finish is spectacular. Watch out for the deer.

Killorglin - as said already.
    Lackabane is good quality but squeezed in around the factory and you don't get the lakeside benefits.
    Dooks - definitely. Under-rated and has the best views of any course in Ireland.

And if you want to spoil yourself, drop down to Parknasilla for afternoon tea.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

There's a grand little 9+ hole course at Parknasilla too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

Kileen and Mahony's Point are two great courses, the former being the better. Killorglin isn't great and the Ring of Kerry is very expensive. Go with Kileen and you won't be dissapointed. If you want to play more than one round they'll do a deal with you to play both Kileen and Mahony's Point, I would highly recommend both of them.

I agree with above...ring of kerry was doing deals....also kenmare is hosting the munster shield finals on sunday...would be in good nick to get out before that

special word for dooks as well...best of them all I think..way better than mahonys point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

I walk my dog around the edge of Dooks early every morning and the place has greenkeepers swarming all over it. It's therefore in magnificent condition, although they were top-dressing the greens this morning, so best to give them a call if this bothers you. It's a spectacular course, the prettiest I've ever set foot on, bar and catering top class.

Beaufort is also a beautiful place to play, undemanding but interesting. This course has undergone some remodelling and there was still some GUR on one or two holes just being finished off.

Whatever you choose, play well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Just going by what the other lads said Killeeen and Mahoneys point are definiteley worth it,i really enjoyed Ring of Kerry and i walked it and would totally recommend it especially if you have two for one vouchers,Beaufort is also worth a visit and if your staying in the Castlerosse you could do worse than play the hotels nine hole course.