Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car scam fraud. Who would you report it to?

• 01-07-2009 12:21pm
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Guys
    Spent the last 20 minutes "buying" a car off a lad there online, in Spain, through shipping agent bla bla bla

Gave me the bank details to transfer to and a website. It was a live chat thingy.

I have the script at the bottom if u want a laugh.
    Who do I report him to?

Adam Graham: Hi I got cut off there

You are now speaking with Luis Martin of support.

Luis Martin: No problem

Adam Graham: Do u have the details there of the car?

Adam Graham: I am VERY excited about it!

Luis Martin: If you pay today and send the payment confirmation, we can send the car today and will be there by Friday afternon

Luis Martin: Please let me have the seller's name and the vehicle type

Adam Graham: The car is an 2006 Audi

Adam Graham: 2006 AUDI A6 S LINE TDI BLACK

Adam Graham: That is the details

Luis Martin: Please bear with me while I search the vehicle in the data base.

Adam Graham: Thank u
    ]

Adam Graham: THat is GREAT news about the delivery!!!

Adam Graham: do I owe you more for this?

Luis Martin: I have found the car as being a 2006 AUDI A6 S LINE TDI ,Black colour,68,000 miles,price 6,499 pounds,owner:Charles Trimble

Luis Martin: The seller has already agreed to use our third party services. This means that we will act as a third party and guarantee your payment, same as the vehicle itself. Are you familiar with our 6 steps transaction?

Adam Graham: Excellent!

Adam Graham: thats it, lovely motor

Adam Graham: ok

Adam Graham: please tell me

Luis Martin: Please follow me and I will explain.

Luis Martin: I will copy paste the steps for you;please read them carefully and ask if any question occurs

Luis Martin: 1. Both parties agree to terms of the transaction, which includes a full and accurate description of the merchandise, sale price, number of days for the Buyer's inspection (2-3 days).
    2. We will provide you the payment details.
    3. You will have to submit the payment, by bank transfer, into our bank account in maximum 12 hours after you will receive the payment details. The money will remain in our account and will NOT be forwarded to the seller until the buyer receives, inspects and accepts the vehicle.
    4. As soon as the vehicle leaves our warehouse we will send you the tracking number.
    5. The Buyer has a number of 2-3 days for an inspection and the option to accept or reject the vehicle.
    6. If the buyer accepts the vehicle, we will forward the payment to the seller. Should you dislike the vehicle for any reason, we will refund you in FULL in maximum 48 hours and return the vehicle to the seller at his expense.

Luis Martin: I can also see in the data base that there are two buyers on hold since they are waiting for the bank approval.

Adam Graham: For this car?

Adam Graham: He told me I was only 1

Luis Martin: Yes

Adam Graham: so how are there 2 more?

Adam Graham: SO I prepay?

Luis Martin: they are waiting to get the funds in order to buy the vehicle.As soon they will get the funds they will contact us so we can provide the payment details in order to make the transfer of the funds

Adam Graham: So I can't buy the car then

Adam Graham: that is disappointing

Luis Martin: If you want to buy the vehicle you must provide us the following details:
    1. Full name
    2. Delivery address
    3. Phone number / Fax Number
    4. Email address

Luis Martin: As soon as we receive your details we will immediately forward you the payment details and payment instructions.

Adam Graham: Ok

Adam Graham: Adam Graham

Adam Graham: Delivery to:

Adam Graham: Cnoc Mhuire, Theavnacragh, An Cathair Rua, Connemara, Co Galway

Adam Graham: Phone:

Luis Martin: ?

Adam Graham: 35391595102

Adam Graham: what else do I need?

Luis Martin: e-mail address

Adam Graham: Oh sorry, this car will go to my nephews email is ok

Adam Graham: NoelKelly@carraroeGS.ie

Luis Martin: Please give me an e-mail address to send you payment info.

Adam Graham: I am not at the house at the moment, but if you ask for Noel that will do.

Adam Graham: can u speed it up and send me payment details here on screen?

