Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROK Friday night

• 01-07-2009 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭

Is there any sort of low key rendevous planned in Killarney on Friday night .OR are we all confined to our team hotels....??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Low key? I was planning on getting toasted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

So Dirk which watering hole shall we call the 'toaster' for the purpose of this pre race event ?

I'm guessing you are a local? I don't even know which road to take from Dublin. I will go anywhere there is well priced pints and good atmosphere. I will seriously go out though, had a few drinks before a big sportive and it didn't hit me too much, plus cycling is only a small part of the weekend.

No Im travelling from Dublin Friday lunchtimish and staying in the Eviston Hotel somewhere in town centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Dunno if I'll be down early enough. Anyone know a suitable boozer in Killarney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Well whilst not quite a local meself, Courtneys, College St. ( used to be Yer Mans ) is a pretty good watering hole with plenty of crazy beers like Duval and Trappist, not to mention a great pint of De Black Stuff, mind you the Failte Bar does a wicked Guinness without the suicide beers, but very touristy, which given the fact its July,might be a bit ...... 'Oh Danny Booooooy' , ..... ya get my drift ....

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I'm guessing you are a local? I don't even know which road to take from Dublin. I will go anywhere there is well priced pints and good atmosphere. I will seriously go out though, had a few drinks before a big sportive and it didn't hit me too much, plus cycling is only a small part of the weekend.

Thanks for that Murph.......could this be our meeting point me wonders...???.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Low key? I was planning on getting toasted!

It's traditional at this stage. Speaking of which, I better start PMing people my mobile number as I'll be heading down tomorrow and largely away from the net from then on.

@Tonto: godihatethehills, Astramonti (+1) and myself will be down around 5pm or so on the friday, as are Tom and Caroline I think.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

@Tonto: godihatethehills, Astramonti (+1) and myself will be down around 5pm or so on the friday, as are Tom and Caroline I think.

Great. Let's get wrecked.

el tonto wrote: »
    Great. Let's get wrecked.

Hehe..well I was thinking we could maybe go for a dinner first, like some italian, take it from there. But we will see what everyone wants to do I guess.

I guess pasta would be a good idea alright. We could go for pre-dinner cocktails though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Someone pm me a phone number!!! I'll be down with a few others, probably round 9 or 10.

Sorry, no Louthies allowed.

PM sent

I guess pasta would be a good idea alright. We could go for pre-dinner cocktails though.

I think pre-cocktail shots will be needed then, and pre-shot beers before that.

You mean like maybe get a bag of cans for the walk to the restaurant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

bah won't be there till the morning of the event :/ sounds like i could be the only sober one at the start line... tonto you better still be able to tow me around the course, its the weekend i wouldn't like to have to sweat....

Just point me in the right direction on Saturday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

How many bottles (or should i say more euro- bidons?) will be filled with beer in the morning? :D:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

AstraMonti wrote: »
    How many bottles (or should i say more euro- bidons?) will be filled with beer in the morning? :D:eek:

All of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

You mean like maybe get a bag of cans for the walk to the restaurant?
    You planning a race?

Sorry, no Louthies allowed.
    Racist. There will be 3 of us coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

We'll be down around 4 or 5pm on the Friday. Somebody let me know what what's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

penexpers wrote: »
    We'll be down around 4 or 5pm on the Friday. Somebody let me know what what's happening.

Do you have anyone's ph number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

PM sent to el tonto about mobile number. I'll be down with I think 7 mates tomorrow evening and a skinful of stout is a key part of my preparation regime so we'll be out and about I'm sure so hopefully see you all at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I am aiming to register on fri night, so will be in Killarney. If someone with my number txts me I will drop in for a lemonade.

Just thinking: Are the road going to be mad tomorrow given it's a friday and the school is over etc?

unlikely tbh, esp with the forecast. Though friday's on the N7 can be quite busy at the best of times, i'd just leave early enough and you'll fly down.

How long from Dublin, Google says less about 3:45 - so with a tea break, 4:00? (you gotta have a tea break )

from dublin you should hit limerick in about 2 hours with moderate-light traffic
    another 1.5 hrs from there onto killarney

so with tea break its probably about the 4 hours alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

I'll be down friday night, haven't a clue what time.
    We're staying in the Randles Court Hotel, which is 5 minutes from the centre.
    They're letting me keep my bike in my room and it has a spa to keep the wife happy. Don't annoy a pregnant woman.....they're CRAZY!

What time are people planning on starting at?
    Are we going for a group photo?
    Will some of ye PM me your mobile numbers so I can find you for a beer on friday if the crazy lady lets me out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Sean Mc

doing this with zero preparation ! ..havent been on bike since we cycled ROK on mountain bike holiday last year ...a genius of a friend suggested we give it a craic and of course numb-nuts here said he'd do it ....

so my question ...
    Am in alright shape ...but have not been on bike in nearly a year .....is it do-able for a complete novice ?! ...and I know the answer to this one ... but would a complete novice with a night on the sauce Friday be able to do this !!?

