Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

glasan village, gmit

• 29-06-2009 10:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

hey I'd just like peoples opinions on glasan billage accommodation across from gmit.Im 22 and doing a masters but have to go to galway for a three month placement. It seems like a good location because its on the outskirts of galway and i'll need to avoid traffic for to get out to athenry...whats the accommodation generally like?is it full of mental 1st years or a good mix...I'd like to live with students the same age as me, who have to put the heads down but still enjoy the college life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Glasan is party central for 1st and 2nd years. I lived there for 3 years and then moved to gleann na ri. Glasan is ok I guess. But if you want a decent place to live, thats good craic, but is quiet, go for Gleann Na Ri.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

how much is accomadation a month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

I don't think Glasán do 3 month leases. I am open to correction, but I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 210287

in glasan the accommodation rate varies between 320 and 380 a month, depending what type of room you get. Not sure about gleann na ri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭jenno86

Its full of mental 1st years. Avoid it.

Get this thread out of here! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

jenno86 wrote: »
    Get this thread out of here! :pac:

Why?!?! Who the hell is it bothering, it's a general Galway related question in a Galway forum!!! :rolleyes:

Back on topic, I lived there a few years ago when I was in 3rd & 4th year in college and found it grand. At the time there was a general mix of all students regarding what year they were in college. I do think you'll be doing well to get in there for 3 months though but there is no harm in asking I suppose. There are plenty of places around that area that's probably a better quality of house and cheaper rent so it's worth looking around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP, I've bounced this over to GMIT forum. The students there would know better than Galway general populous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 210287

cheers s carnage for that!For the others i posted this thread under gmit,region west galway and third level accommodation.I need advice and fast so i can book my spot if needs be so i opted for option try and get a response from a variety of people, who are in/have been in gmit, who know galway city centre and have an idea on third level accommodation.sorry if this bothers you.cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭congress3

I lived there last year it is grand for first and maybe second year but if your going doing your masters I'd stay well clear of the spot.
    The internet in Glasan is practically non-existent and it is 80% mad first years. The staff are also a shower of evil demons.

If I were you I would look around for someone wanting to share a house or try Belmont its nice and it is mostly 3rd years upwards and next door to the college.
    Hope this Helps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭jenno86

s_carnage wrote: »
    Why?!?! Who the hell is it bothering, it's a general Galway related question in a Galway forum!!! :rolleyes:

I was joking, I knew it was going to be moved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭BlackandGold

Where would people suggest for a first year? Student villages or private houses? Glasan is v expensive.