Adam Graham: I can do payment ASAP

Luis Martin: Ok ... please bea
    r a moment

Adam Graham: ok thank u

Adam Graham: Any joy

Luis Martin: Here are the payment details as requested:

BANK NAME:BANCO SANTANDER
    ACCOUNT NUMBER:0049 6797 4126 9503 8563
    IBAN:ES37 0049 6797 4126 9503 8563
    BIC (SWIFT): BSCHESMMXXX
    BANK ADDRESS:AV. GUINDALERA 9,28100 ALCOBENDAS MADRID

Please make the payment to Mr. Lotarynski Sebastian Michal,our director manager who will be in charge with this sale and the shipping process.As soon as we receive your payment confirmation by fax(0034-91-184-98-39) and email the car will be reserved under your name and as soon your payment will be confirmed by our bank we will begin the shipment process and you will receive from us a tracking number so you can track the vehicle on the way to you. Please note that you have to choose URGENT TRANSFER so we can receive the confirmation from our bank in 48 hours. If you have to specify a reason for payment please write Payment Invoice # 839/2009.

Adam Graham: Great, can I ring bank to ensure they will receive payment?

Adam Graham: What is final total

Adam Graham: I will transfer soon

Luis Martin: I will call ... but you have to fax or e-mail us the copy of the receipt from your bank in order to begin the delivery to your address.

Adam Graham: Oh! , I am doing this from internet banking!!!

Adam Graham: I have no receipt!

Adam Graham: I can do it immediately

Adam Graham: Are the other 2 parties still trying to get the car also?

Luis Martin: At the moment they are waiting to get funds from the bnk ...

Luis Martin: bank

Adam Graham: ok,

Adam Graham: I am going to transfer now

Adam Graham: Is that ok?

Adam Graham: but how much?

Adam Graham: 6400 pounds?

Luis Martin: It's ok

Adam Graham: Sorry?

Luis Martin: 6,499

Adam Graham: Ok

Adam Graham: I will do it now

Luis Martin: pounds

Adam Graham: I transfer the money now, is that happy with you?

Luis Martin: Not till I have the bank confirmation

Adam Graham: sorry?

Adam Graham: Can you not rign you bank to check it?

Luis Martin: I will.

Adam Graham: ok so I transfer now

Adam Graham: it will probably take 10 minutes?

Adam Graham: I am not familiar with this

Luis Martin: Ok ... tell me when you are don.

Adam Graham: Its says transfer complete on my screen now!!! :) Yeee haw and new car on its way!!

Adam Graham: Thank you so much !!

Adam Graham: I am VERY happy

Adam Graham: when you have rang bank can you ring ?

Adam Graham: Just speak to my nephew please.

Adam Graham: Ask for him as his father or brother may answer the phone.

Adam Graham: Thank you.

Adam Graham: Have a great day

Luis Martin: Ok. Thank you

Luis Martin: Have a nice day to

Adam Graham: Can you ring him to confirm the details?

Adam Graham: We need to know ASAP today

Adam Graham: as I want to buy another car if this is not happening

Luis Martin: I will call the bank to see if payment it's ok

Adam Graham: thanks

Luis Martin: Have a nice day

Adam Graham: I sure will!!!!!!

Adam Graham: One of the best to get such a bargain!!! I am delighted

Adam Graham: bye

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Then I loaded another chat window, and feck me it was the same guy.
    Tried to get the car:

You are now speaking with Luis Martin of support.

Luis Martin: Hello

Ann Tohill: hi

Ann Tohill: Can you assist in getting Mr Trimbles car to me?

Ann Tohill: He emailed me and told me to get the car off you

Luis Martin: Please tell me the sellers name and car type

Ann Tohill: The car is an 2006 Audi A6, 2.0 TDI.

Ann Tohill: Mr Trimble is the sellers name

Luis Martin: Please bear with me while I search the vehicle in the data base.

Ann Tohill: Thanks you

Ann Tohill: I presume I owe you guys the money? Is it a cash of delivery?

Luis Martin: No

Ann Tohill: Ok, how do I work payment.

Ann Tohill: I dont want to me scammed or that

Luis Martin: Are you familiar with our 6 steps transaction?

Ann Tohill: what are these steps

Luis Martin: Please follow me and I will explain.

Luis Martin: I will copy paste the steps for you;please read them carefully and ask if any question occurs

Luis Martin: 1. Both parties agree to terms of the transaction, which includes a full and accurate description of the merchandise, sale price, number of days for the Buyer's inspection (2-3 days).
    2. We will provide you the payment details.
    3. You will have to submit the payment, by bank transfer, into our bank account in maximum 12 hours after you will receive the payment details. The money will remain in our account and will NOT be forwarded to the seller until the buyer receives, inspects and accepts the vehicle.
    4. As soon as the vehicle leaves our warehouse we will send you the tracking number.
    5. The Buyer has a number of 2-3 days for an inspection and the option to accept or reject the vehicle.
    6. If the buyer accepts the vehicle, we will forward the payment to the seller. Should you dislike the vehicle for any reason, we will refund you in FULL in maximum 48 hours and return the vehicle to the seller at his expense.