Have a good one folks !

It depends on what time you're driving down, Fri usually tends to be a bit slow on that route, and Adare ( just after Limerick ) can be a 20 min bottleneck at rush hour, so time it very carefully, hitting Adare after 7pm is better, and the rest of the towns will be clear by then also, including CastleIsland, another potentially massive ( 2 miles long !!! ) tailback on Fridays.

4 hours is about right, but dont stop for too long on that tea break, otherwise you'll end up behind all the trucks you passed on the motorway !!! :mad:

How long from Dublin, Google says less about 3:45 - so with a tea break, 4:00? (you gotta have a tea break )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Murph100 wrote: »
    It depends on what time you're driving down, Fri usually tends to be a bit slow on that route, and Adare ( just after Limerick ) can be a 20 min bottleneck at rush hour, so time it very carefully, hitting Adare after 7pm is better, and the rest of the towns will be clear by then also, including CastleIsland, another potentially massive ( 2 miles long !!! ) tailback on Fridays.

4 hours is about right, but dont stop for too long on that tea break, otherwise you'll end up behind all the trucks you passed on the motorway !!! :mad:

Would there be a better route Friday night....

I'm meant to be in Kerry already and riding my bike. Still stuck at my desk working. Grrr.

You can go via Cashel - Mallow - Killarney, but the roads are not as good, and if you get stuck behind something big, you're fecked !!

FECK !!! Should have mentioned that the M8 is now open from just beyond Abbeyleix to Mitchelstown, so thats a plus, but the road between Mitchelstown and Mallow is a joke and impossible to get by anything big.

Would there be a better route Friday night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Tonto, pls can you pm me your number, as you seem most likely to still be partying when I arrive. Am stuck in yorkshire with hardly any signal, flying back fri night.

Folks. Here is my quick route from Dubin to Killarney.
    (1) Dub to Limk
    (2) Take Limk bypass.
    (3) Drive in direction of Cork.
    (4) Once in Charleville take 1st right and drive to Kanturk.
    (5) From Kanturk drive to Rathmore then Killarney.

Years of trialling have gone into this route.

DO NOT DRIVE VIA ADAE, NEWCASTLE WEST, CASTLEISLAND.

Lumen wrote: »
    Tonto, pls can you pm me your number, as you seem most likely to still be partying when I arrive. Am stuck in yorkshire with hardly any signal, flying back fri night.

Disappointing. I'll be up as long as Tonto is up, probably longer as he is older and needs his sleep :D

Yup, that makes a lot of sense, especially on a Fri.

ROK ON wrote: »
    (1) Dub to Limk
    (2) Take Limk bypass.

Years of trialling have gone into this route.

DO NOT DRIVE VIA ADAE, NEWCASTLE WEST, CASTLEISLAND.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Murph100 wrote: »
    ..and Adare ( just after Limerick ) can be a 20 min bottleneck at rush hour, so time it very carefully, hitting Adare after 7pm is better, and the rest of the towns will be clear by then also, including CastleIsland

Yup Adare can be a PITA, I've a bypass that saves me time though

LINK - looks odd but saves a load of waiting around
    ROK ON wrote: »
    (1) Dub to Limk
    (2) Take Limk bypass.

+1 - Good Route - I use the same as far as Rathmore if doing Dub - Kenmare, would recommend for Boardsies driving down

ROK_ON do you have a map? i am printing everything this time all the directions i will not get lost ... I owe it to my co pilot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Always good to get a bit of local knowledge on directions, particularly for a Friday afternoon....thanks folks!

@ Caroline. I am on my blackberry, as we have not net connection yet (things move slowly down here). So I can't put up map.
    What I will say is Limk to Charleville is a big wide straight road.
    Most folk would drive from Charleville to Mallow and take the 1st right out of Mallow for Rathmore and Killarney. Reasonably good road with overtaking space.
    We go via Kanturk as it cuts about 20mins off the journey.
    1st right in Charleville. Then follow road SW. Avoid turns for Newcastlewest and ye will get to Kanturk. Into Kanturk over the bridge, turn left and drive a few KMs to main road from Mallow to Killarney.

AFAIK its theR579 or R580 from Charleville to Kanturk

It is defo the R580 from Kanturk to the main road to Killarney (N72).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

ROK_ON do you have a map? i am printing everything this time all the directions i will not get lost ... I owe it to my co pilot

Chapelizod To Killarney Town Center

Via the recommended route

Anyone still looking? I just booked 3 of us into here: http://www.killarneyfairview.com/reviews.phtml

€45 per person per night including breakfast. Very close to the start and the centre. Sounds like they have a few more rooms. Can't wait to prance through it in Lycra.

Wait a minute! Taking directions from ROK ON, isn't that a BAD thing??

I kid! :D