Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New breed of kop in midlands

• 01-07-2009 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭

Ive been doing some toing and froing to Athlone in the past few weeks on work related stuff and it seems a new breed of Kop has emerged.Ive learned that this new guy is all the rage between Athlone and Moate. Hes even known among his colleagus as "Garda harrassment". He apparently drives up behind boy racers revving and taunting a race and as soon as the race commences,he goes after the victim with his hat on. A bit of a sicko if you ask me. He takes great pleasure in hasselling Taxi drivers and commercial vehicles in general and has been known to confiscate vehicles from old people for simple things like a slightly out of date tax disc or NCT. One such lady was bringing her grandchild to school on a very wet miserable morning last winter when this guy pulled her up for an out of date tax disc,he took the lady and the child out of the car and made them walk,confiscating the car. This is apparently a very ongoing behaviour with this kop and lately hes been going into pubs after they have closed,looking to see till receipts to see can get them for after hours. A very opertunist type bloke one might agree. It appears that theres nobody that dosent know this clown in a uniform,hes the biggest enemy the town has to offer at the moment and at a time when crime is at an all time high,you would think Gardai would be out to get as much good press from the public as possible. I believe that the force in general in Athlone at the moment are a very good bunch of lads and well respected in the town but this guy tarnishes the whole thing with his ugly presence. Hes just a typical lad that cant handle power and if my predictions are anyway up to scratch,I see a very bleek future for this type authority and I think it might be best served elsewhere, one such place immediately spring to mind and thats a place called Moyross co Limerick. I think this kind of lad might find himself very much at home down there. The latest scandal that hit the streets of Athlone this week was that of a senior Detective on his way home after 1 or 2 drinks in a nearby bar,when who did he meet out on the prowl but our good friend "Garda Harrasement" he immediately arrested the Detective and charged him under the drink driving act. I think theres nobody above the law even a Senior detective but come on,a senior Detective getting shopped by a colleague from his own base is something we never taught we would ever hear tell of. I cant imagine the atmosphere in the Garda station in Athlone this week but Im told that feeling among the general public is one of outright disgust. This guy is doing nothing but bringing down the very name "Garda" as we used to know it. Oh my god is this the future of our security forces or is there still some good out there that may somehow put a stop to this type of bullying on our streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I like what he's doing to the boy racers but in the other cases it's bad. Probably not for this forum though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

thedragon wrote: »
    Ive been doing some toing and froing to Athlone in the past few weeks and it seems a new breed of Kop has emerged.Ive learned that this new guy is all the rage between Athlone and Moate. Hes even known among his colleagus as "Garda harrassment". He apparently drives up behind boy racers revving and taunting a race and as soon as the race commences,he goes after the victim with his hat on. A bit of a sicko if you ask me. He takes great pleasure in hasselling Taxi drivers and commercial vehicles in general and has been known to confiscate vehicles from old people for simple things like a slightly out of date tax disc or NCT. One such lady was bringing her grandchild to school on a very wet miserable morning last winter when this guy pulled her up for an out of date tax disc,he took the lady and the child out of the car and made them walk,confiscating the car. This is apparently a very ongoing behaviour with this kop and lately hes been going into pubs after they have closed,looking to see till receipts to see can get them for after hours. A very opertunist type bloke one might agree. It appears that theres nobody that dosent know this clown in a uniform,hes the biggest enemy the town has to offer at the moment and at a time when crime is at an all time high,you would think Gardai would be out to get as much good press from the public as possible. I believe that the force in general in Athlone at the moment are a very good bunch of lads and well respected in the town but this guy tarnishes the whole thing with his ugly presence. Hes just a typical lad that cant handle power and if my predictions are anyway up to scratch,I see a very bleek future for this type authority and I think it might be best served elsewhere, one such place immediately spring to mind and thats a place called Moyross co Limerick. I think this kind of lad might find himself very much at home down there. The latest scandal that hit the streets of Athlone this week was that of a senior Detective on his way home after 1 or 2 drinks in a nearby bar,when who did he meet out on the prowl but our good friend "Garda Harrasement" he immediately arrested the Detective and charged him under the drink driving act. I think theres nobody above the law even a Senior detective but come on,a senior Detective getting shopped by a colleague from his own base is something we never taught we would ever hear tell of. I cant imagine the atmosphere in the Garda station in Athlone this week but Im told that feeling among the general public is one of outright disgust. This guy is doing nothing but bringing down the very name "Garda" as we used to know it. Oh my god is this the future of our security forces or is there still some good out there that may somehow put a stop to this type of bullying on our streets.

Wtf? That's hilarious. This guy should be given a medal, or an award or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

Húrin wrote: »
    I like what he's doing to the boy racers but in the other cases it's bad. Probably not for this forum though.

I liked what he was doing with the boy racers too until I learned that he was doing this in his own personal car. These lads are being taunted into breaking the law and then pounced on when they take the bait. The guy is clearly not well in the head.