Ann Tohill: I have to send you electronic transfer?

Ann Tohill: Only then I get the car

Luis Martin: No electronic transfer

Luis Martin: Only bank transfer

Ann Tohill: Ok.

Ann Tohill: Can you guarantee me this is not a scam

Ann Tohill: I am spending all my money on this car for my sick wife

Luis Martin: As soon as we will receive your details our legal department will legalize the papers in electronic format and we will send you the contract signed by the seller and our director manager and you will have to sign it and email it back to us.

Ann Tohill: ok

Ann Tohill: so u want my address?

Luis Martin: I have to check on the sytem because I think the car is already reserved.

Ann Tohill: !!!!

Ann Tohill: no!

Ann Tohill: her heart is set on it!

Ann Tohill: She has terminal cancer so I want to suprise her!!!!!!

Ann Tohill: Please!!!

Ann Tohill: Are you sure, check the registration, it maybe different!!!

Ann Tohill: I have to go to her, she is not well at the moment, can I come back to you Luis on this chat again? I want to get this car for her.

Luis Martin: Ok ... cam back later

Ann Tohill: did u check the registration?

Luis Martin: The reservation it's in progres ... get back later and I will tell you for sure.

Ann Tohill: oh no!!

Ann Tohill: this is devasting

Ann Tohill: can u talk to other party and ask them to leave the car

Ann Tohill: they may do so if they understand its for a dying woman

Ann Tohill: Please try, it will break her heart.

Ann Tohill: I have to go

Ann Tohill: I will be back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

You can't really report them to anyone, but you can report it to the website where you originally saw the ad (if it was on a site like Carzone or CBG).

All you can do is pull their strings, and keep them busy to waste their time. I'm selling my car at the moment, and I got and email from a guy living on Fleet Street in London, sounds convincing, he must be trustworthy. I'm waiting a reply again now, he's not responded to me since I called him a tyre kicker.
    scammer wrote:
    Comments: Hello dear seller,
    My name is Terri Gilbert and I would love to know if the Car above is still available for sale,i would love to purchase this Car as soon as possible,so please kindly withdraw the advert from the site and i would really appreciate it if you can keep the Car in a very perfect condition till my local shipping agent comes to pick the Car up. I would also want you to know that i will be paying via cashier's check due to the distance as i am located in 22 Fleet St, London, GB, EC4Y 1AA here in United kingdom and also am a business man and am always having appointments every time..I will need you to provide me with this vital information to enhance the payment of the Car with out any delay. I want you to know i.e i am ready to make the payment right now, Kindly get back to me with this following information to write you a check with out any delay:

Your full name:
    Your home address including your house number:
    State:
    City:
    Postal code:
    Your final price:
    Your phone number.(land or cell)

**Once again ,I want you to know that you will not be responsible for shipment i have a Local shipping company that will come over to your location as soon as you have cashed the Check to come and pick the Car up for me.

Best regards,
    Mr Gilbert.
    me wrote:
    Hello mr giblet,

I am very hapi sell you my auto, it's purfect condision, and is ruining perfektly. Please makeing the chekue payabl to
    Mr Tony B Loney
    my price is 1,295.99 euro

and my address is
    123 Fake Street
    Ballygobackwards
    Co Ballybongbong
    Ireland

I look very much forward to hear your responding in the soon as pissable.
    scammer wrote:
    Hi Tony,

Good to hear from you. Your information is wrong!!!! I am still interested in your car and i want you to know i.e I will be paying via cashier check due to the distance as i am located in 22 Fleet St, London, GB, EC4Y 1AA here in United kingdom..........I am ready to make the payment now with out any delay, Kindly get back to me with this following information to write you a check with out any delay:

Your full name:
    State:
    City:
    Postal code:
    Your final price:

Once again, Take note: I want you to know that you will not be responsible for the shipping, i have a Local shipping company that will come over to your location and pick up the car for me! As soon as you receive the check, My local shipping company will come over to your location and pick up the car for me.......Hoping to read from you soonest.

Best Regards
    Mr Gilbert.
    me wrote:
    My informaton is not wrong. Is right. I know whwr I live, you dont.
    scammer wrote:
    Okay fill in this following information:

Your full name:
    State:
    City:
    Postal code:
    Your final price:

**Hoping to read from you soonest.

Best Regards
    Mr Gilbert!
    me wrote:
    Hello Mr giblet

I do not have postal code or state. This is Ireland, not US of A, someone who lived in Ingland should really know that.

My address is correct, as I already gived you.

I think you must be not serious about this, you are one of those tyre kickers, no?

He then sent the first email again, though Carzone, requesting the same information, so I replied with
    me wrote:
    Dear Mr Giblets,

Why you send me this again? Now you just are time waster. You want buy or not? You have details, pay or stop anoy me.

And I haven't heard anything else.

I love this game, it never gets boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Mean_Mudda

try get a photo and submit it to the Trophy room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

hehe nevermind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

Good on yiz, the more you waste their time the better. I've seen far too many people get sucked into their scams.

Ah, Mr Giblets is back at me again, asking for my address. Not only is this guy a scammer, he's a complete fckuing moron.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

What better with this is now I had Scotland Yard onto me!! :)

I spoke to Piston Heads there and they got rid of the ad. They asked me for the transcript above and I sent it on.
    I then had Scotland Yard onto me!!! Told me that 121k pounds had gone into that account but no one had reported it, they thanked me for spotting it and that they had Spanish police onto the account! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Mean_Mudda

Jezz, that's nuts.!!!... hope the catch the scammer.
    how did they know you were in touch with him?

Piston Heads gave them my details

Success! Tony B Loney's cheque came through, but what's this? It's made out for more than I asked for? Oh noes, whatever shall I do???

tonybloney.jpg

It also came from Italy, which is strange given that it's drawn on a UK bank account. How do people fall for this bullsh*t?

I think I'll write back to Mr Giblets (or should I start calling him Mr Gobshíte?) and thank him for his most generous contribution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Cheque not countersigned. Scammer Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭grodge

Here is what I believe to be a scam.

Im not sure if i can name the website (Google 'used cars ireland' and its the top hit)

Pics of the car for everyones reference.

http://www.rdbscotland.net/2005VolkswagenGolf1.9TDI.html

Here is our email conversation:

Bart De Groot
    to me

Hi, You emailed about my 2005 Volkswagen Golf on carzone. It's still available and my asking price is €4400. The car has only 71415 miles on the clock and no accidents. Let me know if you want to buy it and if you need more pictures

to bartdgroot

Hi Bart,

Thank you for the reply. If you could send me some more pictures it would be great.
    Pictures of the condition of the interior, a picture of the log book/service book.
    Has the car been NCT'd, is it taxed and insured?

Bart De Groot
    to me

Hi mate,
    Sorry for the late reply, I had a very busy day today and couldn't reply in time. The car is still available but we have a bit of a problem because for the moment I'm in Glasgow. I own a little construction firm and I've signed a contract to build a house in a small village in Glasgow and I think I'll be staying here for at least 9 months. The car has no problems, the reason for this sale is because of some financial problems. I had a promise from a friend but the guy turned out to be a liar and now I'm forced to sell my car in order to get things moving here. Local pick up is preferred but I can also delivered it at your address at no cost if you want, whatever option is good for me. Forgot to mention , it has no accidents, and it comes with full service records. It's an irish car by the way. Let me know if you're interested.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:ALARM BELLS BEGAN TO RING AT THIS POINT:eek::eek::eek:

to Bart

Hi Bart,

The car looks in good enough nick from the pictures, did it get valeted?
    I would like to give the car a spin before I go any further, I can travel to meet. I will view the car with my friend, a mechanic. If there are no problems with the car then I cant see why we wouldn't be able to do business. Whereabouts are you located and what is a suitable time to meet and take a test drive
    Let me know where we can move from here.
    Thanks,

Brian

Bart De Groot
    to me

Hi Brian,
    I think I told you before that currently I'm in Glasgow with my employees because we have a house to build and the car is here with me. I also told you that I can transport the car to your address at no cost . I've been searching for the best solution for this transaction and one of my employees suggested a specialized company to handle the funds since the distance is an inconvenience for both of us. He suggested the following escrow company: www.carzoneautosecurity.com. I've read their terms and they can also take care of the necessary paperwork in order to register the car in your name in case you decide to keep it. All you have to do is to register at their website and then I need your user name so I can set up the transaction. You can read their terms here: www.carzoneautosecurity.com/howitworks.php. I give you seven days to test the car and only if you decide to keep it, they will release the money to me so, I believe this is the safest way. Let me know your decision because there is another person who wants to buy it and I need to know which way to go. The car will come with the servoce book, manuals and two remote controls for the alarm. One more thing I saw that they accept paypal and bank transfer as payment method which I believe is 100% secure. Let me know your decision as soon as possible.

I havent replied to the last email yet.
    The old adage springs to mind ' if it looks too good to be true, it is.'

Shame though, good looking car.

The hunt continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 the_wick

Yeah defo a scam. Workmate here got the exact same email word for word as you did.:mad:

That's hilarious.

One question you could ask him, why does an Irish building contractor have a website based in Scotland? Why are all the contact details Scottish, and why is RDB Ltd actually in Yorkshire?

He's put a lot of effort into the scam, it would be a shame if you didn't waste his time a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Apart from the low prices, the dodgy payment methods the one sure sign that you are dealing with a scammer is when they try to give you their entire autobiography every time they contact you.

I spoke with someone recently who sent about £14,000 for two non-existant vehicles that were advertised on the internet. Give them hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Musha

jor el wrote: »
    You can't really report them to anyone, but you can report it to the website where you originally saw the ad (if it was on a site like Carzone or CBG).

All you can do is pull their strings, and keep them busy to waste their time. I'm selling my car at the moment, and I got and email from a guy living on Fleet Street in London, sounds convincing, he must be trustworthy. I'm waiting a reply again now, he's not responded to me since I called him a tyre kicker.

Ye Olde Cock Tavern
    22 Fleet Street,
    London,
    EC4Y 1AA

0872 148 1188
    Give him a ring to see if you can go for a pint :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 The Advocate

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Cheque not countersigned. Scammer Fail.

It looks like a bank draft. The countersigned may only need to be signed by an additional manager if the draft exceeded a certain limit.

I know it's stating the obvious but for anyone reading this thread, the next stage of this scam is that you lodge the cheque and see it clear. You then send the difference on and the international clearing cycle will then only later bounce the cheque as a fraud. You are now out of pocket to the tune of several thousand euro and have an unpaid fee to add insult to injury. A lot of bank staff at the foreign exchange will be aware of this scam but will only realise what's going on if the unsuspecting victim happens to elabourate on their lodgement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

jor el wrote: »
    Success! Tony B Loney's cheque came through, but what's this? It's made out for more than I asked for? Oh noes, whatever shall I do???

tonybloney.jpg

It also came from Italy, which is strange given that it's drawn on a UK bank account. How do people fall for this bullsh*t?

I think I'll write back to Mr Giblets (or should I start calling him Mr Gobshíte?) and thank him for his most generous contribution.

Tell him you have also had contact from your new friend in Nigeria who is a prince and he says that if you send him that 4 grand he will return it to you along with 400% profit once his family can retake control of the country and that you will then split that money with him.

Either that or tell him because its not counter signed your banks requires a 50 euro clearing fee and as soon as he sends that you will send him back his money !!!

I know it's stating the obvious but for anyone reading this thread, the next stage of this scam is that you lodge the cheque and see it clear. You then send the difference on and the international clearing cycle will then only later bounce the cheque as a fraud.

Yeah, I pretended to lodge the cheque, then kept him waiting for about a week, with him getting more and more anxious about me returning the funds through Western Union. I even managed to get a Passport scan from the supposed buyer, which was a man, even though the buyer was originally a woman! I never got a chance to question him on that one. He started to get very irate when I couldn't fill in a WU money transfer form correctly, and he stopped replying to me in the end.

Fun while it lasted, now who's next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭zep

LOL, Anyone want to play games with this Fuc* Head????

Original msg was sent by me via Autotrader just asking why the car was priced as it was... see below...

Reply:

Subject: Re: 2005 BMW 530 D
    To: "MELISSA SMALLS" <melissa.smalls@btinternet.com>
    Date: Tuesday, 28 July, 2009, 12:35 PM

>Hi there, the car is still available for the price of 4.100
    >EUR and that I am awfully sorry for the late reply.The car
    >is in excellent overall condition, never involved in an
    >accident.The car is still Irish registered.I worked in
    >Ireland for 2 years and the company i worked for was
    >dissolved and i had to move back to UK. I am selling it for
    >this price because the UK registration taxes are to
    >expensive for me. Please get back to me.

Me:

Hi where is the car now? And could i get a look at it?

Then the below.
    From MELISSA SMALLS <melissa.smalls@btinternet.com>
    (Add to address book) (Add to recent addresses) (Add to blacklist)
    Date 28/07/2009 15:07:54
    To
    Subject Re: 2005 BMW 530 D

The car is in eBay's custody in London, UK and they have the right to handle the transaction in my name.
    If we come to an agreement the car will be delivered directly to your home address and the shipping&insurance cost will be 300EUR, and i think it would be fair to split the costs in half, so we will have to pay 150EUR each. The car will be shipped by truck and that will take up to 3 days. The transaction will be fully under eBay's surveillance, giving us both security and insurance that nothing will go wrong. They are acting like an inter agent in this transaction. From the moment the car arrives at your address, you have 5 days to see and test it which way you like. Within this period you have to decide if you purchase it or not.
    To register this transaction at eBay, I will need your full name, address and a contact number

How does this scam work? It looks like they're not asking for money up front, unless that all changes when the "car" is "on the way"?

They'll probably ask for money to be sent by bank transfer or wire transfer (Western Union, MoneyGram). Bank transfer seems more popular lately. That first sentence should ring alarm bells. Anybody who knows anything about eBay should know that eBay does keep "custody" of any of the items for sale on its site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Hen Harrier

U are browsing an Internet Car Sales website and u cannot believe your luck a modern car say a 06 or 07 model at a knockdown price.

You fail to notice that all of the Number Plate showing is the year part & the rest is marked over (In case the real owner spots it)

You follow the instuctions on the site and email them and give them your e-mail

They E-Mail u back as follows

FROM MELISSA SMALLS (melissa.smalls@btinternet.com)
    Hi there, the car is still available for the price of 4.000 EUR and that I am awfully sorry for the late reply.The car is in excellent overall condition, never involved in an accident.The car is still Irish registered.I worked in Ireland for 2 years and the company i worked for was dissolved and i had to move back to UK. I am selling it for this price because the UK registration taxes are to expensive for me.
    Please get back to me.

You then look for car details and as well say you will call to see it and reply is as follows

The car is in eBay's custody in London, UK and they have the right to handle the transaction in my name.
    If we come to an agreement the car will be delivered directly to your home address and the shipping&insurance cost will be 300EUR, and i think it would be fair to split the costs in half, so we will have to pay 150EUR each. The car will be shipped by truck and that will take up to 3 days. The transaction will be fully under eBay's surveillance, giving us both security and insurance that nothing will go wrong. They are acting like an inter agent in this transaction. From the moment the car arrives at your address, you have 5 days to see and test it which way you like. Within this period you have to decide if you purchase it or not.
    To register this transaction at eBay, I will need your full name, address and a contact number

(In the meantime the car is pulled from Car Sales Internet site so that if the garage or the new or old owner spot it, they wont cop that the car is part of a scam)

You reply looking for Car registration details

the pics are in the attachment.To register this transaction at eBay, I will need your full name, address and a contact number

If you check out details of the car online of course they pass ok. More than likely there was correct car transaction with this car between a dealer etc

The car looks OK & transaction looks genuine

You agree to the deal

REPLY FROM MELISSA SMALLS (melissa.smalls@btinternet.com)

Hello
    I have contacted eBay and they shall email you soon to explain the terms and the way you will have to proceed in order to complete this transaction.
    Please get back to me after eBay contacts you.
    All the best

PS :

I have briefly described the transaction steps below:

1. Buyer, seller reach an agreement (price and delivery conditions)
    2. Buyer sends money to eBay.
    3. eBay confirms to seller that the amount has been received.
    4. Seller performs the required services (shipping, insurance) via escrow.
    5. Buyer receives the goods.
    6. If the goods comply with buyer's conditions, eBay releases the money to seller.

As you can see, you will receive the car BEFORE any money is released to me. You will get the chance to inspect it, test drive it and everything you like while your money is still safely held in eBay account. ONLY after you confirm to eBay that you agree with the vehicle, they will release the money to me.
    If, for some reason, you disagree with the car (I assure you that is NOT going to happen since my car is in IMMACULATE condition inside and out) it will be shipped back to me on MY EXPENSE and eBay will send you your money back.

E-Mail From: eBay (ebay@vpp-financial-department.net)

ebay_95x39.gif[font=verdana, sans-serif]eBay sent this message to John P O'Sullivan.
    Your registered name is included to show this message originated from eBay.ltCurve.gifCongratulations, the item is yours. Please pay now![IMG]http://pics...ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/globalAssets/rtCurve.gif[/IMG]
    Congratulations! You committed to buy the following item: 2006 or 07 Make & Model Motor Vehicle. Check out and pay with Money to get your item as soon as possible.

s.gif
    Car
    bin_15x54.gif: EURO 4,150
    Inspection: Inspected ribbon_16x18.jpg

Be it known, that for good and valuable consideration, and in payment of the sum of EURO 4,150 (the "Purchase Price+ Taxes"), the receipt and sufficiency of which is hereby acknowledged,
    Melissa Smalls (the "Seller"), hereby sells and transfers to NAME, (the "Buyer"), of ADDRESS, Ireland and its heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns forever, the following-described motor vehicle (the "Vehicle"):

MakeModelYearCar
    Model2006 or 07
    EngineOdometer ReadingBody TypeSize
    No of milesSaloon/etc

How to make the payment
    logo_mg.gif

Locate the nearest Money Gram office [ click here ].
    Make the payment with cash using the below eBay Motors agent details..
    Please send us a copy of the MoneyGram receipt by fax at :
    (+44) 203 006 8669

bulletDots_14x16.gifeBay Motors Agent Details:First Name :Jason
    Last Name:KirkpatrikAddress:16 Dukes Gate Acton Lane

City:LondonZip:W4 5DXCountry:United KingdomAmount to be sent: EUR 4,150Important NoticeimgTabCorner_25x25.gif
    The eBay Motors Vehicle Purchase Protection (VPP) warrants to the Buyer it has good and marketable title to the Motor Vehicle, full authority to grant, sell, and transfer the Motor Vehicle, and that the Motor Vehicle is sold free and clear of all liens, claims, or other encumbrances..

The eBay Motors Vehicle Purchase Protection (VPP) further warrants to the Buyer that it will fully denfend, protect, indemnify, and hold harmless the Buyer and its lawful heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns from any adverse claims thereto.
    bullet.gifWhen payment is received, it will be verified and secured into a non-interest bearing trust account. Payment verification process usually takes less than 24 hours.. After payment is secured, eBay is authorized to ship the vehicle. Your funds will not be released to the Seller until you have received and approved the merchandise you are purchasing.
    bullet.gifThe Buyer receives the vehicle and has 5 business days to inspect it. If it is complete and as described, the Buyer should accept the vehicle. If he refuses the vehicle, the Buyer must ship the vehicle back to eBay within 3 business days.
    bullet.gifAfter the inspection period is over, the Buyer must contact eBay Motors Customer Support with the result of the inspection. If the Buyer refuses the vehicle, the refund will be sent to the Buyer after the tracking number for the returned shipment is verified. If the vehicle is accepted, eBay Motors Financial Department submits the payment directly to the Seller within 3 business days.
    bullet.gifAll the transaction, payment and personal information is considered confidential and will not be released under any circumstances.bullet.gifOur main and constant priority is the safety of our customers
    HelpIf you need further assistance you can contact us by phone ( +44 203 286 3904 )
    Thank you,
    eBay Motors Financial Department

Copyright © 1995-2009 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.

[/font]

Ah, they want the money in "escrow" up front, that's where the scam is.

Moneygram, LOL, that's every bit as bad as Westrun Onion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Hen Harrier

No VRT in the UK for a car bought in Ireland Cheap to register an Irish car in the UK

Less than a £100 ????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Heh. just googled "car scam boards.ie". Is there anything boards doesn't know? Just got a reply for a too good to be true car:

Hi there, the car is still available for the price of 4.650 EUR and that I am awfully sorry for the late reply.The car is in excellent overall condition, never involved in an accident.The car is still Irish registered.I worked in Ireland for 2 years and the company i worked for was dissolved and i had to move back to UK. I am selling it for this price because the UK registration taxes are to expensive for me.
    Please get back to me.

thanks for saving me the hassle guys. Might have a bit of fun with him...

stimpson wrote: »
    I am selling it for this price because the UK registration taxes are to expensive for me.

These idiots haven't a clue, there is no import duty in the UK, just a registration fee. Unfortunately, they find plenty of idiots here who know no better and get scammed by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 topazale

.. If its too good to be true... it generally is....

Volkswagen Touareg 2.5 TDI TIPTRONIC 2.5 ALL EXTRAS, Leather interior, sunroof, heated seats alloys..

ME: to eakasmer@msn.com

Hi, I'm interested in the Touareg you have advertised on CarZone. The number given is not valid.. I would like to see the car and will travel.

Chris Hunt <chris.hunt23@btinternet.com>:

Hi there, the car is still available for the price of 7.380 EUR and that I am awfully sorry for the late reply.
    The car is in excellent overall condition, never involved in an accident.The car is still Irish registered.
    I worked in Ireland for 2 years and the company I worked for was disolved and I had to move back to UK. The only reason I'm forced to sell my baby is to fund my impending wedding and I'll be incredibly sad to see it go.
    Please get back to me.Volkswagen Touareg 2.5 TDI TIPTRONIC

ME:

Hi there.. yes no problem.. where is it now? I'm very interested in seeing it asap. My own business is coming into its busiest period and even though I love my own golf.. its time to get something bigger..

Is someone looking after the sale of it here for you? Should I contact them?

ME:

I went back to carzone to have a look at the ad again but it seems to be gone...

Chris Hunt <chris.hunt23@btinternet.com>:

Hi, the car is in eBay's custody in London, UK and they have the right to handle the transaction in my name.

At this point of course I'm questioning this... and guess what I find.. but only the exact same email but with another email address on boards.ie...lol..

THANK-YOU to all those who get online to make others aware about these things even if we can't do a damn thing about them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sundance1968

Hi
    This also happened to me, I agree with you if it looks too good to be true, chances are it probably is, I am also wondering is there nothing we can do about this?, I must admit I do feel a bit silly for half falling for this one, it was when I googled the email address I was directed to this site, so thanks to all who copied the emails into this and saved me €4,600
    Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 mickeyoc

I checked this out too.
    There was a Landrover listed on carzone for €6,580 worth at least €15-20k.
    So I sent off the email and let it run a bit.
    The email addresses are also a bit ??? it's something like a12e43@..... or similar so that made me wary from the start

Here is the outcome: Start at the bottom

The only problem with that is that it will cost ~200 to have it listed there...

--- On Wed, 12/8/09, mickey@<snip>.com <mickey@<snip>.com> wrote:

Subject: Re: 2007 Land Rover Freelander 2 E 2.2 TD4
    To: "Chris Hunt" <chris.hunt23@btinternet.com>
    Date: Wednesday, 12 August, 2009, 3:21 PM

Hi Chris,

Why don't you just list the LandRover on eBay with a 'buy it now' price and
    send me the link to that and I can then buy it through eBay and paypal. This
    was the transaction will be 100% secure.
    I can then go over to London and collect it as I am there regularaly
    with work.

Thanks, Mick.

Quoting Chris Hunt <chris.hunt23@btinternet.com>:

[Hide Quoted Text]
    The car is in eBay's custody in London, UK and they have the right to handle the transaction in my name.=20

> --- On Tue, 11/8/09, mickey@<snip>.com <mickey@<snip>.com> wrote:
    >
    > From: mickey@<snip>.com <mickey@<snip>.com>
    > Subject: Re: 2007 Land Rover Freelander 2 E 2.2 TD4
    > To: "Chris Hunt" <chris.hunt23@btinternet.com>
    > Date: Tuesday, 11 August, 2009, 10:14 AM
    >
    > Hi Chris,
    > Yes I am still interested in coming to look at the Landrover. I remembered you are based in Tipperary. Could I come down at the weekend to see it? I am in Galway.
    Let me know, Thanks.
    >
    >
    >
    > Quoting Chris Hunt <chris.hunt23@btinternet.com>:
    >
    Hi there, the car is still available for the price of 6.580 EUR and that
    I am awfully sorry for the late reply.
    The car is in excellent overall condition, never involved in an accident.
    The car is still Irish registered.
    I worked in Ireland for 2 years and the company I worked for was disolved and I had to move back to UK. The only reason I'm forced to sell my baby is to fund my impending wedding and I'll be incredibly sad to see it go.
    Please get back to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sundance1968

We went a little bit further with this one, told them we didn't feel too comfortable with using the moneygram thing so they sent us bank account details in SLOVAKIA, have been trying to find out if there is any way we can do anything to stop these people!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Report it to the fraud squad? They'll need something to keep them busy after the Anglo Irish investigation.

I do think carzone should be notified. We could just link to the ad's here and we could all waste their time ;-)

If you're going to copy and paste an email conversation here, make sure to remove your own email address first. You're making yourself a target for spammers as well as increasing the chances of these scammers of identifying you.